We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time In Mazatlan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Time In Mazatlan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My trip to Mazatlan was very good. We have been there many times and will return again next year. I love Pueblo Bonito as we have been there many times and have told others to go there. I was disappointed with this trip. The staff were very nice and the facility was nice. The rooms need a major renovation. It has become very expensive for what you get. Do not waist your money on getting internet in the room. We tried that and it was VERY slow. It is easier to pay to use the computors downstairs. For the money one spends you would expect good internet. I know it is Mexico but the room was not Mexican prices !!!!! The beach was nicer this year . I think they brought in sand for the beach; no really I think they did. As far as saftey I walked every morning by myself and I always have....no problem. A couple of nights the army was sitting in some places like they were doing survailance but they spoke to us and was friendly.The next time I think we will see what are some differant options. Have a nice trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    148
    49
    25
    11
See reviews for
135
168
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Pueblo Bonito is the best option in Mazatlan. It is conveniently located downtown, near to all the restaurants, nightlife, shopping and activity centers. Also, you have a free shuttle to Emerald Bay hotel, the most gorgeous hotel in the city. The service was great, the staff were kind and they made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Ill start off with the pros of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan:

Pros:
On the beach, and it was one of the nicest beaches I saw down in Mazatlan (other than Deer Island) pretty calm waves, easy to access and easy/quick to get drinks.
The pool area was good two pools, with plenty of chairs, shade for those who wanted it and plenty of places to soak up the sun for those who could.
Service was good, I had a beach view book & when i got there the beach view was blocked by palm trees i called and asked about it and they were very helpful in getting me into a different room with an awesome view! (room 4007)
Authentic look, with tile floor, arches in the rooms and great wood doors.

Cons:
The beds where/are horrible I stayed three nights and the bad sleep was hurting my vacation, never felt rested and tossed and turned most of the night.
It was never really.... Clean, it was picked up and nothing major was left on the floor but it never had the Fresh Clean sense.
There was mold in: the refrigerator, the shower, by the toilet, chipped paint on the walls.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed for a week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. We thought we were staying in a safe part of Mazatlan, but we were mistaken.

On a Saturday afternoon during our stay, we suddenly heard automatic weapons firing (as in machine guns) across the street. There was an ongoing shootout that lasted for almost an hour. The hotel and the surrounding area was on complete lockdown.

Mexico is become more and more dangerous. We thought that both Cabo and Mazatlan were relatively safe, however that is not the case.

If you are concerned about your safety, do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. Area is unsafe. Machine guns fired across the street for an hour during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our 3rd stay in Mazatlan and first at PB Maz. We chose it as we had previously stayed at the PB Emerald Bay and this one looked quaint when we took the shuttle into town. If you want a shiny tower and everything brand new, this resort is not for you. But if you want to be comfortable, in a good location, taken well care of by staff and enjoy great views and sounds of the ocean, in a beautiful well manicured Mexican resort, this one is for you. We were upgraded from a Jr. Suite to a one bedroom, and had a lot of room, and two bathrooms. It is the little things that make us comfortable that help us enjoy a vacation. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, good water pressure and plenty of hot water leaves us refreshed to enjoy our days of walks on the beach everyday to check out all the scenery and shopping. There is nothing like having your coffee on the balcony in the morning watching and listening to the ocean waves, and then ending your day the same way with a beverage on the balcony. We found the Deli on site to be more expensive than the Walmart or even the nearby XOXO, so we only stopped in there to purchase internet service for 15 minutes here and there to check email from back home. It was only 15 pesos for 15 minutes and at about $1.12 in US money, much less than the $14/day. They do offer the internet free or other deals if you will do the timeshare presentation at Emerald Bay. Did it once, won't do it again, but they did not pressure. We only ate in Cilantros when we first got there, and it was good, but in my thoughts, expensive. We kept it to nachos at the pool and went to other nearby places for dinner and had our leftovers the next day at lunch. With all the Tourist Police around, and having done the tours before, we braved out on our own and took the bus a couple of times - once into Old Mazatlan and spent the day exploring. But honestly, we did a lot of nothing. Laying by the pool, reading, walking the beach, shopping, chatting with other guests. There are two pools, one for "activities" like water aerobics and water volleyball and the other one for purely relaxing. We spent time at both, and service was excellent. Maura at the front desk was terrific, Oscar and Miguel at each of the pools were attentive and pleasant.
By the way, the exchange rate at the resort was the best we found, and this resort is in a great location for some excellent restaurants like Panchos, Chili Peppers and Fat Fish. Thank you PB staff for making my valued one week vacation away from a horrible winter, fabulous!

Room Tip: We were in 408 and had a great view of the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Located fairly central in Mazatlan. There is a main boulevard in front of the resort that leads to downtown. The “Golden Zone” is walkable for the hardy but there is regular bus service out front as well as taxi options that service both the Golden Zone and further. Both areas are also accessible by walking the beach as it extends from the Pueblo to downtown. I recommend doing a City Tour either as organized by the resort or offered by one of the taxis as central Mazatlan and the main attractions are quite spread out. We paid $400 pesos (roughly $40) for our tour. It took us to all of the highlights at our own pace. PS High presence of "Tourist Police" all through Mazatlan so safety was not an issue.

The rooms were very clean but as others have said, are badly in need of a renovation. Very dated and the furniture is very old and uncomfortable. The linens, however are white and crisp and the towels are large and fluffy! Rooms all have pool and ocean views, which was also a plus. Note that rooms are not stocked with snacks, soft drinks, alcohol, water or coffee as we have seen in other resorts. There is a small store on site.

On the flip side, although not large, the grounds and both pools as well as the deck and furniture are extremely well maintained and beautiful. They are constantly cleaning and repairing. There is also a large presence of birds and fish, turtles, etc. in the gardens so very exotic.

There are 3 restaurants on the property. The buffet was limited in selection and breakfast did not vary much from day to day. It was also closed some evenings. The main restaurant (Cilantro’s – by the beach) was open every day and offered the most selection. The third was Angelos but there was a $10 US/pp surcharge. Overall the food was excellent (some of the best we have ever had) beautifully presented and in good quantity.

Staff were superb. 10 out of 10! Extremely friendly and could not do enough for you! However … the most annoying thing was having to sign a receipt every time you went somewhere for food or drink. Some days we had as many as 7. (breakfast, pool, late afternoon drinks, dinner, late drinks, etc., etc.) The object of this seemed to be to capture tipping as the receipts were zeroed out if you were all-inclusive but the word “tips” was often written on the receipt and yes, tips are expected.

This was also not a “party” place. Bars shut down at 6 with the one pool bar remaining open until 10:00. There was therefore no “gathering place” or entertainment options unless you went into Mazatlan. It left the evenings a little lacking.

The sand and ocean were great and we did enjoy the ocean until a few people experienced jellyfish stings! (Apparently not common for this time of year.) Also many vendors on the beach and you are constantly approached by them.

This was a time share resort but we were only asked once and were not hassled beyond that.

Overall had an excellent stay and would not hesitate to recommend this property!

Room Tip: Higher floors to obtain best views but most rooms well situated for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a well run hotel with good views from all rooms. Our room had 2 double beds, a small galley kitchen with blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes,pots, cooktop, everything you need to make a light meal. The water is purified, so there is no tooth brushing with bottled water necessary. The beach is great. People were boogie boarding, swimming, surfing, stand up paddle boarding, building sand castles. The clientele are a nice mix of families, couples, young and old, Canadian, American and Mexican. Nearby are many good restaurants if you don't do the all inclusive option. Also there is a small super market across the street, a fruiteria a couple of blocks south for fruit and vegetables, more groceries available from the Guadalajara farmacia a couple of blocks south, plus you can buy groceries in the hotel's super deli. Our only complaint is the beds could use some up dating. Our pillows were lumpy and the mattresses as well.

Room Tip: There are central elevators but nothing in the wings of the hotel, so if you have mobility issues, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.