We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay @ PBM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Upland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay @ PBM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at PBM and every time we get there, we know why we don't stay anywhere else. It was at least 2 years since we went but some of the staff still could remember us. We were taken care of in everyway. Our waiters knew our drink and made sure we were ok the whole time. Only thing I can say that needs improvement is the main pool music. It needs to be kicked up so we can feel really like we are on vacation. Other than that, look like we are going to visit again in 2014! Cant wait to see everyone and relax by the pool. Oh and all the great places to eat!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank for being such a loyal guest to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, we are very happy to hear that you had a really nice time during your stay with us, we appreciate your positive attitude and we're already waiting to welcome you next year.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    148
    49
    25
    11
See reviews for
135
168
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this resort for several years and look forward to our visit every time. The resort is almost 30 years old and has and "old Mexico" feel to it, but is very comfortable. Every room has a view of the ocean, it's conveniently located in the upper end of the Golden Zone, and the staff is wonderful. We comfortably and confidently recommend this resort to our family and friends ... in fact, a group of us will be visiting the first two weeks of December this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at PB Mazatlan at least 6 times and we are going back again later this year. The hotel is in an ideal location - at the end of the Golden Zone so you don't get the noise, congestion and crowded beaches of that area but you are still close to everything. We never do the all inclusive because we have some favorite restaurants in the city but the hotel food is excellent (the beach front palapa restaurant has a great atmosphere and food) and we eat there at least 3-4 times on our trips. If you like ostentatious hotels (think the Vegas version of a Roman hotel) stay at PB Emerald Bay (it's huge sprawling, over the top, lots of marble and no beach). But if you like Hacienda architecture and want to be in a place that is and feels and looks Mexican, PB Mazatlan is for you. The staff is incredibly attentive, the resort is always impeccably clean and you can opt to stay on the side of the resort with the non-kid pool if you prefer. We have stayed at La Playa (old historic hotel in the Golden Zone), too. It's very pretty but the food is mediocre, it's in the middle of a congested area and you have to push a button on the sinks for purified water (PB Mazatlan is plumbed for purified water so there is never a problem and you never have to think about this issue). We always stay in a junior suite which is a great size. We have found very good deals by checking regularly about two months before we intend to go. The resort pricing is really strange. You'll find, with few exceptions (i.e. Christmas mostly), that the price for a particular size room is the same price for months and months on end and then, suddenly, the price will change to a single price for months and months. It almost seems (on the PB website) there is only one price the hotel can apply at any one time. So, it pays to check frequently as your desired travel date approaches. The junior suites can range from $93/night-$185 (non all inclusive). We can usually get a rate of $93-$110/night if we are diligent about checking. The area beyond the hotel toward Nuevo Mazatlan is being built up and so you can find a Subway and coffee places like Starbuck's (Rico's - very good) nearby. El Paraje is a great place to get a great lobster dinner and it's a block away. We take the buses to Old Mazatlan (try El Topolo there) and to the Malecon to run along the water. Go to Gimnasio Be Fit, an excellent gym a block away (spinning classes, weights, machines, other cardio classes). My only criticism of the hotel is that internet is not free and only available in the business center so if you need the internet, you have to use the business center (you can hook up your laptop or use their desktops) and pay for it. They'll tell you there is wifi in the public areas but it's weak and sporadic at best and more frustrating than anything else. However, this is a small price to pay for what is, in my opinion, the best hotel in Mazatlan.

Room Tip: I think the ground floor rooms are ideal. I like having the bigger patio area you get in a ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been visiting Mazatlan for over 20 years and have always loved this resort. It is one of the most family friendly places you could go in Mexico. When our kids were under two we started them swimming in both the ocean and pools here. The staff still remember us when we visit and always help with anything you may need. Great "All Inclusive" deals especially in late August and early September. You will love the calm ocean waves and warm water. The pools are well kept and maintained. The rooms are net and well stocked. Come and enjoy life in the slow lane.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but I like the ocean view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was probably fabulous in it's day. It is kept up quite well for it's age. It is in a wonderful location on the edge of the Gold Zone and is easily walkable to various restaurants and stores.The hotel itself is small to medium sized. Very clean and dated. You would not like it if you like really modern style hotels, however it is great for families. This is a nice 3-3.5 star hotel. Definitely not a 5 star as some websites say.

The room size was fantastic. We had a 1 bedroom with 2 double beds, I would have preferred Queen beds as double beds for 2 people is way too small. The beds are really hard and the pillows are quite uncomfortable. I woke up sore every morning, but I was expecting this as it is an older property that has not undergone a renovation yet.

I found the kitchen to be too small and very limited, however we ate out for dinner every night and only used the kitchen for breakfast and sometimes for lunch.

The hotel is on a nice beach and has a couple of pools, but only 1 hot tub which is not hot at all, but very warm with way too many kids in it. I prefer the water to be much hotter.

I found the Wifi quite expensive and there is no free wifi anywhere in the resort, however there is a free shuttle to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay where there is free wifi at the Deli and PBEB is a beautiful resort and worth spending some time at for sure.

Laundry can be done here, but is way cheaper across the street and down a few stores. More than a 3rd of the cost. Well worth it.

The restaurants on site are quite good, however we did not do the all inclusive as I found it too expensive and there are so many choices for food and restaurants within walking distance which are just as good with a wide variety of food.


This was a trade through RCI , so beware of the Timeshare presentation since it is NEVER 90 minutes. We we there for 3.5 hours and I told my husband Never again. I don't care what they offer us. We ended up getting free Wifi during our stay as well as a $200 room credit. Such a waste of time on vacation.

Make sure you go and visit the Malecon and go to the Historic District and the Pulmonias are quite reasonable in price.

The Mega store is a great place for groceries, super clean and well laid out with a great variety of fruits and vegetables and assorted grocery items.

Overall we had a great time, but I think I prefer the more modern amenities of PBEB and I just prefer a newer brighter hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is the original PB resort. Just a bit north of the Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), it is quieter than downtown, but not isolated, and perfectly located for travel north or south. Its restaurants have some of the best food in town. Try Cilantro's for beachside perfection, or Angelo's for Italian to please any palate. Brunch is exquisite at Las Palomas. Their restaurants have been consistently excellent for 20 years! The rooms are constantly being cleaned and renovated. Staff are consistent and reliable. We couldn't recommend the place more highly because we have been going there since before they opened and have been pleased every time. If you are looking for a classic place that is centrally located and consistently perfect in every way, and at which you can drink the water from the tap, go to the original PB. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The " new" side is wonderful, but you may want a bigger fridge on the "old" side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

We truly appreciate your kind remarks and taking the time to review us, hope to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is not a large hotel, like Riu or Barcelo, however the facilities are fine and cozy, a little worn out, but overall clean and maintained. Personnel is very friendly. About the location, is near other restaurants, like Alagua or Panama cafeteria and other points of interest. We spend nice time with the family and have memorable moments together. It was nice the rooms to have a kitchenette, so we bought some fruit and snacks to consume during our stay.

Room Tip: Few palapas in the beach, during peak season will be difficult to find one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.