We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Mazatlan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Arvada, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best of Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is the original PB resort. Just a bit north of the Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), it is quieter than downtown, but not isolated, and perfectly located for travel north or south. Its restaurants have some of the best food in town. Try Cilantro's for beachside perfection, or Angelo's for Italian to please any palate. Brunch is exquisite at Las Palomas. Their restaurants have been consistently excellent for 20 years! The rooms are constantly being cleaned and renovated. Staff are consistent and reliable. We couldn't recommend the place more highly because we have been going there since before they opened and have been pleased every time. If you are looking for a classic place that is centrally located and consistently perfect in every way, and at which you can drink the water from the tap, go to the original PB. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The " new" side is wonderful, but you may want a bigger fridge on the "old" side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

We truly appreciate your kind remarks and taking the time to review us, hope to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    161
    52
    25
    11
See reviews for
155
174
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chihuahua, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is not a large hotel, like Riu or Barcelo, however the facilities are fine and cozy, a little worn out, but overall clean and maintained. Personnel is very friendly. About the location, is near other restaurants, like Alagua or Panama cafeteria and other points of interest. We spend nice time with the family and have memorable moments together. It was nice the rooms to have a kitchenette, so we bought some fruit and snacks to consume during our stay.

Room Tip: Few palapas in the beach, during peak season will be difficult to find one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The good: excellent location, AC worked great, nice balconies, refrigerator, our maid was great, TVs worked well with CNN,Fox News,2 or 3 ESPNs, 4 or 5 movie channels, the front desk changed my dollars to pesos all week at 12.55 pesos/$. This was the best rate I found by FAR. Transportation choices were great-bus was 6.5 pesos (50cts), bus with AC was 10 pesos (80cts), pulmonias (large open "golf cart" taxi) were 50 pesos ($4) to most places, a bit more at night and for longer trips.
The bad: My 4th floor room was at the perfect height for the palm trees to block most of my view, including sunsets. The suites have bedrooms with 2 double beds, none with 1 King as far as I could find. I am 5'7" and my girlfriend 5'8" and we were cramped in a non-romantic way. The 2 beds took up most of any floor space. Speaking of non-romantic, the place was packed with Mexican families (and screaming kids), including both pools and the beach. Wrong time of the year to go for romance. Or maybe wrong hotel choice?
The ugly: The tour desk is a thinly veiled timeshare racket. Don't bite! They were so nice trying to get us to go for our free welcome breakfast! Never once mentioned the sales presentation. Fortunately I knew better. Peddlers on the beach directly in front of the hotel's beach entrance. At least they left me alone. The beach was filthy. Pool areas start clean, but by the time everyone eats (bags of chips inside the pool? Really?) the pool areas were rough as well. Last, EVERY afternoon a mariachi/banda band was on the beach. Excruciatingly loud!

Room Tip: 403 had the "view problem". Avoid it unless you like looking at palm fronds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your preference on choosing Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, and for taking the time tp express your experience during your stay with us. We apologize any inconveniences that we may have caused you, however we would like to invite you and your girlfriend to stay at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay for next time, we do have king size beds and has its own private and calm beach. Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is an award winning resort for families so maybe that is one of the reasons you didn't feel a very romantic atmosphere around the hotel.

We really hope to welcome you and your girlfriend anytime again to any of our hotels, we'll make sure to make your stay memorable and relaxing.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great time at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. It was our first time to Mazatlan and the staff there made the trip wonderful. The hotel is in a great area and has the best beach. Food at Cilantro's was great with a beautiful view. Ivan was very attentive to our needs at the restaurant. We spent most of our time at the beach instead of the pool and had such a good time with plenty to do. Fernando and Mateo always kept our drinks filled at the beach bar. I would recommend it to people who have families. We felt safe off the resort as well. La Costa Mariner has great food as well as Pancho's. See Tino there for Mexican coffee.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view. a/c a bit noisy but worked well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice place to relax by the pool or sit on the beach. The staff is excellent-fast and friendly! Only complaint was that the rooms need renovating. Our sofa had tears in the cushions and we were not happy to have 2 double beds instead of the king bed listed in our reservation.
The food at Cilantro's was great and Angelo's had the most amazing dinners. We also enjoyed Pancho's restaurant just across the street.
The beach was clean and perfect to swim in. We had no trouble getting a hut on the beach. Waiters even came around taking drink orders. There are 2 pools on the resort. We usually went to the smaller one because it was quieter.
I would definitely recommend this place for people looking to relax. There was very little nightlife though.

Room Tip: All rooms were facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been coming to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for several years and wouldn't miss a year. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We have made many friends on the beach that we have become long time friends with. The grounds around the resort are beautiful and it keeps the true Mexican flavor. You are close to many great restaurants which are all in walking distance. I have traveled to many places but this truly makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the top floor as the view is amazing. The sunsets are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Point, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Mazatlan is a definite diamond in the rough. The people of Mazatlan are very friendly and will go out of their way to insure you have a good time. The staff at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan are like a family. They make sure you have everything you need and very knowledgeable of things to do in the area. The food is amazing (especially the shrimp). Rooms are very clean and it has the best beach in the area. A definite vacation spot for all ages!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view and there is not a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.