We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
“Awesome vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is paradise. The service, the food and the property is beautiful. This year we stayed in a Junior suite. The room was beautiful with a great view. Would have been nice to have a kind bed rather than 2 queens. The room was clean and well maintained. The pools are clean and the staff are very happy to take care of their guests. The grounds were beautiful and every day, the staff are watering, cutting grass, cleaning and working their hardest to keep the property a true paradise.

The only thing that I do not like about the vacation is the push to sell property or vacations---there is too much pressure to attend the breakfast and the presentation and then to invest.

Bottom line though is I would go every year.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors as they have the best view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    143
    48
    24
    11
See reviews for
128
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

the staff were great, very conciderate and knowledable for information and services, rooms were clean and restarant service and food was perfect.the grounds were well maintained as was the beach area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We love Pueblo Bonito and especially Emerald bay in Mazatlan. The help is of highest quality, the food is great and it is probably the prettiest and best kept place we vacation. Staff are always willing to help and any problems are resolved quickly. Activities staff are extremely pleasant and fun. We like the fact Emerald bay is out of the way and we pretty much stay there all week. A free shuttle can take you to the other resort and let you off near town for shopping and other activities. We have been there several times and will continue to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Some are quiet and out of the way while some are conveniently located by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've been frustrated with the consistently poor service at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay in the past, so we stayed in town this year. The service in town is always excellent.

Sadly, the property is going to be remodeled in 4 years, and they aren't maintaining it. My parents were in the penthouse, my husband and I were in a luxury suite. The air conditioning flooded the penthouse 3 times in 2 days, and they were told there was no fix for it. The refrigerators in both rooms were non-functional. Maintenance staff actually told my parents that 67 degrees was good. Both refrigerators were replaced ... they grabbed functioning equipment from other rooms. The TVs squeal. Insufferably. So if you like to keep up on the news, you have to tolerate it, or just go without. The beds are not comfortable, and the pillows are very tall and lumpy. I did not sleep well.

While equipment is aging and going downhill fast, it is a very clean location. Employees take pride in doing what they can to keep the resort as comfortable as possible.

But the employees... are worth returning for. Poolside service is friendly, professional, and prompt. Cilantros is a restaurant we've always enjoyed, but the price increases played a part in our choice to dine elsewhere. This wouldn't be a problem for the all-inclusive patrons.

***the problem***
Last year, a rowdy group of pre-teens "invaded" the location. My folks were there for that. This year, before we made our reservations, we specifically asked PB if the same group would be there at the end of May. We were told emphatically "no, they will not be here."

The rowdy pre-teens came.

There were over 100 11-13 year olds, accompanied by "adults" that didn't pay any attention to their monstrous behavior (in fact, they barricaded off the center of the pool area so that others couldn't walk through. When I asked them to move an empty chair, they found additional chairs and lined them up to barricade the area off. The conditions became unsafe for my family.

The children:
Jumped off the waterfalls into the pool
Jumped off the bridge into the pool
threw food into the pool
brought 50-100 balloons into the pool, and popped them, leaving thousands of balloon bits in the water
broke styrofoam cups in the pool
ran and screamed everywhere (no one seemed to be capable of walking)
crammed 20+ kids into a hot tub designed for 6 people. (loudly, and right outside our room -- 106).
**we didn't stick around for more**

And that was when there were still kids checking in. What we experienced was but a sample of what was to come. We didn't stick around for the night. Last year, my parents didn't get to sleep at night due to the children's behavior. There was a crew of kids trying to break down their door, and they had to tell them to stop. Balls were being bounced off walls ... it was a real nightmare. Once we saw the opening act this year, we were out of there.

We were mostly upset that we were lied to about the kids being there. The manager said "we didn't know they were coming." Either that's a lie, or they need to learn how to say "NO." Pueblo Bonito has been a relaxing place in the past. The atmosphere has always been lovely ... even when it's crowded, or when there are more locals than internationals in attendance.

Here's a video from the first few minutes of when the kids started trickling in... multiply this by 20 in your head to get the "full effect":

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SI2hyJoXKeM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avq_2d4ZAM4

At any rate, we requested to be transferred to Emerald Bay, which they did. They were kind enough to set us up in one of the villas, which was spectacular. It would have been nice to not have to pack up to leave twice... but the villas were a nice way of doing what they could to make it up to us.

Moral of the story, if you're traveling to PB Mazatlan at the end of May, be aware that you may encounter this crowd. It's a "cultural thing" to allow locals to behave like this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week in Mazatlan. We have traveled a fair amount, always to a beach locale... Trips include Punta Cana, Dominican Republic; Jamaica (twice); Bahamas (3 times); Cozumel and Belize. I only list those as a reference point. I can honestly state that we enjoyed our trip to Mazatlan more than any of the other vacation spots. This review is about the hotel Pueblo Bonito, Mazatlan though so to see some of the reviews about what we did and where we went, look up my other forum posts - there were several.

When we arrived it was around noon. The rooms and check in we're to be ready at 4pm. We were greeted at check in by a very nice, helpful clerk. We checked in immediately. The resort is an older resort, but by no means is it run down. The lobby area was clean and bright but maybe a bit smaller than some newer resorts boasts. We immediately went to our room and unpacked. The room had two double beds... It seems that other than a couple of the 2 bedroom units they all have two double beds. The ONLY reason they get 4 stars instead of 5 is the double beds. The room was clean, well furnished and the kitchen was stocked with dishes, blender, microwave, two kburner stove, medium size fridge, toaster and coffee maker. All one would need. Relatively newer appliances. It definitely had a Mexican feel which is which we enjoyed. We had a private balcony with a table and two chairs. Direct beachfront view. We were on the 5th floor. Again the view was amazing.

After unpacking, we went to Mega (grocery chain) to stock up with the essentials for the week. Pulmunia driver took us there, waited on us and took us back to the resort for a reasonable fee.

The hotel has two pools, a very well cared for beach front, plenty of palapa's and chairs, as did the pools. We spent a fair amount of time on the beach. Waiters were plentiful without being pushy, just wave if you want something and they were right there as needed.

Every morning we had our coffee on the balcony to start our day and a couple of times actually made breakfast in the room, well more appropriately put, on the beautiful balcony.

If we needed something, the Super Deli was well stocked and had reasonable prices... And a super friendly staff... But you could stay that about ALL of the staff there. Every day as we would be out and about on the grounds, there was always someone cleaning. Obviously, a well managed property that took it's guests comfort and general hotel cleanliness to heart.

We really enjoyed the resort and would stay there again... But the city of Mazatlan totally won our hearts and I would highly recommend it to anyone who would listen

Room Tip: Higher floor offers better views. We were in the southern part of the hotel, so a bit of a walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is an old hotel and you can tell by some of the rundown areas in the bathroom ,living quarters and pool area.
It was very humid in the rooms and the rooms smelled very musty. Infact all of our clothes smelled and I had to launder everything when we got home.
I did inquire about some spa treatments and it was very inconvenient.
The service was very good and the staff is very helpful. The beach was nice and the pool area is clean.
Mexico is not inexpensive anymore. It was comparable to hotels in the US. For Starters...Drinks were $9 each.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Thomas, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is the original of its chain of hotels. The service is great. Has beautiful beach and pools. Each night it has a different activity and the service is superb. We stayed there two weeks and loved every minute of it. Its just outside to gold zone (hotel strip) in Mazatlan. You can take a pulmonia (open air taxi) or the local bus. The bus fare is really cheap. The older buses a little cheaper than the newer ones. Grocery store across the street for you shopping convenience although there is a store in the hotel also. All rooms face the ocean

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Ronney,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your tips that are very helpful for our future guests. Hope to welcome you anytime in the future.

Best Regards,

David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.