We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at Pueblo Bonito just keep getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Experience at Pueblo Bonito just keep getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been to many places in Mexico (Cabo, Cancun, Ixtapa, Acapalco, etc) but none has been better than Mazatlan. I don't understand why more people don't go there. Pueblo Bonito is centrally located within walking distance to town. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area within walking distance or a short taxi ride but the food at resort is so good you don't even have to leave. They provide a shuttle out to their sister resort at Emerald Bay which has additional restaurants but it seemed that most of the people that stayed in Emerald Bay came down to our resort to eat at Cilantros. This resort is older then it's sister resort in Emerald Bay but very well maintained. We spoke with alot of the guests from Emerald Bay who said they wished they had stayed at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan instead. I will continue to come to Mazatlan and especially Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the pool and ocean. They all have decks with tables and chairs. The highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    141
    47
    24
    10
See reviews for
127
166
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location is great but as the others have said it is getting really tired. The "renters" are getting a price at one half of what the owners are having to pay in maintenance fees per week. The trading value for the RCI Crown has been cut seven points so a trade that an owner could get in another resort has been diminished to a place that is usually substandard ! I could not even be able to trade into my own unit !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just got back from our family vacation and had a great time again. We have taken our kids there the last 5 years now 13 and 11 and they have a great time. The beach is great and we love boogie boarding. Ask Guilo to rent the boards by the week.The resort seemed very slow while we were there and the vendors on the beach tended to be a little more in your face. (that was the only down part) Their economy seems to really be hurting since the cruise ships stop coming there. We tried the parasailing this year with the kids and they really liked it. $30 each is the going rate.

Here is the best part the workers really seem to get to know you. The first day there several of the workers came up to us and said welcome back. They have an activities center where they run games like black jack and texas hold'em, dart, ping pong, bingo and others. You can win free drinks. Juan, Samual and Cindy run it and are great. Wish there were more kids at the resort to play the games with too.

We were a little disapointed that they are now charging for internet. 160 pesos per day seems like a lot. But that is a good excuse to not have to check your emails and completely relax.

Room Tip: We have been all over the resort and have liked all of our rooms. This years we were on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you and your family for the loyalty that you have kept to our resort, Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. We appreciate your comments and we'll be ready to welcome you next year!

Have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,

David Tussi, Hotel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laniac
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is a nice mid-size resort consisting of two 4-5 story "U" shaped buildings facing the pools and ocean. All the rooms seem to have nice views. The junior suite is basically a regular hotlel style room with a small kitchenette in the hallway and a small seating area near the terrace. The Master suite has a seperate bedroom and additional bathroom with a nice walkin shower. This was sold originally a timeshare property, but now many of the rooms are just rented out, although we did speak with many owners who have enjoyed their vacations here year after year.

One important thing to know is that the buildings are 25 and 20 years old respectively, so while they are very clean, they are indeed quite dated. All rooms have old tube televisions for example, and dont expect any updates soon as I doubt more money will be put into this proprty since the original timeshare contracts expire in 5 years - and no one I spoke with has any idea what will happen to this property then. We also had to switch one of our rooms due to extremely noisy neighbors on one side and construction noise from the other side. The hotel was happy to do the switch and even upgraded us to the master suite.

Before I breakdown the good and the bad, one thing I will say is that we really enjoyed Mazatlan as first time visitors. We felt completely safe and welcomed the entire visit. It was kind of sad to see how "not busy" the entire town was in what should have been a peak week - the week between Christamas through New Year's.

The Good:

- Great beach
- Great location
- Had 3 San Fran TV stations on their system, so I could watch the 49ers game :)
- Nice pools, easy to get chairs
- Excellent pool side servers
- Entire hotel staff was very nice
- Great maid service, very clean rooms
- 2:1 drink special all day
- Happy hour (although it literally is one hour)
- Decent poolside food
- Decent breakfast buffet
- No waiting at pretty much any restaurant in Mazatlan
- Free shuttle to Emerald Bay where you can use facilities there
- great restaurants within easy walking distance (go to Pancho's for sure)

The Bad:

- They try and pressure you into a timeshare pitch for their sister property, Emerald Bay, as soon as you check in. We didn't do it, although many people did take this to get some money or other discounts

- The bedroom in the master suite had two double beds, one of which pretty much blocked the closet. Craziest layout I have ever seen in any hotel room. You basically had one of room between the bed and the closest.

- I think the food service is really geared to the all inclusive option which we didnt do. I didnt really feel the food prices for "a la carte" were that reasonable for "all inclusive" food quality. We only had poolside food and the breakfast buffet which was fine as I noted, so I cant comment on the other restaurants.

- WIFI is poor and expensive. Free WIFI at Pancho's (and other resturants).


Overall - we really enjoyed PB and Mazatlan and would consider coming again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

had a great stay at Pueblo Bonito. First time to Mazatlan, Mexico. Staff were amazing-very friendly, got to know each other, very accomodating. Huge deck off of our room, older room but very clean. Internet was pricey though...Food was great, great prices. Would definitely recommend! Great area, had lots to do etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a great time and hat you enjoyed your vacations with us. We'll be looking forward to meet with you again soon!

Sincerely,

David Tussi, Hotel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family has multiple timeshares at this property for the last 15+ years. I have made several trips here over the years and have always really enjoyed myself. The staff are super and have been there since the beginning. My Grandmother spends 3 weeks a year down there and never wants to leave do to her favorite staff members who remember her name from the many years ago when she first signed up. I has been neat going there for so many years, getting to know the staff and there families and seeing the changes in there lives. Yes the place could use a face-lift but all in all the place is still great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we have owned a timeshare at Pueblo Bonito since 1987 and have gone back to it every few years. Every time we have been happy with the hospitality, but this time it was truly exceptional. We chose the all inclusive deal and we ate an incredible variety of food at 3 different restaurants, we could have gone to others but we enjoyed the cordeliere restaurant so much that we did not want to try anything thing else for dinner. Every night it's a different theme and they offer free entertainment as well.
The personnel at pueblo was extremely hepful all the way through: on the last day our flight was delayed for 7 hours and the hotel took us back for another day of pool and beach.
The people who work at the hotel appear genuinenly happy and corteuos, from ther bar tender to the room maid, every time we asked for something, we got it right away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Loyal Guest,

We feel pleased to read your review, and we thank you for appreciating the service that our staff members have to offer to our guests, one of our main goals is to make everyone feel like home.

Sincerely,

David Tussi, Hotel GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.