We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pueblo Bonito properties are usually the best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
205 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Pueblo Bonito properties are usually the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The first thing that we always enjoy about Pueblo Bonito in Mazatlan is that we know we'll see the beach and ocean, (that includes sunsets), every visit. Next, the staff is so warm and friendly as are the beach vendors. If you wish them to come up to you, they will, but otherwise, they stay away. Speaking of beach vendors, watch for the fruit man. For just a few pesos you can have one or two cups a day of a variety of fruits in a cup that are brimming with flavor!! (Be sure to get the lime juice and cayenne pepper throughout!!) I would never have thought that cayenne pepper brought out the flavor in fruit that way!

One can tell that this property is beginning to age as the rooms are becoming somewhat "old fashioned" compared to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay and the other properties at which we have stayed in Mexico; but this property has a real historic and romantic flavor of old Mexico with all of the tile throughout.

In addition, the proximity of this property is great to a number of eating places like "The Place" for breakfast down the street one block, Casa Marinara about three blocks, and Casa Country, about 1/2 mile, (a nice 15 minute walk or quick pulmonia ride). In addition, for about 70 pesos, one can take the pulmonia, (souped up golf carts for up to four), to the Gold Zone where there are many more restaurants as well as motels and shops.

A bit farther down from the Gold Zone is the WalMart and Sam's Club, and just down from those is the baseball field where the Venados de Mazatlan play. If you've never been to a Mexican League baseball game, go in the months of September through early January. It is an experience you'll remember always and is a very inexpensive and enjoyable time. Plan on entertainment "throughout" the ball game, and oh yes, there is a serious baseball game going on too!

Another few miles will take you into town and you can see more of "authentic" Mazatlan with it's open air shops, their version of fast food, and fresh meat markets. There is one shop that makes tortillas on site there on the corner.

In addition, just south of this area is the theater district, (Plaza Mechado), Machado Square, where one can go to see a bustle of activity and be sure to dine at Pedro and Lola's on the corner. It is excellent and if you're fortunate, you'll see a band playing the evening you are dining.

All in all, Mazatlan is a great place to vacation! Please do not concern yourself with the rumors of illicit activity here. We've "never" had a bad experience in Mazatlan since we've started going 8 or 9 years ago. As anywhere, if you want trouble you can find it I'm sure; but we've never run into any and always take city taxis and city buses.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you can get a great view of the sunsets and the beach/pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    223
    64
    26
    13
See reviews for
361
239
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have been going to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for many, many years. Which means we have many, many things that we love about this location. The service is impeccable, the staff treat us like family year after year, the beach is the best in the city and we have developed friendships with the many guests we see year after year every November. The location is an easy walk to many restaurants that can satisfy all price ranges. New restaurants opened nearby in 2011.

The restaurants at the hotel are very good and competitively priced with comparable restaurants in town and the Golden Zone. Angelo's has been a favorite for us every year. The staff are the best in town...attentive and knowledgeable. There is also entertainment on some nights, with Arsenio and his son Andreas, singing many easy listening favorites. Oscar, Manual, Felipe, Alberto and staff will make sure your dining experience at Angelo's is perfect!

Emerald Bay is the sister property, about a 15 minute ride on the free shuttle bus that runs all day long. Larger property with numerous pools for a sunny day of relaxing.

Room Tip: We always look forward to being in the "new" section, called Pueblito, on an upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

As others have mentioned, we were a bit nervous about heading down to Mazatlan this year with the events that have been in the news. Our stay at PB Mazatlan was as warm and friendly as ever. We did not take advantage of the "meal plan" that they are currently offering, and it isn't something that would appeal to us. The food there is very good, as usual, and we just don't eat enough to make that type of plan economically sound. If we had teenagers or were younger, we would probably do it. They did offer "National Drinks" as part of the plan, and I know that many people took advantage of that, but we tend to order special liquors, so overall, not for us.

The hotel is showing it's age but is well kept. The staff is friendly, and we enjoyed Cilantro's quite a bit this year. On Christmas we ate at Angelo's for their special menu dinner. I was VERY pleased with this meal. I think that there were not as many takers on this as there could have been because it was not automatically included with the meal plan, but cost a few $ more for those who were on that plan. Certainly no more than you would have paid for a taxi to go elsewhere, and well worth that. People missed out on an excellent five course dinner, and I hope that PB will figure out the marketing on this. We nearly skipped it and I'm glad that we did not.

As always, we went across the street several times during our stay to see Gustavo at Sol Massage for the best massages we have had anywhere. $25 an hour, and honestly, it's as good as any I've had anywhere. Don't let this pass you by.

We also did dinner downtown at La Bohemian in the Plaza Machado one night. The flank steak was melt in your mouth delicious, and the price was very reasonable. Just be sure to make arrangements with your taxi driver to come back to get you in a few hours. There isn't always one right there and a "pulmonia" is a cold ride back to the golden zone.

All in all, this was a very nice trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were fairly nervous heading to Mazatlan for our week trip. We had heard a lot of negative things from people, specifically some that our company does business with in the Mazatlan area about kidnappings, murders and theft. Although most said it was locals that were targeted, we were apprehensive to be 3 women alone in the area. That being said..
We had a fabulous time in Mazatlan, and specifically at PB Mazatlan! We met a great couple at the airport, enjoyed our first Pacifico Light together then boarded the PB shuttle bus.

When we checked in, the first room they gave us was in the corner overlooking the smaller pool. I had read in a previous TA post that all you need to do is ask and they will move you to a better room if available, so I did! We ended up with a great room overlooking the flamingos and main pool area.

All the people working there were friendly, we bought the all inclusive when we got there as we planned to spend the majority of our time by the pool, at the beach or at the Emerald Bay resort. It turned out to save us about $20 each, which was great because it also made it really easy to eat & drink what we wanted whenever we wanted! The only thing the AI doesn't cover is "premium" alcohol, but you can still have it and they charge the extra to your room.

We took a pulmania one day into old town Mazatlan, had a great driver, Hector who completely took care of us and took us where we wanted to go. If you need a driver, ask for Hector!

Our overall experience to Mazatlan was great, even the people in the airport didn't bug us because we were prepared and went directly to the dude holding the PB sign! The one thing I would recommend is that you bring lots of $1 bills, they are great for tipping!

I took some photos, will try to remember to upload them soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was our second stay at Pueblo Bonito (we stayed for 2 weeks) and it was again FABULOUS. After our first stay in 2010 we found and bought a very cheap timeshare on Ebay. We've stayed in a lot of hotels during our travels and this is one of our favorites.

It's VERY clean, and the staff is very polite, friendly and responsive. The maids do a fantastic job keeping the rooms spic and span and the pool personnel are constantly running to serve you. Happy Hour here is great, any drink is 'two for one'. Yes, we took advantage of that!.

The pools were very clean and the beach is the best around in this area. There are lots of activites to ctivThe swim up bar isim We used to spend a lot of time at Costa De Oro down the street, and they too had a great beach, but Pueblo has won us over in so many other ways...

The food:There are restaurants on the premises but they are pricey and only 'okay'.. DO NOT do the all inclusive, what a rip off and how boring is that when all of this great food is withing walking distance or a short bus ride. Ugh. Be adventurous, get out of the resort and walk around, I assure you it is safe througout the Golden Zone.

There are MANY restaurants to be discovered most of them very good. Some are close, some require a bus or pulmonia ride. (La Cueva De Leon, Topolos, Fish Market, Fat Fish, Panchos) We can't stand to limit ourselves to the few that are at PB. In fact, we've only tried Cilantros and it was 'okay' but pricey. Ask around and read reviews of the restaurants here on Trip Advisor, it will help you make your choices. Oh and don't let the timeshare folks bother you, it's not a big deal,it's par for the course in Mazatlan. Just say no and keep walking or tell them you are leaving in the morning. big whoop. We did go see Emerald Bay one morning for the presentation and it was the softest sell ever. Easiest money we ever made (200 credit at PB) and a very nice breakfast included. I reccommend it if you like having your bar bill paid at Pueblo Bonito!

The rooms are a tiny bit dated but still very charming. (request room #423 if you can it is a sensational view) They are quite roomy with a great balcony and fully stocked kitchenette. We go to the MEGA on the bus and stock up on breakfast and lunch makings when we stay for an extended time. The a/c worked well I thought, the only thing I didn't like about it is that when you open your slider door, it will shut the a/c off and you have to reset it. As far as folks saying how muggy/humid it is, and how uncomfortable and all, it's MEXICO! If that bothers you, why are you visiting? Geez. Anyways, the a/c was adequate and the beds VERY comfortable for Mexico where the standard is flat/hard. These beds were just right and the sheets immaculate.

The bathrooms are huge and spotless, very nice toiletries, hair dryer, great shower/tub with good water pressure and you can get fresh towels any time, as many as you like.

We will be back next November for just one week at PB, the other week we are going to explore the BAJA part of Mexico. PB is our 'home' while visiting Maz now and we are always very happy with all aspects of staying there. You won't be disappointed either.

Room Tip: Choose room #423 if possible it has stunning sunset views w/palm trees on either side of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

this is a good resort to stay in. good service - fine swimming pools a swim up bar & cafe with great food. the restaurants in the resort are the best. and yes room service in case you do not want to go out to eat.
we stayed in the junior suites as well as the upgrades we get food from walmart in the city.
and enjoy cooking our own meals -
yes we tried the various stuff the town has to offer - they are great5 If you want o get drunk -
this i think would be the only way to really enjoy the area outside of the resorts.
Intoxicated might help it be fun? I talked to many ppl that really enjoy the night life there -
the free to cheap strong drinks seem to add to their puking pleasure. lol

after trying the tours in the past - I prefer to stay in the resort. it has great food and a very nice beach that is kept clean in the resort area.

Outside the resort?
you are met by cat calls - whistles and other annoying beggars trying to lure you away on very "nice"
tours or whatever?

I enjoyed riding the public bus right outside the resort - the best tour option is riding the bus and seeing the sights and talking to real locals.
but only drink water you KNOW is safe - the resort water is ALL filtered. even the wash water.
and the resort has the best food I found in the town'.

and yes i toured the other hotels and the sister resort "emerald bay" and the bonito is by far the best stay with the best food and service of any place i tested there.

I may review "emerald bay" resort, but it wont be good - it is more of an Asylum kind of place.
with poor food and worse service than i found at an institution. ok i guess that tells you I have been to Emerald bay a few times too. lol

Room Tip: use the airport shuttle - and the shuttle to and from the other resort - then you will see why ppl c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is on a great strip of beach. The ocean is quite choppy so swimming was not an option for us. The hotel is a bit older but very well maintained. Our unit was spacious and was well stocked for making easy meals. The service throughout the resort was very good! This is a time share resort so be prepared to be asked to attend a time share talk (if you want) for their sister property which is 10 minutes away. It is a beautiful property but the beach immediately in front of it is very rocky. If you plan to do the all inclusive package, arrange it once you get there; if you do the time share chat you will get a substantial discount on the daily rate for the all inclusive (we were offered a rate of $45/day/person or $150 cash to use at either property). There is a courtesy shuttle that takes you from one property to the other and you are welcome to use either throughout the stay. The food was wonderful but a bit pricey...as were the drinks. This resort was very quiet while we were there. This is not a party place. There is airport transportation if booked ahead. Otherwise the rate is 310 pesos for a taxi or 100 pesos per person for a airport arranged shuttle bus. I don't know what the resort charges.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.