We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta)

Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta)
Carnival No.1024, Mazatlan 82000 , Mexico
669-982-4446
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Mazatlan City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #4 of 79 Activities in Mazatlan
Type: Historic Sites, Theaters, Bodies of Water, Theater & Concerts, Nature & Parks, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored movie theater in downtown Mazatlan.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Unfortunately we weren't able to see a performance. But took a self guided tour of the building. Impressive. Even more so when we saw the before pictures in the second floor gallery.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    26
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachland, B.C.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Teatro Angela Peraulta is a fully restored fabulous old theater. It seats approximately 800 and has great accoustics. You can see Symphony, Ballet, Opera, Modern Dance, Great singers, and almost everything else here, at incredibly reasonably prices. If you get a chance to see a performance here, take it. If that doesn't work, at least take a tour. It really is impressive, especially when you see the photos on the 2nd floor of the theater before it was resatored.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
518 reviews 518 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Excellent Accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had gone to purchase tickets for traditional Mexican Dance Show. The guy even asked us if we wanted 6 or 8 o'clock and we told him 8 p.m. He said that the doors opened at 7:30. A few days later my husband looked at the tickets and it said 7 o'clock. We also noticed that it was a show of a variety of local dance schools. A bellman from our resort called and they said we could not exchange the tickets. We were somewhat disappointed, but decided that it would be a good show since we know that the lovely people of Mexico give it their all, especially when they preform. And yes the show was amazing. Many dance schools from Mazatlan preformed, from five and six year olds to adults. In the end we decided that maybe the ticket mixup was for the best. We were the only gringos in the packed theater. The theater itself is beautiful. Next year we want to go to show and get seats in the first balcony near the stage.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ballet at Angela Peralta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from seeing the ballet Don Quixote at Angela Peralta. The theatre is stunningly beautiful.

We have seen opera, folkloric dance,modern dance and ballet here. Tickets can range from expensive to free depending on whats on offer.

What has prompted this review is an observation regarding the cultural difference relating to behaviour at such events.
Last night at the ballet we sat in front of 2 ladies who proceeded to talk from the moment the curtain went up. I found this distracting and, as we had purchased the most expensive tickets, infuriating.

At the end of the first act I insisted we move. There were plenty of vacant seats.

To my horror the couple behind us also talked throughout most of the second half, the mans voice was considerably louder than his female counterparts.

In England this would not be acceptable. Shushes would resonate from all around.

The ballet itself was well executed and apart from the distractions was enjoyable. A young local company with lots of energy and talent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachland, bc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very classy theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful renovated old "grande dame".
Many different forms of entertainment here, from ballet, opera, symphony, modern dance, choirs. Even if you don't attend a performance, please take a tour. It's lovely and the acoustics are great. Oh, by the way, most expensive tickets area out $40.00 Cad.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta) also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angela Peralta Theater (Teatro Angela Peralta), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.