We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEH” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Acuario Mazatlan

Acuario Mazatlan
Av. de los Deportes 111, Mazatlan, Mexico
669-981-7815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 54 Attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This aquarium holds over 250 species of fish, a marine museum, Gulf of Mexico Oceanic Fish Tank, walk-through aviary and crocodile and frog area. There are also three shows: a sea lion show, bird show and diving exhibition. For those who dare to, there is a swimming with sharks activity available!Located meters from the Malecon at the sea lion sculpture intersection.We are an educational and recreational institution that supports the conservation and protection of the environment. We take pride in offering the highest quality of service, which is reflected in our exhibitions, shows and educational programs, and this is all due to a professional and interdisciplinary team.
LA
2 reviews
“MEH”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

They had a lot of Birds, and smaller fish. But I wanted to see some larger ones; they also had a cage marked 'Crocodiles' and they were in fact very evidently Robotic Crocodiles. Meh. Cost around $9 and was very crowded. I'd say you could skip this.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    93
    46
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the cost, Sea World meets aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The facility is very inexpensive compared to aquariums in the States. The staff are friendly and there are interactive shows like you would find at Sea World. Like most other things in Mazatlan, it is half indoors and half outdoors. For a small fee, you can actually swim in the shark tank.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Short Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been visiting this Aquarium since 1992. My children loved it as tots and enjoyed it this year as young adults. It has grown over the years and the exhibits are quite good. The shows are entertaining and the grounds/gardens are relaxing to stroll through. It is not expensive and a great break from the beach. It is in Spanish, but we all did understand what was going on.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fish Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A new shark tank has been added. Beautiful garden to walk in and really fun seal and sea lion shows, dolphins...a good visit in Mazatlan.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not What We Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This wasn't like any aquarium I'd ever seen. The sea lion show was entertaining, but it was all in Spanish, unlike some attractions that are bilingual. The most surprising part was that most of the exhibits were outdoors instead of in air-conditioned buildings. Also surprising were the choices of creatures on display. There were the typical fish, sharks, crocodiles, turtles, stingrays, etc, but there were also raccoons, deer, snakes, tons of birds, and even rabbits. We got through the whole thing in about 45 minutes, but some people might stay longer if they watch the shows. The place overall was interesting, but if we hadn't received free tickets from our resort, we probably would have been disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acuario Mazatlan also viewed

 

Been to Acuario Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acuario Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;