We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Immaculate Conception Cathedral

Immaculate Conception Cathedral
Mazatlan, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 82 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in downtown Mazatlan, the architecture makes it well worth a visit.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took a tour of old town and this is a wonderful cathedral. Well worth taking a few minutes to viisit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    95
    26
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice inside lots of history stayed behind a English tour 10 mins then that's about it not much of history buff. Walked into a couple of stores then to the market

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely location and very quaint. Luckily there were still Christmas decorations up and it looked really pretty,

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Interesting Cathedral!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Enjoyed visiting this church. What I found particularly amazing was the use of the Jewish Star of David in all the windows. The stained glass is beautiful.
Did not like the statue of Jesus that looked like it was plucked from Mel Gibson's "Passion of Christ"....it was a little too bloody for me.
I did like the flower arrangements next to the stature of Mary and Jesus in the shape of little teddy bears!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yellow tile exterior sparkles in sun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's hard not to notice this cathedral, located in the historic center of town. The spires and dome are covered in bright yellow tiles that shine in the sun. Against the brilliant blue sky, it makes for excellent pictures. I'm always cheered up when I see it. We went inside for the first time on this trip. It was about noon on a Thursday and it was packed, mostly with kids. I think it was some sort of children's service. There was a lot of singing and clapping. The interior is lovely, with soaring ceilings, colorful windows, and many statues. Saw my first ever coin-op machine for lighting candles! There is a public square across the street, where many older gentlemen and young couples rest on benches. There are also some carts, selling fruits and ices. Nice destination on a sunny afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Immaculate Conception Cathedral also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Immaculate Conception Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Immaculate Conception Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.