We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paco's friend Don” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro Lighthouse

El Faro Lighthouse
Mazatlan, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 54 Attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This lighthouse sits atop Cerro Creston, Mazatlan's highest hill.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paco's friend Don”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We walked to the lighthouse and was worth the walk but its a very long walk and once you think you are there, there are 350 more stairs.... was a long walk and a funny story now...(long walk)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    20
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The hike is completely worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We've been wanting to do the lighthouse our previous 2 trips to Mazatlan and finally had an opportunity this previous trip; we certainly were not let down. The complete hike took us approximately 25 minutes, and this was with my dad who has had 2 hip replacements and walks a little slower than most. Once we got to the top, the views could not be beat. Hard to believe how high you actually climb until you are looking down at the city.

Notes: There is nothing at the top in the way of restrooms yet there is a tiny little store inside the building to purchase water in case you didn't bring any along. There are side trails that lead up the cliff side, avoid these unless you want to end up back down at the bottle to start again to reach the top. My boyfriend attempted it and once he got to a certain point, he had to go all the way back down. We thought we lost him ha-ha.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“interesting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We took a tour to Stone Island and had a very interesting tour guide. Food that went with it was not good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Want excersise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We decided to combine excersise and site seeing.Lots of nice places to take pictures.Lots of good history.It is a nice Hike up and down.Beautiful view,Take water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quite the climb, partially on uneven trails but so worth it when you get to the top and see the view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Faro Lighthouse also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to El Faro Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Faro Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;