We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long drive but beautiful old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copala

Copala
Mazatlan, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 44 Attractions in Mazatlan
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quaint little village with cobblestone streets, colonial buildings and charming square.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Long drive but beautiful old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very long drive up into the beautiful mountains but well worth it to see the 700-y-o church and the town's many buildings still standing as they were in the 1300's. Not a good tour if you have a hard time walking. The streets are old uneven cobblestones, and you have to walk a ways to get to the church.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culiacan, México
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quiet n fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

well here is an historic town... u can buy a lot of thing like mineral or silver... some kind of this things... the food is awesome n the banana pay is great... well the thing i dont like it was the road..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pronaturs & Copala Country tour... forget it - no time to yourself.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We did this tour to Concordia and Copala 9 years ago and NOTHING about the tour has changed!... these tours all depend on visiting local shops and restaurants to get their business without much time to wander alone.
As we had done this tour before we had hoped to spend some time by ourselves to explore the areas .... this did not happen.
Victor was our guide and he kept a very rigid schedule - to say the least he was not at all friendly.
First stop was a roadside adobe brick factory.... really ....forget it... just looking for tips and a real waste of an hour of our tour.
Next stop was a roadside pottery and furniture market ... who can carry this pottery and furniture onto the plane?? The vendors couldn't care less... another waste of time...
Third stop was a really quaint village - we were walked through a home that had a bakery (yummy treats but at twice the price of Mega), and also a tile maker. I tried to ask Victor some questions - but he completely ignored me. Wish we had more time to explore the village - but we were supervised everywhere we went and only given a few minutes - bathroom stops were not available.
Fourth stop was the lovely colonial town of Concordia. My husband & I have been there twice before and did not want to follow the tour to the municipal hall and church - we just wanted to hang around the town square (so quaint) and visit some of the shops.... Victor was not at all happy about this and told us so. We met the bus well ahead of time before leaving for Copala. We have done these trips many times, but was really disappointed with the lack of documentary about the surrounding area, vegetation, industry etc., At Copala we were escorted to the beautiful church and had a good amount of time to look around, but then were taken to an artisan shop - to view, (and purchase) leather masks... they were lovely and I actually bought one. Lunch was pretty good - with a good view of the valley and village - but again no time to wander and explore. Trip back to Mazatlan was VERY FAST with no commentary... the driver going well over 120km per hour - passing unsafely and the tour guide actually fell asleep on the way back.
I feel these tours just try to get in as many tourist attractions and shops to buy things - without giving a real feel of the beautiful countryside. Done it twice - Never again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“This was the worst day of our trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this tour with Vista Tours through our resort.

We began in Mazatlan with a "talk" at a Tequila factory, followed by a visit to a local country bakery where we bought some buns. Lucky that we did as lunch wasn't until after 2p,m and we set off at 9am.The on to a jewellery store with a very pushy sales person!

Then on to another small town with a church to visit and finally Copola with interesting church, a mask factory and the aforementioned Daniels for lunch.

Because we had prepaid the lunch with our tour, we were offered a very limited menu. Others had more choice. No matter however as the whole menu was very poor.

Would not recommend this to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth,mn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Get out into the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Victor was our guide on the 6 hour trip into the countryside, and back in time. If you want a feel for the rural part of Mexico, take this tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copala also viewed

 

Been to Copala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.