We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pronaturs & Copala Country tour... forget it - no time to yourself.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Copala

Copala
, Mazatlan, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 79 things to do in Mazatlan
Activities: Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quaint little village with cobblestone streets, colonial buildings and charming square.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pronaturs & Copala Country tour... forget it - no time to yourself.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We did this tour to Concordia and Copala 9 years ago and NOTHING about the tour has changed!... these tours all depend on visiting local shops and restaurants to get their business without much time to wander alone.
As we had done this tour before we had hoped to spend some time by ourselves to explore the areas .... this did not happen.
Victor was our guide and he kept a very rigid schedule - to say the least he was not at all friendly.
First stop was a roadside adobe brick factory.... really ....forget it... just looking for tips and a real waste of an hour of our tour.
Next stop was a roadside pottery and furniture market ... who can carry this pottery and furniture onto the plane?? The vendors couldn't care less... another waste of time...
Third stop was a really quaint village - we were walked through a home that had a bakery (yummy treats but at twice the price of Mega), and also a tile maker. I tried to ask Victor some questions - but he completely ignored me. Wish we had more time to explore the village - but we were supervised everywhere we went and only given a few minutes - bathroom stops were not available.
Fourth stop was the lovely colonial town of Concordia. My husband & I have been there twice before and did not want to follow the tour to the municipal hall and church - we just wanted to hang around the town square (so quaint) and visit some of the shops.... Victor was not at all happy about this and told us so. We met the bus well ahead of time before leaving for Copala. We have done these trips many times, but was really disappointed with the lack of documentary about the surrounding area, vegetation, industry etc., At Copala we were escorted to the beautiful church and had a good amount of time to look around, but then were taken to an artisan shop - to view, (and purchase) leather masks... they were lovely and I actually bought one. Lunch was pretty good - with a good view of the valley and village - but again no time to wander and explore. Trip back to Mazatlan was VERY FAST with no commentary... the driver going well over 120km per hour - passing unsafely and the tour guide actually fell asleep on the way back.
I feel these tours just try to get in as many tourist attractions and shops to buy things - without giving a real feel of the beautiful countryside. Done it twice - Never again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This was the worst day of our trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this tour with Vista Tours through our resort.

We began in Mazatlan with a "talk" at a Tequila factory, followed by a visit to a local country bakery where we bought some buns. Lucky that we did as lunch wasn't until after 2p,m and we set off at 9am.The on to a jewellery store with a very pushy sales person!

Then on to another small town with a church to visit and finally Copola with interesting church, a mask factory and the aforementioned Daniels for lunch.

Because we had prepaid the lunch with our tour, we were offered a very limited menu. Others had more choice. No matter however as the whole menu was very poor.

Would not recommend this to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth,mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get out into the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Victor was our guide on the 6 hour trip into the countryside, and back in time. If you want a feel for the rural part of Mexico, take this tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a sleepy town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

the friendly faces of the locals.....walking and feeling part of the community....seeing another side of life in Mexico

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto On Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“No point”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The only reason a tour goes here is to visit the shop that makes masks (so you will buy). The masks are beautiful and we did buy one. There is a church that is photogenic. Then they herd you to Daniel's for lunch which is supposedly world renown for its banana pie. The food was terrible, my shrimps tasted liked canned which is a sin when shrimp are so plentiful in this area. The pie was passable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copala also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Copala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.