We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topolo

Topolo
Constitucion #629 at Benito Juarez, Mazatlan 12345, Mexico
136-0660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 248 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Illinois
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We went to Topolo's one evening with our friends who live in Mazatlan. It is only one block from Plaza Muchado. I would highly recommend the Mexican Plate for authentic Mexican food and the cilantro shrimp. I am sure that all of the food is great and the service was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    44
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stumbled upon this place by accident and it proved to be the best restaurant by far. The service was wonderful, the food delicious, and the price more than reasonable. The salsa made at the table was tasty and the pork special to die for. I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best night of dining in Mazatlan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We visited Topolos on Cinco de Mayo and we had the best night of dining during our week in Mazatlan. Over the top service, beautiful courtyard (quite a surprise from the street view!), and a wandering sax player provided wonderful ambiance. They not only serve a delicious black bean corn salsa with chips on your table but the came to your table and handmade salsa to our taste with freshly roasted tomatoes! Fabulous dinner of shrimp and adobo chicken. Chocolate mousse pie and cheesecake for dessert was awesome. The Mexican coffee is a treat you have to order - they make it table side, fun and it's delicious. We started the night off with wine (very good) and mango margaritas - a must order! Everyone there was so solicitous and accommodating - the absolute best night in Mazatlan!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great food and a nice place! They make fresh salsa right at your table. The tortilla soup was the best we found in Mazatlan, and the dinner was excellent! Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I just got back from Mazatlan and Toplolo was the best meal I had all week! It is such a charming place and I loved dining there. I had the pork shank and it was just delicious! The waiter also cooked our dessert tableside, which was fun and tasty! I would recommend making a reservation and I also recommend going on the weekend because the Machado is so lively and fun!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topolo also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Topolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.