We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minnesota cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solamar Inn

Save Saved
You added Solamar Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solamar Inn
1942 Blvd. Sabalo, Mazatlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
mazatland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“minnesota cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

cafe very good food fair prices and very friendly staff.2 for 1 specials ribs or fish or chicken.George are waiter is very nice and funny..The pub next door is a good place to watch some sport or play a game of pool.Rooms are comfortable and clean.We were there for 4 weeks and found the staff friendly and very helpfull.We would come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks in January and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff was excellent and I got to practical my limited Spanish with them. Close to all amenities. I enjoyed it enough that I am taking my husband back in January. My only complaint is the hard beds, otherwise I would have given an excellent (5 *) rating

Room Tip: Check the beds. Some are wonderful, others, not so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great lakes
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have never stayed at the solamar inn. Allthough they are usually very full. I do have breakfast there because they specials that are a little different for a fair price. You can get 2 eggs, bacon, toast, pancakes, coffee and potatos for $ 70 pecos. Its worth a stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Through the years my family and friends have enjoyed time at the Solamar Inn, Sombrero Suites and in Nasha´s private homes and have enjoyed many great meals in their Minnesota Cafe Restaurant and Bar. They have a great pool area with a great atmosphere and they are all located just across the street from the Ocean ... perfect location ... We highly recommend all Nasha´s accommodations. Enjoy ::))

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukon, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We very much enjoy our stay at the Solamar Inn. The staff are all excellent and very friendly. Their wish to assure us of our safety and to make our vacation enjoyable. The happy hours are the best in town and food prices are also. Rooms are comfortable and thoroughly cleaned daily. Solamar Inn is the best! You leave feeling you have found a new home and many new friends!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Our first trip to a tropical climate. Coming from Canada it was a bit of a culture shock, but in no time we adjusted and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were so friendly and welcoming! Allowing for the fact that it's an old hotel, it's very well maintained. There was some traffic noise, but it didn't interrupt our sleep, beds were hard, and took a couple of nights to adjust. The location was perfect. It was close to everything, a 2 min. walk to the ocean, beach, shopping, buses, etc. and the restaurant and bar were great! A good tip, leave 10 pesos( $1.00) for the maid each morning. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We just returned from our latest and third trip to Mazatlan. This was our first time staying at the Solamar but it will not be our last! We loved the strategic location - across the street is a bank and it is so close to so many wonderful night clubs and restaurants. It has the best happy hour in Mazatlan and believe me being "Newfies" we are very experienced in drinking. The staff have to be the friendlieset most incredible staff I have ever come across. From the moment we arrived, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. From the front desk staff, to Tony the Promoter (who by the way knows everything about Mazatlan), to Horiad and his counterparts in the restaurant/bar and i can't forget Nasha and Dora who went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a pleasurable experience. I have been travelling for 40 years all over the world and it by far was the best hotel I have every stayed at. Iwould strongly recommend this fantastic inn to anybody who is travelling to Mazatlan.

Jocelyn Costello & Kevin Brewer (Arrived Dec 18 and departed Jan 25, 2010).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solamar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solamar Inn

Address: 1942 Blvd. Sabalo, Mazatlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Solamar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solamar Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solamar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.