We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Mazatlán” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mazatlan Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Mazatlan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mazatlan Inn
Pedregoso 18, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Mazatlán”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am rarely to never inspired to write reviews of anything but we had such a lovely stay at the Old Mazatlán Inn that I feel compelled to recommend it to other travelers.

Old Mazatlán Inn is located near the historic Centro of Mazatlán, it is a couple of blocks from one of the nicest beaches in the city and close to a variety of restaurants. It's nowhere near the majority of most of the hotels, meaning it's a much quieter, more genuine part of Mazatlán.

The rooms are actually condos so in each unit there is everything you could possibly need - a small kitchen, a television, desk, chairs, etc. The inn is charming. A lot of attention has been paid to the decor and design of the units and the outside spaces. The terraces are one very nice feature - you can see the ocean as well as the city.

As nice as all this was, the best part of our stay (and why I felt like I should write this review) is because the hosts at the Old Mazatlán Inn made us feel so comfortable and welcome. We were traveling in Mazatlán during the off season so there weren't many people staying at the Inn. I feel like it would be easy to kind of forget about us but they didn't. In fact, they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. During our stay a tropical storm/hurricane hit Sinaloa to the north of Mazatlán so as one could imagine there was quite a bit of rain. Some of which made it's way into our room under the door (we were not surprised or upset, that's the kind of thing that happens when rain and wind are battering a condo). We were pleasantly surprised to come back from lunch and find that our room had been mopped and the water taken care of (unasked!) our hosts decided to move us into a larger unit for the issue (also, unasked). Our hosts were able to answer questions about things to do in Mazatlán and ensured that we had everything we needed during our stay. O'Neil and Jorge made our stay very pleasant and should we find ourselves in Mazatlán again, we know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Been going to Mazatlan for 14 year. Oneil does a great job here. Wonderful friendly very clean great stall and better guests. Will be back in January. Close to old town and beaches. The staff will recommend local sites to visit

Room Tip: A little hill to walk up but once you get there it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hey O'neil - THANKS for a WONDERFUL WEEK in Mazatlan -
We so totally enjoyed ourselves - and Old Mazatlan Inn played a HUGE part in our first ever trip to Mazatlan

We re back in Edmonton Canada - looking at the blowing snow outside the airport -

Take good care - we will be in touch

GH

We flew into Mazatlan - stayed at the Old Mazatlan Inn - The place had a charm that ADDED to everything we saw and tasted in Old Mazatlan Centro - the HISTORIC Mazatlan -


O'Neil is an awesome host - helpful to every detail - even losing my cell phone did not put a damper on the week - that is how enjoyable our stay was!!!!

We have never felt safer anyplace as we have in Mazatlan - and will certainly return

Old Mazatlan Inn is our place in Mexico - when we return!!!


Based on our experience - I can only say that O'Neil will do his utmost to make your visit to Mazatlan most memorable !!!


Thanks So Much to O'Neil and the great staff he has (Jorge & Jose - you know who you are!!!)

d;o)

Room Tip: Decide if you prefer the Terrace (3 floors up) or the pool and patio - - we preferred to be near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a week at the Old Mazatlan Inn in February. Love the Olas Altas area of Mazatlan and have stayed at a good number of hotels and B & B's in the neighbourhood. Old Mazatlan Inn was a different experience. The building is all on offer as model Condo suites for sale. But still many are being rented out by the manager O'Neil as short and long-term rentals. The units vary in size and design. Common facilities are very nice and not overcrowded. Atmosphere is very welcoming because this is a relatively small operation. The staff are very accommodating. Will definitely consider it again in future years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying one month at the OMI this year. The OMI is conveniently located in El Centro perched against the Ice Box Hill. Fact…it’s a climb to the building but you are rewarded with outstanding views from their roof top patio. The unit we rented had a balcony facing the street which also gave us views of the city. The units are well equipped with kitchens or kitchettes and the units are well maintained and very clean. Our unit had a beautiful tropical flower arrangement from their extensive greenery around the complex. These plants attract a number of birds and butterfly’s which are nice to watch while lounging by the pool. The pool is not heated and only gets sun to around 2pm (Dec). The OMI also has an outdoor kitchen for grilling or group dinners with new friends.

From the OMI the market is an easy 5 min walk, the machado the same, a HSBC bank is located just off the Plazuela des los Leones along with the local tienda, and the Olas Altas beach/malecon is 3 min walk in the opposite direction. The manager O’Neil is incredibly helpful, efficiently answers emails, arranging taxi’s, sending out the laundry etc. The staff that work here are long term and care about the people who stay here, always friendly and gentle. Pool towels are available and hair dryers are provided upon request. The OMI may not be for everyone, being that you must have some mobility to stay here and it’s not a modern or a luxurious property, but it’s unique and attracts like minded individuals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently spent one month at the old maz inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. O'Neil made us feel right at home. The units are simple, but have everything you want and need. The location to the merchado and the beach is excellent. We loved the outdoor kitchen, the pool and nothing beats the roof top for sunset drinks! The view is magnificent. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Charming little gem with a great host (Oneil)! Not fancy but close to downtown and far from the Golden Zone. If you want authentic Mexico this is a great place. Each room has a small kitchen, there is a great outdoor kitchen next to the pool and the rooftop patio could host a large party. Tremendous sunset views and close to the plaza and Olas Altas. Warning! It's a bit of a climb on steep roads to get to Old Mazatlan Inn.

Room Tip: The upper floors get more of a breeze but it's more of a climb (no elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mazatlan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mazatlan Inn

Address: Pedregoso 18, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historical Mazatlan and a block to the pacific. Mazatlan's most truly Mexican Rustico & private oasis hotel, offers two bedroom, one bedroom and studio suites. All with complete kitchenettes. Wireless internet throughout the property. Free calls to the States and Canada. English speaking staff. Enjoy drinks by the pool or relax on the roof top terrace and take in the spectacular views of the ocean and city. Walking distance to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Mazatlan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mazatlan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.