We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate price, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Island Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Coral Island Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Island Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mar #1234 | Zona Dorada Malecon, Mazatlan 82148, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moderate price, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were only gringos there third week of Feb but front desk staff speak good English and go out of their way to be helpful. We had pre-booked some excursions but would recommend going through hotel instead. Hotel is midway between Golden Zone and old town, bus stop across street and only 10 pesos fare. Room stark but very clean. Pros: One of best restaurants in Mazatlan is attached, we had breakfast included and also ate several good fish dinners there. Hotel ran a tab for us. Pool was great and usually had it to ourselves. Partial ocean view room was just fine. TV had many channels, some of them movie channels in English Cons: there is a 4 lane highway between hotel and promenade/beach, a bit tricky to negotiate. There is a long tunnel under road to beach but had to ask staff to accompany us and unlock door; didn't seem worth it after the first time. The shower stall was huge but slippery. Internet connection was not always available in room but could always get it in restaurant. One night (out of 7) music from a party kept us awake past midnight (other nights were just fine, the surf lulled us to sleep). Overall good value for the cost.
I am not sure about the "spa" part of the name, there was a salon and an exercise room but we didn't use either. The locals pronounce this hotel name "Coral Ees-lan" so the taxi drivers may be confused when you tell them you want to go there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My fiance and I went to Mazatlan for a week over the 4th of July holiday. We were pleasantly suprised to find very clean rooms at Coral Island. The hotel is situated in a perfect location just a 1/2 mile from the Golden Zone. I was dissapointed in the promise of bottled water in my room every day only to find not one bottle once the maid had cleaned the room. The small things are most important to me and what was a flag in my eyes is that many of the staff only speak spanish and very little english. Also, there were a lack of towels in the room -no washclothes even. We had to call house keeping twice for additional towels. No pen or pad by the phone to make notes. Only one electircal outlet in the room (bathroom) which made making the coffee and flat ironing my hair a problem. The pool is very small compared to the other hotels along the beach. Once all the hotel rooms filled up, the pool was too crowded for comfort. The biggest deal breaker for me was the noise. When the other guests came back from the local bars, they were very loud throughout the hallways and below the balcony. The hotel seemed to have no curfew at night. This was very disturbing. Would I stay there again? Only if it was the only hotel on the boardwalk available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I went with my family for 4 nights, it's a hotel relatively new and it's well maintained. The swimming pool is a little small but has character.

The access to the beach is by an underground tunnel. It has bathrooms, however in the beach there is nothing around, nothing that brings some cover. There should be some palapas and security.

The hotel’s restaurant has very good breakfast, highly recommended. I did not try lunch or dinner.

This is a pretty nice little hotel, I recommended for one time stay, but no more. Too many options in Mazatlán.

___________________________________________________________________________
Estuve con mi familia por 4 noches, es un hotel relativamente nuevo y bien cuidado. La alberca es pequeña pero tiene su carácter, con vista a la playa.

El acceso a la playa es por un túnel que tiene baños; sin embargo, no hay nada en la playa, ni una palapa, nada a cientos de metros a la redonda. Debería tener algunas palapas para tener sombra y alguien que apoye cuidando.

El restaurant del hotel (restaurant ME) es muy bueno en sus desayunos, altamente recomendado. Las comidas/cenas también se ven buenas pero no tuvimos la oportunidad de probar.

Es un hotel un poco diferente al resto, para ir una vez sí, pero no más.

Room Tip: At checkin ask to not be bother with the free breakfast where they try to sell you something like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

As other reviewers have mentioned, this place has an odd location--away from the party scene and away from the centro histórico.

That said, I definitely enjoyed my night here. The rooms were very, very comfortable. The fitness center is cool and the pool is lovely (salt water, I believe).

We stayed here one night for under $80 but came back in July and the price was more like $98 so we stayed elsewhere. It looked like they were doing some sort of all inclusive deal in July, which makes me wonder if it could get really rowdy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

just got back from week long trip. Hotel is located along the main boulevard and perfect for ocean watching and walking, pool was very nice. Hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful, restaurant was good (locals were patrons too). We upgraded to a room with a big balcony and it was worth the money.
Issue was the other guests at hotel, mostly mexicans that insist on partying to 4 am, yelling and playing music at brain-deadening volumes. Great during mon-thursday, but weekends were LOUD!! Take earplugs!
We would go again, but only during weekdays.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

brand new hotel. visually pleasant. small but comfortable rooms. on playa norte (between the Zona Dorada and the old town). sort of far from the action on a non-descrptive strip. perfect for people who want to be in a quiet area but not for those who are looking for nightlife or prefer the historic old town (50 pesos ride to the Centro Historico). restaurant ME (at the foot of the hotel) is great and one of the best quality price ratio in Mazatlan. I still prefer staying at Olas Altas myself. Beach, cafes, regulars, Centro Historic all in 3 blocks radius !

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel and had a very good experience. It is brand new, very clean and quiet. I enjoyed the location and found it easy to walk or take buses/taxis around town. the beach was wonderful, just across the street, typically empty. The pool was also great, but it would quickly get small if the hotel was full. Overall, I would definately stay here and recommend it to others. However, if you are looking for a big resort type experience with all the bells and whistles, i.e., concierge, room service, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Island Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Island Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida del Mar #1234 | Zona Dorada Malecon, Mazatlan 82148, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Island Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Coral Island Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Island Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Island Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.