We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If This Doesn't Meet Your Needs -- You May Want to Stay Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerritos No 3110 | Marina Mazatlán, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If This Doesn't Meet Your Needs -- You May Want to Stay Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have traveled all over Mexico, Central and South America and just spent a week over the Christmas Holidays at The Crown Plaza in Mazatlan. I have to say it was a very enjoyable experience. There were five travelers which included our 12 year old granddaughter and we could not have been treated better by the staff starting with our 1:30 a.m. check-in.
The pool was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff started o/a 6:00 a.m. the morning to assure that it was ready for the early arrivals.
I think this place has gotten an undeserved bad wrap and I call them as I seem them and I would definitely return!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for have been taken the time to leave your comments about your recent experience which are so important to us. It is a pleasure to know that our staff made him feel at home and meet your expectations. . Once again thank you very much and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    40
    17
    22
    16
See reviews for
56
58
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I just wanted to express the horrible experience I had at this property in Mazatlan. After driving 8 hours and having stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Guaymas, we were received with a complimentary drink. My girlfriend and I checked in, only to find out when we used the toilet that there was no water at the hotel. Incredible!!!!! In a Crowne Plaza!!! We were not told prior to check in that there was a problem with water, nor we were given a choice to decide for other hotel. We were told when we called the front desk that the problem would be fixed within and hour, but it did not happen, and even in our check out, the hotel did not have water. Another upset guest told us this was the third time it happened within 30 days. Management was not available when we checked out... I regret paying 200 dlls to stay here for a night, and eventhough the check out clerks were courteous, we did not spoke to the manager...perhaps they dont care. Hotel offered me a certificate to stay in hell for other night, that is, to come back and visit them on the house. Please get real!!!! If you want my advise...PLEASE AVOID STAYING HERE!!! Go to EL CID instead! I stayed friday dec 6th for one night.

Room Tip: This is very far away from the boardwalk ...very secluded...no action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear BusinessT907,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are truly sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska (God's backyard)
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very modern décor! From arrival until we left this morning, Jose was always helping people, he was so helpful. While we were waiting for our room to be ready (we were early), we were surprised with a very appreciated fruity drink. Our room (210) was beautiful! We had a Jacuzzi 2-person tub in front of full window overlooking the pool & ocean. For safety, the window only opened about 5 inches so no night breeze. The tub area had colored LED lights and the room was white with bright pink accents. Since the room had the huge tub in front of the windows, there was no balcony to sit out on (our choice). The was a large walk-in shower with rainfall showerhead, nice! The sink was The magnifying mirror in the bathroom gave me an electrical shock (reported on check-out) so I just didn't use it. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant was under a little construction so we ate breakfast & dinner by the pool with the ocean waves crashing only yards away. Edgar was our main waiter at breakfast and was always available, checking on us but not intrusive. The pool was crystal clear & beautiful! Very clean! All one depth, less than 4 ft. The a/c In our room could not keep up with the heat (mid-Oct) and even into the middle of the night it was hot (over 22 C) the thermostat was set for 19 C and it never got there during our 3 night stay, lowest was 21 or 21.5 C and the highest was 25 C. We kept the curtains closed from mid-morning until late night which was disappointing but the heat was too much.
There is an OXXO across the street. Nothing else (stores) around so some type of transportation was needed. Green bus 10 peso, taxi or pulmonia (50 peso-140 peso) were needed to go to the malls or downtown Old Mazatlan. The beach was beautiful but be warned (I wasn't) there is a dangerous undertow in this area. I found out the tough way & was tossed all over getting a bunch of bruises and scratches ... all I wanted was to "bounce" in the waves, ocean & undertow were MUCH too strong. Oh well, not too bad, but scary. There was one jewelry solicitor out on the beach but wasn't intrusive. I really enjoyed our stay & the hotel, grounds & pool are beautiful! Staff are friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
: Thank you so much for your very favorable comments about our hotel. . We work very hard to achieve the level of guest satisfaction that you express in your review. . It is a pleasure to know that our staff made him feel at home and meet your expectations. Once again thank you very much and hope to return soon, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the Marina Mazatlan at the Crown Plaza (Blvd. Sabalo Cerritos No. 3110, Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Sinaloa, tel. 669-988-0324). We stayed in Room 1606 for M$1466.44 or US$111. The room was big enough and when the air conditioning cooled the room it was pleasant. The room had a western exposure over the pool and with a full ocean view. In the room was a table with 2 chairs, a mini refrigerator and coffee maker. There was a sofa and a small low table in front of it. The TV was across from the sofa. (This is unusual and worth mentioning because too often the TV is in front of the bed and cannot be turned to face the comfortable seating in hotel rooms.) There was a king bed, a desk and allegedly free, Internet wi-fi. It didn’t work in the room so we used the Internet in the lobby. The bathroom was just big enough (with an adequate-sized shower) and so was the closet and the storage. Maintenance seemed to be lacking. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn’t work, even after the technico came. We went to the beach area but didn’t go into the ocean because the waves were too big. We went into the pool and sat by it for a little while. It was really, really hot out. The room rate included breakfast and it was a full, prepared to order one from a menu. We had a nopal and orange juice smoothie and a strawberry one too. Dimitri had oatmeal and Audre had the full Mexican offering with scrambled eggs Mexican style, frijoles and potatoes. The toast was inedible but generally the breakfast was very good. Using the elevators from our 16th floor room was annoying. They were slow and one was out of commission. The hotel wasn’t bad; it was just annoying.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We regret that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory but we appreciate your giving us very specific comments that allow us to focus on real solutions. At the same time, your critique was balanced by positive comments. This causes us to work even harder to correct any problems.
Examples include your problems with the Wifi system which we will correct immediately along with the maintenance problems you had with the electrical outlet in the bathroom. While we appreciate your positive notes on the breakfast, we won’t be satisfied until the toast is properly prepared and served. That is a basic requirement for any well prepared breakfast.
We apologize for one of the elevators being out of service and we know that elevator problems are particularly annoying to people on the upper floors. We make every effort to maintain reliable elevator service to avoid this problem but we will redouble our efforts to prevent any elevator delays.
Thank you again for staying with us. We hope there will be another chance to show that we can learn and improve from the kind of fair minded critiques that you have been kind enough to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel has its strengths, ocean front, friendly staff, and fast elevator. The rooms are very small and (even though the hotel is not old) the construction quality is below average. The beds are comfortable but the rooms, well, let's just say I would not be proud of them. Pool is not great. You can't invite friends or the staff will be rude to them. The showers don't work properly, the tile grout is dirty and the tiles are crooked and misplaced in the first place. Poor workmanship and small rooms left me feeling like I was at a two star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear EstradaLawyer,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and the view.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding room size, pool and shower experience. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

i was very impressed by this hotel. it has a beautiful view, great accommodations, and very friendly service. the beach and the pool are very nice. when i make it back to mazatlan, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your very favorable comments about our hotel. We especially appreciate your recommendation of the hotel to other potential guests. We work very hard to achieve the level of guest satisfaction that you express in your review. It is gratifying when we receive a comment that covers a broad range of features at the hotel – especially when our friendly staff receives a favorable mention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were really leery on how the hotel would be after reading the most recent reviews but we were very pleased with the Crowne Plaza Mazatlan. The front desk staff was not the friendliest but everyone else that worked there were exceptional. My husband and I were on our belated honeymoon. The Honeymoon suite was clean and maintained. The pool was clean and the staff was great. We plan to go there again. Patricia booked all of our excursions for us and was very well organized with no issues at all. The shuttles picked us up on time and we had a great vacation in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to send a review – especially one that reports that you simply had a “great vacation.” That certainly is the simplest way to state our goal. The attention to detail and the excellent staff that you mention are really the explanation for your good experience. We hope you will return soon and let us try to set an even higher standard.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Mazatlan

Address: Cerritos No 3110 | Marina Mazatlán, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Mazatlan 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.