We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a good room but an annoying hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Mazatlan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerritos No 3110 | Marina Mazatlán, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
The World
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Great location, a good room but an annoying hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the Marina Mazatlan at the Crown Plaza (Blvd. Sabalo Cerritos No. 3110, Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan, Sinaloa, tel. 669-988-0324). We stayed in Room 1606 for M$1466.44 or US$111. The room was big enough and when the air conditioning cooled the room it was pleasant. The room had a western exposure over the pool and with a full ocean view. In the room was a table with 2 chairs, a mini refrigerator and coffee maker. There was a sofa and a small low table in front of it. The TV was across from the sofa. (This is unusual and worth mentioning because too often the TV is in front of the bed and cannot be turned to face the comfortable seating in hotel rooms.) There was a king bed, a desk and allegedly free, Internet wi-fi. It didn’t work in the room so we used the Internet in the lobby. The bathroom was just big enough (with an adequate-sized shower) and so was the closet and the storage. Maintenance seemed to be lacking. The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn’t work, even after the technico came. We went to the beach area but didn’t go into the ocean because the waves were too big. We went into the pool and sat by it for a little while. It was really, really hot out. The room rate included breakfast and it was a full, prepared to order one from a menu. We had a nopal and orange juice smoothie and a strawberry one too. Dimitri had oatmeal and Audre had the full Mexican offering with scrambled eggs Mexican style, frijoles and potatoes. The toast was inedible but generally the breakfast was very good. Using the elevators from our 16th floor room was annoying. They were slow and one was out of commission. The hotel wasn’t bad; it was just annoying.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We regret that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory but we appreciate your giving us very specific comments that allow us to focus on real solutions. At the same time, your critique was balanced by positive comments. This causes us to work even harder to correct any problems.
Examples include your problems with the Wifi system which we will correct immediately along with the maintenance problems you had with the electrical outlet in the bathroom. While we appreciate your positive notes on the breakfast, we won’t be satisfied until the toast is properly prepared and served. That is a basic requirement for any well prepared breakfast.
We apologize for one of the elevators being out of service and we know that elevator problems are particularly annoying to people on the upper floors. We make every effort to maintain reliable elevator service to avoid this problem but we will redouble our efforts to prevent any elevator delays.
Thank you again for staying with us. We hope there will be another chance to show that we can learn and improve from the kind of fair minded critiques that you have been kind enough to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    42
    18
    21
    17
See reviews for
63
60
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel has its strengths, ocean front, friendly staff, and fast elevator. The rooms are very small and (even though the hotel is not old) the construction quality is below average. The beds are comfortable but the rooms, well, let's just say I would not be proud of them. Pool is not great. You can't invite friends or the staff will be rude to them. The showers don't work properly, the tile grout is dirty and the tiles are crooked and misplaced in the first place. Poor workmanship and small rooms left me feeling like I was at a two star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear EstradaLawyer,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and the view.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding room size, pool and shower experience. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

i was very impressed by this hotel. it has a beautiful view, great accommodations, and very friendly service. the beach and the pool are very nice. when i make it back to mazatlan, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your very favorable comments about our hotel. We especially appreciate your recommendation of the hotel to other potential guests. We work very hard to achieve the level of guest satisfaction that you express in your review. It is gratifying when we receive a comment that covers a broad range of features at the hotel – especially when our friendly staff receives a favorable mention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were really leery on how the hotel would be after reading the most recent reviews but we were very pleased with the Crowne Plaza Mazatlan. The front desk staff was not the friendliest but everyone else that worked there were exceptional. My husband and I were on our belated honeymoon. The Honeymoon suite was clean and maintained. The pool was clean and the staff was great. We plan to go there again. Patricia booked all of our excursions for us and was very well organized with no issues at all. The shuttles picked us up on time and we had a great vacation in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to send a review – especially one that reports that you simply had a “great vacation.” That certainly is the simplest way to state our goal. The attention to detail and the excellent staff that you mention are really the explanation for your good experience. We hope you will return soon and let us try to set an even higher standard.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is a big let down ,substandard pool dirty and looks like it needs renovated ,dining area very plain and needs to be remodeled, to be honest just plain Dirty low quality hotel. The photos do not represent this hotel.The only positive point to this hotel was the staff very friendly ,courteous,respectful.There are many other beautiful hotels to stay at in Mazatlan !!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the travel community. This is one of the most important tools we have to monitor guest satisfaction. We are making significant changes at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan. We have a new General Manager who joined our family less than a week ago and has a very strong background and will be key to bringing the hotel standards back to where they should be.

I do hope you visit us again when you return to Mazatlan, even if its just for the day, to see for yourself the many changes we are in the process of making.

Thank you so much and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel seems by the pictures to be a great deal, but it really is a let down. It seems that half the hotel has timesharing guests, most of them not well educated, chatty people who does not respect there's a hotel where people rest in, while the other floors are hotel rooms. I have been there several times for it is company provided, so I have tried many rooms, all of them noisy, specially first floor as it is close to the A/C. Jacuzzi did not work and had hairs on it, water faucet was dirty and full of scale. The pool was cold and overall the hotel gives the impression of being dirty. Lobby and pool are always packed probably because of the timesharing floors. Besides the hotel is the one that is the farthest from all the touristic zone of Mazatlan and isolated from restaurant areas, bars, or other places you could go to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear LuisRB,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who strive to provide quality service as well as comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. It is disappointing you did not enjoy your overall stay with us and regrettable our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these accordingly as we aim to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The minute we walked into the lobby, we felt let-down. The lobby is shabby and does not live up to the photos on their website. Maybe if they hadn't used white EVERYTHING, it wouldn't look so dirty and shabby!

It was super busy when we were there, and the pool wasn't worth using. It was packed.

One night, we decided to order room service. They didn't speak English, so I ordered in Spanish. I'm not saying it was GOOD Spanish, but I was trying. After an hour: no food. After calling down to room service and the front desk and being transferred and hung up on a few times, we finally went downstairs. The people at the front desk spoke better English, and were really helpful.

When our food finally arrived, they'd gotten our order wrong. They still charged us for the food they messed up, too. Grr! The food was OKAY. The buffet breakfast in the morning is yummy, though! We really liked that.

And our room was pretty nice. It only had one, tiny trash can in the bathroom. Also, a microfridge, but no microwave. The view is nice, but the windows are pretty smudged and cracked. The bed was SUPER COMFY!

The jacuzzi was nice, but after we filled it, there was a weird, orange film on the top of the water. Ew...?

You can't drink the faucet water, and they provide you with two bottles of water. The room also has a lot of nice amenities, like a razor, toothpaste, lots of soaps, linen spray, mouthwash, etc...

Most of the staff is nice, though. We were the only English-speaking Americans, but that was fine. We just felt like we stuck out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro l, Gerente at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Valerie K:

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We are looking at a number of projects and improvements for this year related to our physical plant.and extensive training for our staff. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Crowne Plaza Mazatlan in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality of our hotel.
Our staff will alwyas be willing to be of service.


With kind regards,

Pedro Lizarraga
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Mazatlan

Address: Cerritos No 3110 | Marina Mazatlán, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.