We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Mazatlan

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Mazatlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerritos No 3110 | Marina Mazatlán, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were really leery on how the hotel would be after reading the most recent reviews but we were very pleased with the Crowne Plaza Mazatlan. The front desk staff was not the friendliest but everyone else that worked there were exceptional. My husband and I were on our belated honeymoon. The Honeymoon suite was clean and maintained. The pool was clean and the staff was great. We plan to go there again. Patricia booked all of our excursions for us and was very well organized with no issues at all. The shuttles picked us up on time and we had a great vacation in Mazatlan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time to send a review – especially one that reports that you simply had a “great vacation.” That certainly is the simplest way to state our goal. The attention to detail and the excellent staff that you mention are really the explanation for your good experience. We hope you will return soon and let us try to set an even higher standard.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    40
    17
    22
    16
See reviews for
56
58
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is a big let down ,substandard pool dirty and looks like it needs renovated ,dining area very plain and needs to be remodeled, to be honest just plain Dirty low quality hotel. The photos do not represent this hotel.The only positive point to this hotel was the staff very friendly ,courteous,respectful.There are many other beautiful hotels to stay at in Mazatlan !!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gelsey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the travel community. This is one of the most important tools we have to monitor guest satisfaction. We are making significant changes at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan. We have a new General Manager who joined our family less than a week ago and has a very strong background and will be key to bringing the hotel standards back to where they should be.

I do hope you visit us again when you return to Mazatlan, even if its just for the day, to see for yourself the many changes we are in the process of making.

Thank you so much and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel seems by the pictures to be a great deal, but it really is a let down. It seems that half the hotel has timesharing guests, most of them not well educated, chatty people who does not respect there's a hotel where people rest in, while the other floors are hotel rooms. I have been there several times for it is company provided, so I have tried many rooms, all of them noisy, specially first floor as it is close to the A/C. Jacuzzi did not work and had hairs on it, water faucet was dirty and full of scale. The pool was cold and overall the hotel gives the impression of being dirty. Lobby and pool are always packed probably because of the timesharing floors. Besides the hotel is the one that is the farthest from all the touristic zone of Mazatlan and isolated from restaurant areas, bars, or other places you could go to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear LuisRB,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who strive to provide quality service as well as comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. It is disappointing you did not enjoy your overall stay with us and regrettable our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these accordingly as we aim to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The minute we walked into the lobby, we felt let-down. The lobby is shabby and does not live up to the photos on their website. Maybe if they hadn't used white EVERYTHING, it wouldn't look so dirty and shabby!

It was super busy when we were there, and the pool wasn't worth using. It was packed.

One night, we decided to order room service. They didn't speak English, so I ordered in Spanish. I'm not saying it was GOOD Spanish, but I was trying. After an hour: no food. After calling down to room service and the front desk and being transferred and hung up on a few times, we finally went downstairs. The people at the front desk spoke better English, and were really helpful.

When our food finally arrived, they'd gotten our order wrong. They still charged us for the food they messed up, too. Grr! The food was OKAY. The buffet breakfast in the morning is yummy, though! We really liked that.

And our room was pretty nice. It only had one, tiny trash can in the bathroom. Also, a microfridge, but no microwave. The view is nice, but the windows are pretty smudged and cracked. The bed was SUPER COMFY!

The jacuzzi was nice, but after we filled it, there was a weird, orange film on the top of the water. Ew...?

You can't drink the faucet water, and they provide you with two bottles of water. The room also has a lot of nice amenities, like a razor, toothpaste, lots of soaps, linen spray, mouthwash, etc...

Most of the staff is nice, though. We were the only English-speaking Americans, but that was fine. We just felt like we stuck out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro l, Gerente at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Valerie K:

I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We are looking at a number of projects and improvements for this year related to our physical plant.and extensive training for our staff. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting Crowne Plaza Mazatlan in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality of our hotel.
Our staff will alwyas be willing to be of service.


With kind regards,

Pedro Lizarraga
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The style of this hotel is great - ultra-modern and hot pink. Our room (#706), however, had many problems. The bathroom and shower door didn't close properly, even the front door - directly across from the elevators - didn't close entirely and so we were woken up whenever chatty people were coming or going. Besides that, the toilet didn't flush (was fixed), safe wouldn't lock, no hot water at all on the second day. This seems to be a destination for Mexican guests, there was a wedding & a convention during our stay. The biggest drag for us was that the resort is a 10 minute taxi ride from either of the popular zones in Mazatlan - you're kind of far out there. They have really comfy beds though. The maid was excellent (my roommate was super messy) and the restaurant manager is very dedicated.

Room Tip: Inspect your room thoroughly before getting settled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Sparkles415,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very nice hotel and staff. Great pool! Aojos recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro l, Gerente at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Van_clay:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Mazatlan and for choosing our property for your recent stay.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Pedro Lizarraga
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We just got back from an amazing 2 week stay at the Crowne Plaza Mazatlan. We had booked the trip in early 2011 after finding an all-inclusive deal that we couldn’t pass up. Truth be told we were a bit worried about what we would find when we got there based on some of the reviews; however, we discovered right away that there was absolutely nothing to worry about!

A recent change in management seems to have improved things at the Crowne. The property itself is immaculate, our room was great (beds were comfortable, which is saying something for anywhere in Mexico) and the staff were, in a word, incredible. They work extremely hard to ensure your every need is taken care of and we’d like to give a shout-out to Rossalio, Ernesto, Hugo, Wendy, Jose, Horacio and all of the staff at the Crowne – thank you so much for making our trip extra-special!

The food was always fresh and was served in a timely manner. There was sufficient variety on the menu to keep us satisfied for the entire two weeks of our stay. When we made a special request they were more than happy to create the meal of our choosing from items on the menu. The wait staff brought drinks to us at the pool/beach as well as items from the snack menu. We especially enjoyed the club sandwich.

If you are looking for a resort that has nightly entertainment and multiple pools/restaurants/bars then we would recommend looking somewhere else. However, we would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza if you are looking for a beautiful place to RELAX and hang out by the pool/beach. You are sure to enjoy the baby-powder sand beaches, amazing sunsets, clean and bright facilities, great staff and impeccable service. Mazatlan is a beautiful place and is safe for anyone who uses common sense when travelling…give the Crowne Plaza a try, you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro l, Manager at Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear RepeatTravelers,
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We are more than happy to know that you had an enjoyable experience in our resort.
I appreciatte all of your kind words about our employees and our services. We will continue on improve better ourselves hoping to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Pedro Lizarraga
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Mazatlan

Address: Cerritos No 3110 | Marina Mazatlán, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Mazatlan 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.