We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, welcoming, historic and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olas Altas B&B

Olas Altas B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olas Altas B&B to your Saves list
Olas Altas B&B
Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Granite Bay
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful, welcoming, historic and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

This place is a true gem. If you want to feel truly welcome and well provided for, this is the right place. Bill and Tracy are great hosts and seems to enjoy spending time with their guests whether it's pouring them a beer, just chatting or going out of their way to fulfill a personal request. Tracy is also a masseuse and although I didn't have time to take advantage of that feature, I certainly plan to on our next visit. Impossible to say enough about the breakfast served! Never the same breakfast twice and all were delicious. Although Tracy is the professional chef and it definitely shows, Bill also cooks splendid breakfasts. It was very enjoyable talking with the Bill, Tracy and the other guests over a very satisfying breakfast before starting ones day exploring Mazatlan. Olas Altas is located just steps from the Malecon and a few short blocks from the Plaza Machado. Both the Malecon and the Plaza Machado have good restaurants with the atmosphere at the Plaza Machado being more "old world". Bill completely restored the Olas Altas building and he did a wonderful job of it. From the beautiful sweeping staircase to the hand made chairs, etc. in the kitchen, to the use of complimentary colors on the floors and walls. A beautiful job and a pleasure to experience. Our only slightly negative comment is the street noise on some nights. My husband and I somewhat noise sensitive and did need to use ear plugs to get a good night's sleep on some nights. Hence the rating of 4 for "sleep quality". The mattress was great, the room was large and clean and staying in the "Fish Room" we had double sinks in the bath which we really appreciate. We used our ear plugs and had no problem after that. One last note; don't be afraid of staying on the upper floor because you don't think you want to deal with the stairs. My husband and I have both had knee operations and are no fan of stairs but; Bill has made the raisers on the staircase the perfect height so their is no strain on your knees! What a relief that was! Obviously, we were very happy with our stay and will definitely be returning and highly recommend Olas Altas for your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We planned to stay 5 days and extended it to 10 we had such a good time. Walking is excellent, only steps to a beach and 10 minutes to the heart of the historical/restaurant/market district. Bill is a great host and took us to the local golf course and the best restaurant just around the corner. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast, great. We had a friend with a condo in the hotel zone, but we are very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The rooms were immaculate. The breakfast...excellent! The private pool is nice and the bar is well stocked. Overall an excellent value for the money! Cleaning and maintenance are top notch. Nothing bad to say about this B&B whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville TX.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I was in town for a working vacation if there is such a thing. It turns out that there is. Tracy was very hospitable and his outstanding meals and hospitality I almost forgot I was here for work. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that is staying in Mazatlan. It is located in the peaceful part of Mazatlan close to many restaurants for lunch and dinner and only a short trip to the Gold Zone. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality Tracy I will be coming back for just a vacation next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

If you are looking for a home away from home with fabulous meals, ambiance, privacy, and close to it all you'll find it at Olas Altas. You are with easy walking distance of museums, Stone Island, and the market. The Aquarium is a short 8 peso bus ride as is the Gold (Dorodo) Zone.

If you have a particular breakfast favorite, Tracy will be sure to make it....awesome chef.

We would recommend this to only our dearest friends as Tracy, our host, deserves only the best

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souther Missoure
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Beautiful rooms. Best breakfast in Mazatlin. Not the buffet style most often found.

Tracy the chef, made individual meals for each quest. They were served on the patio near the pool.

Everything was 100%. They even iron the pillow cases. Such service.

They have an open bar poolside that is on the honor system..Just jot down what you drink and Tracy or Bill (owner) add it to your bill upon checkout..

Bill and Tracy know the town and where to go for entertainment. You are only one block from the beach. You can stand on the balcony in certain rooms and watch the sunset..

The worst part was having to come back to reality and go to work...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I discovered this place by accident when I was looking for availability at another place that was already full. After reading all the reviews in Trip Advisor, I decided to give it a go.

The reviews were spot on.

As I described on the title, visiting Mazatlán and staying at this Mansion is definitely like having a great friends' place to stay at. They make you feel extremely welcome from day one. The interaction is absolutely relaxed, there is no "check-in" process nor ridiculous formalisms of any kind.

I first met Tracy who is a warm, gentle and generous man. His cooking is sensational, a real treat to start your day by letting yourself go with his breakfast creations.

Then there is Bill, the owner. He is a delightful man who you can have a friendly conversation with, and feel like he is your friend immediately.
The mansion (this place cannot be called simply a "house") has everything you could possibly need to stay. They have an honour system where whatever you need to consume, if they are not around, all you need to do is write it down and let them know so it can be charged later on. Not many places are like this anymore.

Something you will find also appealing as an overseas tourist, is that they have wisely chosen to embrace the local culture and blend it with theirs. This means that by staying at this place, you are actually staying IN MEXICO and not at yet another resort that you might as well find at home. Ask for recommendations and they will always be local, as this is what they enjoy too.

Bill mentioned that they have been in the business only over a year, which makes his high rating on Trip Advisor even more remarkable.

Olas Altas is well positioned, excellently catered, friendly and warm. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olas Altas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olas Altas B&B

Address: Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a unique, exclusive tropical boutique hotel... featuring all the amenities of a first-class residence just steps away from Mazatlan's famous Olas Altas beach. Featuring spacious suites with lovely high ceilings. Our six comfortable rooms include individual bathrooms, private balconies and a full breakfast, wireless internet, cable TV, refrigerator, laundry service and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Olas Altas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olas Altas B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.