We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olas Altas B&B

Save Saved
You added Olas Altas B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Olas Altas B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The rooms were immaculate. The breakfast...excellent! The private pool is nice and the bar is well stocked. Overall an excellent value for the money! Cleaning and maintenance are top notch. Nothing bad to say about this B&B whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville TX.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I was in town for a working vacation if there is such a thing. It turns out that there is. Tracy was very hospitable and his outstanding meals and hospitality I almost forgot I was here for work. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that is staying in Mazatlan. It is located in the peaceful part of Mazatlan close to many restaurants for lunch and dinner and only a short trip to the Gold Zone. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality Tracy I will be coming back for just a vacation next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

If you are looking for a home away from home with fabulous meals, ambiance, privacy, and close to it all you'll find it at Olas Altas. You are with easy walking distance of museums, Stone Island, and the market. The Aquarium is a short 8 peso bus ride as is the Gold (Dorodo) Zone.

If you have a particular breakfast favorite, Tracy will be sure to make it....awesome chef.

We would recommend this to only our dearest friends as Tracy, our host, deserves only the best

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souther Missoure
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Beautiful rooms. Best breakfast in Mazatlin. Not the buffet style most often found.

Tracy the chef, made individual meals for each quest. They were served on the patio near the pool.

Everything was 100%. They even iron the pillow cases. Such service.

They have an open bar poolside that is on the honor system..Just jot down what you drink and Tracy or Bill (owner) add it to your bill upon checkout..

Bill and Tracy know the town and where to go for entertainment. You are only one block from the beach. You can stand on the balcony in certain rooms and watch the sunset..

The worst part was having to come back to reality and go to work...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I discovered this place by accident when I was looking for availability at another place that was already full. After reading all the reviews in Trip Advisor, I decided to give it a go.

The reviews were spot on.

As I described on the title, visiting Mazatlán and staying at this Mansion is definitely like having a great friends' place to stay at. They make you feel extremely welcome from day one. The interaction is absolutely relaxed, there is no "check-in" process nor ridiculous formalisms of any kind.

I first met Tracy who is a warm, gentle and generous man. His cooking is sensational, a real treat to start your day by letting yourself go with his breakfast creations.

Then there is Bill, the owner. He is a delightful man who you can have a friendly conversation with, and feel like he is your friend immediately.
The mansion (this place cannot be called simply a "house") has everything you could possibly need to stay. They have an honour system where whatever you need to consume, if they are not around, all you need to do is write it down and let them know so it can be charged later on. Not many places are like this anymore.

Something you will find also appealing as an overseas tourist, is that they have wisely chosen to embrace the local culture and blend it with theirs. This means that by staying at this place, you are actually staying IN MEXICO and not at yet another resort that you might as well find at home. Ask for recommendations and they will always be local, as this is what they enjoy too.

Bill mentioned that they have been in the business only over a year, which makes his high rating on Trip Advisor even more remarkable.

Olas Altas is well positioned, excellently catered, friendly and warm. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazatlan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

And all the through the house not a creature was stirring... well, that's not entirely true. Tracy the chef was up trying to concoct a Xmas breakfast for my vegan wife. Her review? "Tracy's breakfasts are like prayer offerings," she says. In fact, our three day getaway -- we drove for 90 seconds to get here! -- was the perfect escape. The Caramel Room had a private terrace that caught the rising sun. Descending the marble spiral staircase each morning helped us feel the history of the place -- built originally by a Spanish immigrant who at 15 years of age forged his way in life by selling blankets by muleback. Lots of history from Bill McGrady, the owner, who went out of his way to make sure nothing got in the way of our holiday. Mazatlan is what I call 'a normal paradise', but the Olas Altas is something special in the midst of it all. But back to the breakfasts -- my wife, the veganalien, hasn't been treated so tastefully in all of Mexico.

  • Liked — Gourmet breakfasts
  • Disliked — Sun vanished from pool early in afternoon
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

The Olas Altas B&B is one of the best in Mazatlan. It is in an old beautifully restored mansions in Old Mazatlan. It is just steps from the beach and close to all the attractions in Old Mazatlan. It is also on the bus line which make it easy to explore all of Mazatlan.
We live in Mazatlan most of the year and just wanted a romantic night away in a quiet place. We could not have picked a better place. It is quiet and private and with a wonderful setting.
Tracy, the inkeeper/chef, prepared a four course meal for us that was world class in both taste and presentation. We enjoyed cocktail and dinner by the beautiful pool with the waterfall providing just the right touch.
Breakfast the next morning was again wonderfully prepared and presented.
If you are looking for a place for romance, look no farther. You have found the perfect spot for a night or a week.

  • Liked — Beautiful location, quiet, and private
  • Disliked — Everything was GREAT
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olas Altas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olas Altas B&B

Address: Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olas Altas B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a unique, exclusive tropical boutique hotel... featuring all the amenities of a first-class residence just steps away from Mazatlan's famous Olas Altas beach. Featuring spacious suites with lovely high ceilings. Our six comfortable rooms include individual bathrooms, private balconies and a full breakfast, wireless internet, cable TV, refrigerator, laundry service and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Olas Altas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olas Altas B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.