We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is now closed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olas Altas B&B

Save Saved
You added Olas Altas B&B to your Saves list
Olas Altas B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olas Altas B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Granite Bay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This B&B is now closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Olas Altas B&B is now closed and is being used as a group home. It was a great place to stay when it was open as a B&B. Neighbors tell me it has been closed for several months. We stayed here and were quite happy with the B&B. It has a nice pool area and lobby and dinning area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunriver, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We loved the house. The location is great, and the layout worked well for us. The house is truly a beautiful home. The down side was no where in the web site did it mention we had to pay for the maid service daily. The maids were lovely ladies, but all in our group were surprised and 200 pesos a day each, seemed high. In all our years of traveling to Mazatlan that was a first. We seemed to have some issues with the hot water being turned off occasionally. The other surprise was when we were asked to do our laundry off site, which web also said was available. With a 7 month old with us laundry was needed and it was allowed when we said no to sending it out. Noah was great, he is a great addition to the staff. As a whole house rental, some in our group felt that Bill needs to appear less on property. Nice guy and extremely helpful, just in the house at strange times, day or night. Personally didn't bother me, but some were turned off.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. All rooms but one have a bath attached. The balcony rooms upstairs were wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had the best vacation staying at the Olas Altas B & B. Bill, the owner, gave us all the information about everything that is great to do in town, he was more than hospitable. Noah cooks the best breakfasts and was also very informative of what is going on in town. The B & B itself is immaculate, nicely decorated and very inviting. Our private patio off our room had an ocean view and our room was very spacious and always cleaned. We had our choice of a few rooms and I can say that each room is fantastic. The A/C worked great and had no issues with keeping the room cool. The pool was very private and the bar is fully stocked. The location of this B & B is fantastic and everything including restaurants and entertainment is within walking distance. 1/2 block to the ocean and beautiful sunsets. If you have never been to Mazatlan or this part of town it is nothing like you have seen before. I can say that we had not one bad or mediocre meal. We also felt very safe here and the local residents were more than freindly. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, second floor rooms have private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because Mazatlan was full, we were looking a hostel or something cheap but we found this gorgeous b&b were you can relax and enjoy the room and pool, the owner is really nice and he helps u at everything he can... The breakfast its the best, really i even remember every litle thing cuz it was delicious!! Really nice!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stylish and comfortable, done in a Mexican style. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, with access to rooftop, balcony, and private patio with a pool. It is located very close to the beach and within a few blocks of Old Town, Mazatlan. If you want to see the town of Mazatlan and the beach, not just the tourist area, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

After thinking that staying at an all-inclusive resort would take all the charm out of our trip to Mazatlan, we decided on Bill's place: The Olas Altas B & B. Based on the website pics alone, we decided that this would probably work out well as we wanted to have more of a chance to mix with the locals and eat our meals at smaller local restaurants vs the all-inclusive hotel meals. From the very first moment of our stay we knew we'd made the right choice. Bill greeted us at the door and showed us into the foyer which was just the start of a gourmet experience to the eye; a beautifully restored and meticulously designed hacienda and pool that said, "Welcome home." After helping us lug our bags to our room, (which happened to be the "Fish Room" based on a unique sea-life motif), Bill joined us for a cold Pacifica beer at poolside and filled us in on the partculars of the B &B and the local area, including available places to eat that evening. He reassured us about the safety of the neighborhood/area and how we should feel good about exploring the area completely, even at night. We took him at his word and freely ambled the markets, Cathedral area, local neighborhoods (which included the Plaza Machado...Don't miss it!), and lots of shopping and great restaurants. The locals are extremely friendly...don't hesitate to say Beunos Dias! Add to this B & Bs proximity to the beach and Malecon which are about 300 feet away and ample (and cheap) taxis/ busses/ pulmonias for getting to the Golden Zone, and this place is a dream. Our week at the Olas Altas B & B with Bill and Tracy was full of laughs, witty banter, comfortable restful nights, great breakfasts (created by Bill or Tracy) which were so satisfying that we rarely ate again until suppertime, and a feeling of genuine camaraderie. My wife, Susan, also had a massage by the masterful Tracy (yes, also the masterful chef) that she is still raving about. Don't consider another place to stay if you want the kind of Mazatlan experience that will have you wanting to do it all over again the moment you get back home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadview, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Olas Altas B&B was exactly what we were looking for in our stay in Mazatlan. We were in the heart of the historic district, 1/2 block from the beach, walking distance to beachfront restaurants, central market, ferry to Stone Island. The remodeled hacienda was very modern and beautifully decorated. We spent alot of time at the swimming pool and outside bar chatting with fellow guests. The hosts Bill and Tracy were exceptionally accomodating and met all our needs. The morning breakfasts were delicious. We usually did not eat till dinner as the breakfasts were a full course meal. The bed and breakfst was very safe. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. We plan to return next year for another week.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olas Altas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olas Altas B&B

Address: Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olas Altas B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a unique, exclusive tropical boutique hotel... featuring all the amenities of a first-class residence just steps away from Mazatlan's famous Olas Altas beach. Featuring spacious suites with lovely high ceilings. Our six comfortable rooms include individual bathrooms, private balconies and a full breakfast, wireless internet, cable TV, refrigerator, laundry service and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Olas Altas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olas Altas B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.