We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation and Best B & B!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olas Altas B&B

Olas Altas B&B
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Olas Altas B&B to your Saves list
Olas Altas B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Denver
1 review
“Best Vacation and Best B & B!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had the best vacation staying at the Olas Altas B & B. Bill, the owner, gave us all the information about everything that is great to do in town, he was more than hospitable. Noah cooks the best breakfasts and was also very informative of what is going on in town. The B & B itself is immaculate, nicely decorated and very inviting. Our private patio off our room had an ocean view and our room was very spacious and always cleaned. We had our choice of a few rooms and I can say that each room is fantastic. The A/C worked great and had no issues with keeping the room cool. The pool was very private and the bar is fully stocked. The location of this B & B is fantastic and everything including restaurants and entertainment is within walking distance. 1/2 block to the ocean and beautiful sunsets. If you have never been to Mazatlan or this part of town it is nothing like you have seen before. I can say that we had not one bad or mediocre meal. We also felt very safe here and the local residents were more than freindly. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, second floor rooms have private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because Mazatlan was full, we were looking a hostel or something cheap but we found this gorgeous b&b were you can relax and enjoy the room and pool, the owner is really nice and he helps u at everything he can... The breakfast its the best, really i even remember every litle thing cuz it was delicious!! Really nice!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stylish and comfortable, done in a Mexican style. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, with access to rooftop, balcony, and private patio with a pool. It is located very close to the beach and within a few blocks of Old Town, Mazatlan. If you want to see the town of Mazatlan and the beach, not just the tourist area, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

After thinking that staying at an all-inclusive resort would take all the charm out of our trip to Mazatlan, we decided on Bill's place: The Olas Altas B & B. Based on the website pics alone, we decided that this would probably work out well as we wanted to have more of a chance to mix with the locals and eat our meals at smaller local restaurants vs the all-inclusive hotel meals. From the very first moment of our stay we knew we'd made the right choice. Bill greeted us at the door and showed us into the foyer which was just the start of a gourmet experience to the eye; a beautifully restored and meticulously designed hacienda and pool that said, "Welcome home." After helping us lug our bags to our room, (which happened to be the "Fish Room" based on a unique sea-life motif), Bill joined us for a cold Pacifica beer at poolside and filled us in on the partculars of the B &B and the local area, including available places to eat that evening. He reassured us about the safety of the neighborhood/area and how we should feel good about exploring the area completely, even at night. We took him at his word and freely ambled the markets, Cathedral area, local neighborhoods (which included the Plaza Machado...Don't miss it!), and lots of shopping and great restaurants. The locals are extremely friendly...don't hesitate to say Beunos Dias! Add to this B & Bs proximity to the beach and Malecon which are about 300 feet away and ample (and cheap) taxis/ busses/ pulmonias for getting to the Golden Zone, and this place is a dream. Our week at the Olas Altas B & B with Bill and Tracy was full of laughs, witty banter, comfortable restful nights, great breakfasts (created by Bill or Tracy) which were so satisfying that we rarely ate again until suppertime, and a feeling of genuine camaraderie. My wife, Susan, also had a massage by the masterful Tracy (yes, also the masterful chef) that she is still raving about. Don't consider another place to stay if you want the kind of Mazatlan experience that will have you wanting to do it all over again the moment you get back home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadview, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Olas Altas B&B was exactly what we were looking for in our stay in Mazatlan. We were in the heart of the historic district, 1/2 block from the beach, walking distance to beachfront restaurants, central market, ferry to Stone Island. The remodeled hacienda was very modern and beautifully decorated. We spent alot of time at the swimming pool and outside bar chatting with fellow guests. The hosts Bill and Tracy were exceptionally accomodating and met all our needs. The morning breakfasts were delicious. We usually did not eat till dinner as the breakfasts were a full course meal. The bed and breakfst was very safe. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. We plan to return next year for another week.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

This place is a true gem. If you want to feel truly welcome and well provided for, this is the right place. Bill and Tracy are great hosts and seems to enjoy spending time with their guests whether it's pouring them a beer, just chatting or going out of their way to fulfill a personal request. Tracy is also a masseuse and although I didn't have time to take advantage of that feature, I certainly plan to on our next visit. Impossible to say enough about the breakfast served! Never the same breakfast twice and all were delicious. Although Tracy is the professional chef and it definitely shows, Bill also cooks splendid breakfasts. It was very enjoyable talking with the Bill, Tracy and the other guests over a very satisfying breakfast before starting ones day exploring Mazatlan. Olas Altas is located just steps from the Malecon and a few short blocks from the Plaza Machado. Both the Malecon and the Plaza Machado have good restaurants with the atmosphere at the Plaza Machado being more "old world". Bill completely restored the Olas Altas building and he did a wonderful job of it. From the beautiful sweeping staircase to the hand made chairs, etc. in the kitchen, to the use of complimentary colors on the floors and walls. A beautiful job and a pleasure to experience. Our only slightly negative comment is the street noise on some nights. My husband and I somewhat noise sensitive and did need to use ear plugs to get a good night's sleep on some nights. Hence the rating of 4 for "sleep quality". The mattress was great, the room was large and clean and staying in the "Fish Room" we had double sinks in the bath which we really appreciate. We used our ear plugs and had no problem after that. One last note; don't be afraid of staying on the upper floor because you don't think you want to deal with the stairs. My husband and I have both had knee operations and are no fan of stairs but; Bill has made the raisers on the staircase the perfect height so their is no strain on your knees! What a relief that was! Obviously, we were very happy with our stay and will definitely be returning and highly recommend Olas Altas for your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We planned to stay 5 days and extended it to 10 we had such a good time. Walking is excellent, only steps to a beach and 10 minutes to the heart of the historical/restaurant/market district. Bill is a great host and took us to the local golf course and the best restaurant just around the corner. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast, great. We had a friend with a condo in the hotel zone, but we are very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olas Altas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olas Altas B&B

Address: Dr Hector Gonzalez Guevara #3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olas Altas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a unique, exclusive tropical boutique hotel... featuring all the amenities of a first-class residence just steps away from Mazatlan's famous Olas Altas beach. Featuring spacious suites with lovely high ceilings. Our six comfortable rooms include individual bathrooms, private balconies and a full breakfast, wireless internet, cable TV, refrigerator, laundry service and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Olas Altas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olas Altas B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.