We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fun vacation, low key and simple old Mexican style.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Villas Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Villas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Another fun vacation, low key and simple old Mexican style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Oct 21 - Nov 4, 2013
Royal Villas Mazatlan

After an 8 hour drive we arrived at Royal Villas in Mazatlan at 2pm. Valet underground parking.
Check in was quick and efficient. We had our usual Tulum 2 bedroom unit, very large and spacious with 4 balconies, 3 small and 1 large. Ocean Front view. Full kitchen minus oven, lots of closet space, 3 bathrooms with tubs.

The resort is smaller but well maintained. Clean but not fancy but units are equipped well and spacious. We had room 801& 803.
We opted to do the All Inclusive which was enjoyable including room service, snacks, water and soda in room. The restaurant on site Hacienda de La Flor has a newer menu, new tablecloths, chairs and uniforms for staff. Lobby are has been painted, reupholstered furniture etc.
A few of the nights they had a buffet which was different, or off menu. We had Spanish flaming coffee a few nights which was fun and entertaining.

The pool and beach remain the same , very clean.
We did some shopping in Mazatlan, walked the malecon which appears cleaner . We also took a Pulmonia to the aquarium which has been done over. We enjoyed that a lot. The rest of your stay was roaming about on foot in the Golden Zone etc., laying in the sun, or on one of our patios. Service was for the most part good although there were a few functions that happened whole there filling the hotel and we did notice an extreme drop in service at those times. We have made note of this and will go earlier next year as usual.

David the manager as usual was very helpful and friendly. Cecilia made sure we had our reservations in order. Raphael and Francisco at the lobby bar always great. Arturo the bellboy so friendly and helpful. Elias the pool waiter was excellent. We also noted almost everyone's English had improved, good for them. We did meet some folks also from Chapala, small world for sure.

So our stay was great other than a few nuisance issues, the maid as before lacks in many areas. The refrigerator frequently not restocked but a quick phone call fixed that. We also had a continual on slaught of tiny ants in kitchen. You can go back to my other reviews for more info on units and what they are like exactly.
We also did two timeshare presentations while in Mazatlan, no more. They have gotten way too aggressive and frankly bordering on mean and scary. We did Marina Grand which was a total scam and they threw us out more or less on threat of an armed guard when we did not buy and we did not receive our full agreed upon peso amount for our time. WE also did La Jolla and they acted like we were on a job interview to get in and afterwards attitude like we deceived them as we did not wish to buy. We found to many discrepancies. One of those too good to be true presentations.

Will be returning to Mazatlan and Royal Villas in Oct 2014. Another fun vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    21
    22
    5
See reviews for
29
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are time share owners at the Royal Villas, have been for the last 15 years, and for the last 2 years we have seen a big slip in service, and this year 2014 was the worst, to begin with when our room was ready went in to check things out and the maid did not clean out the refrigerator for there was someone take home container of food left, that was not cleaned out, and a empty can of beer left on the counter., then beginning of the week tables were not wiped down , finger prints and dried food were left from previous owners and one day during the week the bedroom was not even cleaned or beds made, Dave the manager told us the maid said the bed room door was locked and she could not get in,which was a lie because my wife and I left at the same time, and took the elevator down together, she went shopping and I went to the casino, we came back 2 hours later room was swept out but door was open to bed room and beds were not made., we have up to a couple years ago have had excellent made service, and tipped the maids very well elevators were breaking down almost every day , and for a person that is ready to have a hip replacement taking stars really hurts.

If it was not for the maid or service elevators Im not sure what we would of done , we are not the type to complain much, we just go with the flow of things most of the time but let this be a warning to any of you folks that are part timers or who are thinking about buying in to a time share there BE VERY CAREFUL!, We were also taking to the owners of one of the Penthouses that said the service has really fallen off , and that the maintenance fees seem to be not going anywhere ....we will be thinking about selling our remaining time on our contract and going some where else....it is getting that bad!

Room Tip: Try another Motell
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I brought about 80 people here all inclusive for a wedding. I booked it without ever seeing it before, so a gamble on my part.
I was relatively happy, but they need a lot of help to make it a resort.
Pros: large clean rooms with kitchen. Comfortable beds. Nice pool, nice beach. Nice outdoor restaurant, just beside the pool, perfect for shade. We brought babies and it was very baby and kid friendly. Waiters were very friendly. The lady helping me with the wedding was great. They put on a great wedding reception and let us party. The waiters were GREAT at the wedding. Really good buffet breakfast. No issues with theft. Cleaning ladies were great.

Cons: awful front desk service. Awful bartender... Very rude. Food was slow. You had to order a good 1-2 hours before you were hungry. We paid for all inclusive... But we weren't allowed ANY shrimp on the menu!!!??? It's MAZATLAN for crying out loud... They're famous for shrimp!! That made me angry. I asked our wedding planning lady and she didnt care. You can't order food at the restaurant by the pool during the day, just the snack bar, which is low staffed and over needed. They need to put more attention to the day time pool users - which is a LOT. When we booked this place for our wedding they promised us (the bride and groom) that we would get upgraded for free. We didnt. And when we asked they acted like we were crazy. We just brought them 80 people at slow season... You'd think they would at least do that. That was super lame.

All in all, I think I would maybe stay here again as long as it was within our price range and got really good deal.

Also, hit up the taco stand across the street. It looks dodgy but it's amazing. And cheap. And safe.
End note: Mexico is safe. We love it there!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently stayed her for 10 days and it more than satisfied what we were looking for. The hotel has a great pool area and easy access to the beach. It has a smaller more low key feel instead of some of the larger resorts on the beach. It's conveniently located in the heart of the Golden Zone. The service was great and overall we'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks all inclusive and it was
Great
The staff were excellent
Would definitely stay again
The Royal Villas was in the Golden zone right on the beach
Shopping right outside the front door
Mazatlan had a ton if things to do and we always felt safe

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the staff, they are friendly and helpful.

However the hotel lacks maintenance. Some of the curtains are tearing a part, the painting on slider of the pool is washing off. There are a few cracks on the shower.

The pool area it is very crowded, at a times there is not even room to walk between each chair, and there are not enough umbrellas, you will see people trying to grab one from somebody else.

We stayed in a jr. Suite in the second floor, is big with two double beds and a couch. It has a balcony which is not private, it is a big open space for everybody in that section of the hotel, so remember to lock your room and don't leave stuff out for very long time. But it will work out very good if you are there with a big group with multiple rooms that want to share some space.

It has what it could be a good gym but the schedule hours are horrible on Saturday it will close at noon and all day Sunday.

About the bedroom, there are a few differences between each other in the same category room, in some you will find a coffee pot and a safe but not in all of them, so check for what you need and compare between rooms if you can.

The location is just fine, there are a few restaurants two blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Royal Villas in Oct. 2011. Everything from soup to nuts (as they say) was great! The staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful, what else can you ask for. If my wife and I ever return to Mazatlan, Royal Villas will be the first consideration on the list. From their day trips to Copala and Concordia to riding the Hobie Cat over to the island, it's just what you'd envision your holiday to be. 2 thumbs up! Thank you Royal Villas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.