We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Villas Resort to your Saves list
Royal Villas Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
City of Durango, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A nice hotel. Stayed at the Royal Villas for 3 days, Sunday thru Tuesday. Not to busy this time of year, only 10% occupancy. Felt like we had the hotel and its amenities to ourselves. Nice pool, and the beach was great. Not to many vendors on the weekdays. Great views from our balcony. Valet service was excellent. Didn't get to try the restaurant, although wish we did, I'v heard a lot of good things about it. Anyways, a nice place to stay. I think I'll check other places next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    55
    22
    22
    5
See reviews for
32
43
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port moody, british columbia, canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The resort is located on the beach in the Golden Zone. Hotel lobby was cold because it is open from the street side and the beach side and the wind blows through. We chose a one-bedroom suite which was very large and comfortable with beautiful ocean views and two balconies. The suite had two bathrooms, little living room and kitchenette. The location was great. There were a few great restaurants right across the street. Every morning and once for dinner we ate at 'Mary's' restaurant. The owner and her family worked the restaurant every day and dining was outside. Good food and good prices. No problems getting a taxi or a bus. The hotel is attached to the Malecon, which is the boardwalk leading from the Golden Zone right into Old Mazatlan. Hotel has a little pool and is on a beautiful walking beach.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the east side which is the sunny side of the hotel. Choose a room on a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked an all-inclussive with West Jet late in the season. We basically had the place to ourselves, which is fine. This is more of a time-share resort. No buffets, so we had to eat in the hotel restaurant every day, which was a little inconvenient. Service improved once we started tipping. The beach is fantastic at this end of town. We walked it every day. The pool is great, though not really big. The room was fine. We barely spent any time in it. The only bad expereince was the guys with the kayaks and such. Ceasar is the guy's name who provides services fro hotel guests. We trusted him for a fishing trip that was a disaster. He took us for $250 USD. For that we got a poor guide, lousy gear and no fish. He wouldn't even give us a free parasail the next day as a way to keep us happy. I've dealt with many beach vendors, and he's the worse by far. The guy selling oysters on the beach was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in the golden zone in mazatland on march 4 where we were robbed at gun point. Then on march 20 we had 2 gold rings from our luggage and 2 cameras from our room stolen at the royal villas in mazatland mexico. NO security around at nite or daytime. Maids leave doors open unattended. Security cameras not working. We had a new maid for 2 days when this happened.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Kind of slow this year but thats great.Safe and great food at local restarants..The water is cool but ok,the pool is great..We like the staff there are helpful and friendly..Nice area to walk Cab anywhere is less than $8.00.

Room Tip: Two bedroom facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

receive excellent attention from staff--check-in--check out excellent---rooms clean and service every day---requests for additional service always provided--heated pool and spa excellent-wbeach excellent--
would definately return

Dave Sauberman

Room Tip: mak sure you meet the rooms supervisor---David--he can get anything done for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from another fantastic stay at The Royal Villas, I would have to say this is one of my all time favourite places! The rooms are very large and modern. We really enjoy the kitchenette and utilized it to make many meals with groceries we bought at the market and at Mega. The location is fantastic for both walks on the beach or for catching a bus/pulmonia to Cerritos or El Centro. All our pulmonia drivers commented that this is a very good hotel as well.
We love Francisco and Alberto as waiters around the pool, and Brenda was a great addition as the activities coordinator.
Be sure to talk to the boat operators on the beach and make a trip over to Deer Island, a great escape from the tourist beach. If you have the opportunity to visit the Juarez Market on Sunday you won't be disappointed, a true Mexican experiance and a great place to pick up some groceries. We can hardly wait to get back to visit the Royal Villas and Mazatlan again!

Room Tip: If you are booking a non-suite, the rooms on the front facing the street are slightly larger and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.