We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in the Golden Zone!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Villas Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Villas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Location in the Golden Zone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent two week in Mazatla and enjoyed our stay at the Royal Villas. The location was perfect and our accommdations very nice. We had a junior suite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    20
    22
    5
See reviews for
30
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just returned from another great vacation in Mazatlan. We went for two weeks, all inclusive, to the Royal Villas, our third year in a row at this hotel and booked our package through Westjet. Unfortunately, we ended up booking our trip with a stop in Vancouver both ways instead of direct from Calgary as we have in the past. For Calgary travellers try to avoid this if at all possible as it adds 3-4 hours both ways which makes for a very long travel day. Coming home our flight was delayed out of Vancouver which made the return trip extra long. Mazatlan was unusually cool this year. For those of you planning on travelling there it is always a good idea to bring some warmer clothing. We love the location of this hotel which is right in the heart of the Golden Zone, within easy walking distance to many great restaurants and shops. Rooms are kept very clean and the fridge is stocked daily with beer, sodas and water. No snacks were provided in our room this year as they had been in years past. Not sure why this was but we got the definite sense that the hotel is cutting costs because of the drop in business. Due to unfortunate circumstances, drug cartels, flu outbreaks, the unfortunate incident at another Maz hotel, cruise ships bypassing this beautiful city, tourism is not what it used to be here. We have always felt very safe here though and the security at this hotel is very good. The hotel was not busy during our stay except on weekends. Never a problem finding loungers by the pool and always a table at the restaurants. If you decide to visit this hotel, please keep in mind it is not a huge resort with massive buffets and varied restaurants. We kind of like that because for us it feels more homey and personal. Weekends are the only time they offer a breakfast buffet, which was very good. The rest of the week all dining is a la carte whether in the lobby bar, the Poolside restaurant or the indoor restaurant at the front of the hotel. We have decided that we will not do all inclusive again if we go back next year. We wouldn't recommend all inclusive unless unlimited booze is important to you. We ended up eating out quite a bit. There are so many restaurants in the area that offer great meals for very little money and you can run across the street if you want to purchase some beer, water and sodas to put in your fridge. The major downside at the Royal Villas is that the food is not the best especially after the first week when it gets a bit tiresome. They have a tendency to use copious amounts of what we identified as corn oil when cooking foods for a la carte breakfasts and we found that to be a little off putting and actually quite disgusting after a few days. El Chilitos across the street serves an awesome breakfast for 50 pesos per person. If you go, say hi to Alvarro who has over the last couple of years become a good friend and a great source of information on the area. The staff at this hotel are for the most part outstanding. We certainly were able to relax because they all looked after us very well. Some standout people...Marco at the front entrance...if you need anything he will look after it for you. If he doesn't know he will go out of his way to find out. Thanks Marco and thank you for the nice letter you left under out door. Rafael, Francisco, Calixto and Jesus are just some of the excellent waiters and really there are just too many great servers to mention them all here. We were never left wanting and service was always with a smile. Our housekeeper, Patricia needs to be recognized for doing a splendid job keeping our room spotless and tidy. Rooms are all ocean view (with the exception of a few in the back that no one ever seems to stay in). Every Junior Suite, which is what we had, comes with a mini kitchen including a coffee maker and bar fridge, cutlery, dishes and pots and pans. Run over to Martha's and have them grind you up some wonderful Chiapas French roast coffee beans. We sure enjoyed our cup of coffee on the balcony in the morning watching the ocean waves. We love this coffee so much we brought some home. A couple of suggestions to help make your stay more enjoyable; tipping is not expected, but it sure goes a long way in helping out these people who are hurting due to the slow down in tourism and they really appreciate it. Make sure you bring a sweater or jacket for the cooler mornings and evenings. All in all, we had a great rest which is what we were after. We will probably go back to Royal Villas next year and hope to see you all again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and you will get the morning sun. Every room has a great ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have been to Mazatlan many times and have stayed at a variety of hotels in the Golden Zone(main hotel area). However, we have decided that the Royal Villas has the best location and the best beach. The ocean is usually not at all dangerous as it has a natural breakfront of two islands right in front. The waves are great for body surfing and you can walk out quite far, as it is shallow for a long way. The pool has a water slide and a children's wading pool and many pool lounges. The staff is extremely nice and welcoming and the maids keep the rooms spotless. All room issues are attended to rather quickly. No, it is not a 5* self contained resort, but is is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping areas. It is an easy bus ride into the historic district. This hotel has a wonderful Mexican flavor to it and has visitors from all parts of North America, including Mexicans! Every room has a private entry, bathroom and balcony, and some are connected for families. A great and flexible set up. I would like to see the excellent hotel restaurant promoted a bit more, as it was not as busy as it should have been.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side, as the north side hears music from across the street, often late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just returned from a one week all inclusive in beautiful Mazatlan. We stayed once again at the Royal Villas in the Golden Zone as all inclusive guests. We highly recommend this hotel and we selected it once again for the excellent service, clean rooms and proximity to the El Cid Golf Course. Upon arrival the bell boys were welcoming and the check in quick and easy. We had a junior suite over looking the ocean and the room was large, fresh and clean with stove, fridge, microwave and kitchen supplies. Our service at the pool each day was outstanding! Raphael remembers you and your order and is swift to bring your orders with a smile every time. Francisco is also very friendly and helpful and so too was Chuey. This hotel delivers great service, great food, friendly staff and the pool is small compared to the larger resorts but we liked the smaller hotel, fewer crowds at the ppol and ease in getting a lounge chair. Each day we golfed and the caddies at the nearby golf course are fabulous and really make your golf game fun, I even picked up some golf tips. We enjoyed breakfasts and lunches every day at the hotel and had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant. Our room was cleaned very well each day when we returned from our excursions. The hotel is in easy walking distance to pharmacies, and also Villa Italia Pizza which is wonderful, as well as Ricos Coffee and Panchos another popular shrimp restaurant and convenience stores. Yes, there are time share people on the streets like in all of the Mexican resort cities, but if you are not interested just say no thank you and they leave you alone. We also travelled to the city center by cab for a fabulous shrimp feast and always felt safe. We spent many days walking along the Malecon (boardwalk) enjoying the ocean view. Be smart and show common sense when travelling (anywhere) and don't let the media discourage you from this beautiful city. We very much enjoyed our stay at Royal Villas and thanked the staff on departure telling them we would be back again next year and we will be! The Mexican people are just lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view on the other side from the Gus-Gus restaurant to limit noise. Inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I was at this resort/hotel with my family who were travelling with a larger group for a week. This hotel was reserved through the group leader, but I would have picked it as well and would return next week if I could. Really interesting architecture, great decor, great location, clean linens, wonderful views from both sides of the building, we were on the 4th floor. The negativesa are typical Mexican beachfront issues - grit and pidgeons on the patio, noise from the disco and lounge area (nice singer every night) and the maid needs to change the mop water more often that she does. The kitchenette had good pots/pans for use, and little market across the street had fruits, pan dulces for breakfast, and snacks. Go to Soriano for a big jug of water for US$1.80 at the begining of the week. We didn't drink the tap water, but they say it is filtered. The power was out on that side of the city one morning, and apparently this is a common occurance. I'm glad we weren't on a higher floor. The pool area was first rate and the free web access was reliable and not crowded. The "video games" were cheap (1 peso for 15 minutes play) and I felt safe sending my 11 yr old down to the lobby alone. We did not use the all inclusive package as there were so many great places nearby (Mary's, Gus Gus, Taco Time, Panama). I was really happy at this hotel. My son got sick late one night and they sent a maid to mop up the mess, I really only needed some rags and pine-sol type cleaner and would have done it myself, but she was very pleasant about cleaning up the floor and she did a nice job. We slept almost every night with the window open and there were no bugs in the room. Every morning I went out to the patio to watch the shrimp boats and pelicans. The central aviary can't be beat, it's really pretty.

Room Tip: handicap access rooms have poor view of the building next door. Some rooms have a shared patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I just returned from my 8th stay at the Royal Villas and was happy with my stay yet again. Like others have said if you are looking for a large All Inclusive resort than the Royal Villas may not be the best place for you. It is a smaller hotel (by Mexican resort standards) but the location and staff make it our winner above all other resorts in Mazatlan.

The staff are extremely attentive and friendly. We were so happy to see Jesus back at the hotel and Alberto is my new favorite waiter around the pool. The rooms are spacious and modern. The location is fabulous for walking on the beach or on the street. Our #1 thing about the Royal Villas is its location for watching the sunset, the view is stunning.

Yes the rooms on the north side are noisier because of the music from Gus Gus but we just opening the balcony door and enjoy the atmosphere. You're in Mexico on vacation, who can complain about that!

I would highly recommend the Royal Villas and am counting down the days until my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you are looking for a cookie-cutter resort that can be plopped down in Mexco, Jamacia or Costa Rica, than this is not your place. This is not a resort but a mexician hotel on the ocean. No buffets, entertainment, or selection of restaurants...but beautiful rooms, beautiful views, excellent food and individual attention from the staff because it is so small. This hotel is right in the heart of the golden zone and so it is within walking distance to many places worth seeing. There is one restaurant but the food is amazing. The service was always excellent in the restaurant and by the beach. We ordered huge shrimp cocktails and shrimp with avocado at least twice a day.....the red wine..yum. The food was worth the stay. The pool was heated which was wonderful in the early morning and the late evening. Even during the hot day, the pool was still inviting. The hot tub, on the otherhand, no. Think of the hot tubs people have in their back yard only with green water. This place was not perfect as resorts go, but was perfect as a relaxing vacation. There was never any stress trying to get a spot under a palm overlooking the ocean. There was never any stress ordering food, no reservations needed as it was quite empty. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean and attractive. I guess it all depends on what is important to you. I would take the relaxation and good food over the business of the typical resort; maybe not always, but this trip was an experience of the true feel of Mexico. Terrifico!

Room Tip: I have heard the rooms on the side with the club Gus Gus are very noisy, so stay away from that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;