We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small resort - Spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Villas Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Villas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small resort - Spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Royal Villas Resort is an all inclusive hotel offered by Sunwing Vacations. If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful get-away with a local flavour and Mexican cuisine then you should consider this option.
The room was a one bedroom suite with 2 double beds and full kitchen/dining/living room and 2 baths and 2 balconies (with ocean view). The refrigerator was stocked with 4 beer, pops, juice and water and a basket on the table had 2 bags of nuts, chips, 2 chocolate bars and was replenished as you ate them. The food was good but not necessarily for everyone. If you are not prepared to eat Mexican then I think you would be disappointed. Seafood or upscale beef on the dinner menu was an extra charge. Dining does get a bit limited because there is only one option open for each meal. It was our experience that so long as they understood what you wanted, they were happy to accommodate you. Because the cost of this vacation is so reasonable, you can spend some money and eat as some of the local restaurants.
Drinks were local so if you wanted a premium brand you would also have to pay extra but beer was Corona & another local brand in the bottle. Drinks were in good sized cups, garnished with fruit and umbrellas.
The atmospherer is laid back with a small pool with ample chairs & towels and attentive service by staff. All staff in every capacity from cleaning staff to reception were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. There are many vendors but you just tell them no thank you and they don't pester you.
The hotel offered boogie boards and a catamaran for all inclusive guests. The surf was fun for the boards on several days.
Although there is currently a travel advisory, we felt very safe and spoke to many patrons who own time-shares in the hotel who share that opinion. You could walk the dark sand beach for quite a distance or walk along the sidewalk on the Playa Dorado for quite a few miles. There are many interesting shops and restaurants.
We went down to the market and Cathedral in the old town. We took the tourist bus (air conditioned) for 9 pesos (less than $1.00) and took a pincho (a supercharged golf cart) back for 40 pesos (less than $4.00). Negotiate your price before you get in.
The only real criticism I have is that on our last day we were scheduled for pick-up at 4:15 but were informed that our bracelets would be removed at 11:00 am. Thankfully Bernardo stepped in and ensured that we had food and drinks of our choice for the day otherwise our last day may have been spoiled by this unexpected glitch.
During our stay, there was a conference and a local wedding. Neither impacted our holiday in a negative way. In fact, the breakfast buffet was presented every day but 2 when usually it would only be on Sat & Sun, so we benefitted from them.
Be sure to tip. They give good service regardless but are appreciative of the money.

Room Tip: Room with odd numbers are quieter and on the most desireable side of the hotel for view unless you u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    20
    22
    5
See reviews for
30
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My last business trip to my old home at the Royal Villas, This is bar far one of the nicest properties in Mazatlan. Im my mind, and I have stayed at all the hotels in Mazatlan. The Royal Villas have the best rooms and the Best Beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our vacation would have been excellent except for the fact the hotel decided to rent out the place to a cheerleading competition(600 guests) for a weeked. Except for this little hiccup we pretty much had the place to ourselves for the 3 weeks we stayed. The entire staff from the front desk, to the waiters and cleaning crew were excellent. Would recommend to anyone intrested in staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

From our arrival at Royal Villas Resort to our departure one week later, we were treated like royalty. As "All Inclusive" we were in awe of the quality of food, accommodation and service given to myself, my wife, my son and daughter in law.
Possibly because of the time of year there were few guests in the hotel and our family were the only ones we saw with the AI wrist bands on. This seemed strange.
Our rooms were on the 8th & 9th floor with balconies overlooking the ocean as well as the city. The refrigerators were usually stocked with refreshments such as water, soft drinks, juice and cerveza. Snacks were left on the table also. The maid service was also excellent; the floors were washed each day along with towel exchanges and beds made up.
The breakfast buffet was awesome and a huge variety of foodstuffs were available. The waiters were always right there to assist with anything and often we would see the same waiters working the breakfast buffet, bar/snack bar area as well as the restaurant. The menu in the restaurant was just as awesome; several of the names we were not familiar with but each turned out extremely tasty and very filling. A person should never go hungry at this resort.
The snack bar foods tasted just like those at home and again, you would never go hungry if you ate solely at the snack bar.
The check-in desk persons were extremely helpful and spoke English very well. They were always prompt to assist with exchanging money as well as allowing access to the Safety Deposit Boxes. We found there were no safes in the rooms that we had.
The waiters also spoke English very well and were always nearby to assist. It was so easy to tip because the service was excellent. One individual, Phillipe went the extra mile on our last evening there. We dined in the restaurant and he prepared a spectacular dessert for us – bananas flambé! We have never tasted anything so marvellous before and the preparation was a show in itself.
On the beach, all the water sports activities were coordinated by “Ormondo” at the time of our stay. This man was fantastic; he and his relatives were constantly on the go to ensure all participants were happy. I believe this man to be a splendid drawing card for Royal Villas Resort. Guests who were lounging on the deck chairs facing the beach were able to see the constant professionalism displayed by these men, as well as the beauty of the Sea of Cortes.
On the other side of the hotel, the taxis and their drivers were another marvel to behold. Everyone we met was extremely amiable and informative. And the open air cabs were a real hoot to ride in. Of course many visitors have concerns about crime in this area but crime is often a concern found in our own hometown. Therefore we didn’t let this prevent us from travelling outside the resort.
In summary this week’s stay was FANTASTIC and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay! The rooms were great, pool area was amazing.... even the restaurant inside the hotel was great!

Raphael was an amazing bartender, he always made sure you were taken care of.

The front desk staff didn't always have your best interest in mind. If they say they will take care of something for you make sure you get it in writing or keep asking.

The keys to the rooms didn't always work but, it's no big deal to run down to get another.

Clean, festive, roomy, comfortable, beautiful, amazing vacation spot!

See you again, MAZATLAN!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

PROS:
-quiet, always had a spot by the pool
-beach was clean, vendors did not harass
-waiters were friendly
-beds were comfy
-rooms were spacious
-David, very helpful in selecting our suite
-kiddie pool was a huge hit with our 2 year old
-beer in all inclusive plan was good; corona, pacifico & negro modelo in bottles, unlike some All In's that serve only Tecate on tap.
-mango margaritas :-)
-caramel crepes with nuts

CONS:
-buyer beware for All Inclusive, food choice was limited. We were the only All Inclusive family there other than one couple from Sask.
-brekkie buffet Sat/Sun only
-seafood was an upgrade charge and half the dinner menu was seafood
-would've liked to see more Mexican cuisine on the pool/lunch menu, no burritos or enchiladas etc...
-was not happy with the "fancy" restaurant, meals were very disappointing, we ended up ordering from the pool menu all week, chicken tacos were good
-beware Saturday night...loud, live music until 2am

TIP: if you book the junior suite on-line ask when you arrive to upgrade to a one bedroom suite, you'll get a discount on the upgrade

All Inclusive was disappointing, BUT, if you were not AI eating at the resort would be very expensive. Example: a margarita by the pool will cost you $6.50!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We arrived to record cold temps for this area, but the staff was great. They had heaters out at breakfast, and once you got out in the sun you were fine.

Check in was great. They did take a copy of my credit card on check in, even though we were all inclusive. I was not crazy about this, and zero'd out the amount. They give it back to you at the end of your stay. I was very happy with having the individual room safe monitored by the front desk staff. We all think that the room safes are secure, and they are not - this made me feel much more comfortable using the safe.

The food was fabulous, and the service was top notch.

The rooms were nice - the beds were comfortable, and the patios were nice. Nothing fabulous, but not bad. One thing to mention is that although they have coffee makers, and filters in the rooms - there is no coffee. We just ran x street to the market & picked some up. No big deal.

The beach was fabulous, and you could walk in either direction forever.

I really liked the small resort. Wasn't sure what to expect, but we got to know almost everyone there, and had a really great time. Not a place to go if you are looking for night life, because there is none. Most nights our table was the only one occupied in the bar area, as most people appeared to be on their time share. Which by the way - we were not bothered by the time share ppl in the hotel even once.

I had a great time at the Royal Villas, and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.