We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mayan Palace Mazatlan to your Saves list
Mayan Palace Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Mazatlan. First in Isla de Piedra, second in this resort and the last in Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay.
This is a very nice resort and great beach, but the restaurant prices are, as expected, very high and they charge and overcharge for internet. This is offset by the 7 peso, $.50, bus fares to the zona dorada, where almost every restaurant has free WiFi and the Mega has low food prices to take back to condo.
Enjoyable stay and we'd go back again.

Room Tip: We exchanged in via RCI at 30 days before for a RCI-Points discount to 6k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear BethanyStewart :
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable. We constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg,manitoba
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the Mayan Palace (Regency) from Jan. 25th to Feb. 8th. We have been to Puerto Vallarta and Nuevo but love the beach in Mazatlan as you can walk for miles. The staff in Mazatlan are excellent and always have a smile for everyone. The only complaint we have is that the WiFi is very expensive (1900 pesos for 2 wks. which is about $80). You can get free wifi in most small cafes and cheaper hotels so not sure why Mayan Palace charges guests. I don't know of any other 5 star hotel that charges for this service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Wayne B H :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have stayed at other Mayan Group properties in Cancun, Nuevo Vallarta and Acapulco, but this was our first visit to Mazatlan. The resort is very small compared to other Mayan properties, but this made it easier to get around and also easier to meet other guests. The staff are helpful and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and clean. The resort is outside the main tourist area, but it is easy to take public transportation anywhere you want to go: the new mall, grocery stores, the Malecon or the Centro Historico. The beach is wide and clean and tranquil.
The gym is very small but adequate for the number of people using it. There is no spa but an excellent massage therapist on site.
The food at the resort is very good, but better prices and more variety can be had by heaidng into the Centro Historico or the Golden Zone, or just going across the street or down the street to some of the smaller taquerias or restaurants frequented by Mexicans and visitors alike.
My biggest complaint is the lack of Wifi in the rooms as a standard feature: you pay 90 dollars a week for unlimited access, which seems excessive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Barbara S :
We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are so glad you enjoyed our food options and our staff’s service. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have been staying at the Mayan Palace Mazatlan for two weeks. We truly are wishing that we need not leave this place because it has been very relaxing with the option of keeping busy. There are so many choices for activities. The Super Bowl was a BLAST. The staff here know how to keep you involved. We did pool aerobics classes with Marcella and Marco. Not only was it a work out but it was fun and they always stayed behind after the class and took their time to talk to us.The activities staff really try to make your vacation complete. It becomes a home away from home. The cooking class was amazing! I will be definitely trying the recipes at home. The pool- side waiter, Brandon is very friendly and energetic. The towel girl every day knew how many towels we needed to check out without being told. The activities team and staff at the Mayan Palace really deserve an HUGE APPLAUSE!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear mbjjh :
Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed the activities, accommodations and facilities. We will gladly share your comments with our staff as well. We are certain Marcela, Brandon and marco will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent 7 wonderful days here in January and every day was in the eighties.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and ours faced the pool and the ocean. There are many different room options but we chose one with a master bed room (King sized bed) with one other small bedroom. The couch in the living room also folded out into a bed. The kitchen had a frig, stove, microwave, coffee pot, toaster, dishes, silverware, etc.

The pool has a heated and unheated side. Waiters serve food and drinks and towels are provided. Pool activities (games, aerobics) start in the late morning and run all afternoon

The beach has an excellent sandy beach and all the thatched roof cabanas are for hotel guests.

The food and drink prices are good for the U.S. but high for Mexico. There are many fine Restaurants in Mazatlan that are cheaper and better - you need to visit some of those on your visit.

There is a bar, game room, gift shop, small store, etc.

Room Tip: Book a room with a pool and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear DesertRobin :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our facilities, the accommodations 'décor and the pools.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channahon, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our resent stay at Mayan Palace Mazatlan was wonderful. The grounds and property are well-maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sitting at the pool enjoying the warm weather and sunshine. The activities staff provided fun and even a pool aerobics class. Marcella and Marco were pleasant and engaging. We thoroughly enjoyed our week. Also, the News Eve Party was great and the best part was we did not have to leave the property!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Peggy L :
Thank you so much for choosing Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence. We are certain Marcela and Marco will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed the breathtaking landscape

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were greeted by warm weather, warm smiles, and warm waters. If that sounds enjoyable to you, then the Mayan Palace is the place to call home while staying in Mazatlan.

This property is part of the Mayan Palace properties. www.mayanpalace.com

Upon arrival, we received a complimentary upgrade from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite in the sea garden hotel. I was not terribly impressed with the decor at the sea garden, which was accompanied by a slightly musty smell. However our view of the ocean from our fifth floor accommodation was relaxing for myself and my girlfriend. Also, we understand that the Sea Garden Hotel will be receiving a makeover fairly soon, so any complaints that I have about their decor will soon be addressed.

Our last night at the property, we moved to a seventh floor studio with a city view. We enjoyed the decor and the large balcony doors, which allowed the warm breeze to fill the room.

We dined in the restaurant on premises, which we both found to be above average service and cuisine. We both enjoyed the chipotle shrimp dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear AmericanBonVivant :
We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and facilities. It is always nice to learn our guests found everything they needed while staying with us.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.


We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Mazatlan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the pearl of the Pacific. This charming spot welcomes you with beautiful beaches and the warm hospitality of its attentive staff. Relax under a palapa on the beach, explore old Mazatlan or indulge your passion for deep-sea fishing. The brand new Mayan Palace Mazatlan spreads out over the ten acre beachfront location featuring spacious one and two bedroom suites with all necessary amenities and full hotel service: Acqua Restaurant, La Ola Beach Bar and Sunset snack-bar. Room service 7:00 to 22:00. Two heated outdoor pools overlooking the Pacific Ocean and one indoor pool for Winter season convenience. Fitness Center, Sun Mini-Super Market on-site, Boutique, Gift shop and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.