We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in a tranquil seaside town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Mazatlan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Mazatlan
Save Saved
You added Mayan Palace Mazatlan to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Sabalo Cerritos | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
San Diego, California
1 review
“A nice place to stay in a tranquil seaside town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were greeted by warm weather, warm smiles, and warm waters. If that sounds enjoyable to you, then the Mayan Palace is the place to call home while staying in Mazatlan.

This property is part of the Mayan Palace properties. www.mayanpalace.com

Upon arrival, we received a complimentary upgrade from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite in the sea garden hotel. I was not terribly impressed with the decor at the sea garden, which was accompanied by a slightly musty smell. However our view of the ocean from our fifth floor accommodation was relaxing for myself and my girlfriend. Also, we understand that the Sea Garden Hotel will be receiving a makeover fairly soon, so any complaints that I have about their decor will soon be addressed.

Our last night at the property, we moved to a seventh floor studio with a city view. We enjoyed the decor and the large balcony doors, which allowed the warm breeze to fill the room.

We dined in the restaurant on premises, which we both found to be above average service and cuisine. We both enjoyed the chipotle shrimp dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear AmericanBonVivant :
We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and facilities. It is always nice to learn our guests found everything they needed while staying with us.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.


We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

First of all, I don't understand why we have to wait until 5 p.m. to have the room if the room has to be checked out at 10 a.m. 7 hours of cleaning and preparing for a hotel is not acceptable.
Secondly, as the receiption hall is reconstructing, all the check-in and check-out services are moved to the hall of one building. We were waiting there for our room for one and half hour without any seat or water or air-conditioner. If the manager knows that the reception capacity would decrease because of that, stop reveiving bookings.
The room werent served for two days until we called them.
Please change the situation ASAP.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had another great stay at the resort. Most years i stay in the Sea Garden and it is my favorite. I visit in the slow time of year in Sept so this year they let me stay 4 weeks in the Mayan Palace at no extra cost to try it out and account of upgrades going on at the Sea garden. Great ocean view, really good food at the restaurant.The gym is being up graded this year so i will be excited to see what new equipment we get when i visit in 2014. What makes the Mayan Palace / Sea garden a top pick for me other than the nice condos and gorgeous property is all the hard working staff running the place. You can have nice buildings and grounds but what makes or breaks a place for me is the people running the place. This place has the most friendly staff around !!Sea Garden and Mayan Palace in Mazatlan is my top pick!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This resort was too far from town and the service was not great. We were promised an ocean view, but was facing the street and construction. The rooms were also located far back from the ocean which was not expected. The bellman's were great! The great thing about Mazatlan is the city and this was not a great location to be able to really enjoy it. I would not stay here again and it makes me re-think my time share purchase.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear sl37997 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace and for your kind words about our bell boys’ staff.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standards and our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas to continue working hard to achieve excellence.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Warmest regards,
Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are members in Cancun, We have used all Mayan resorts the is the smallest of all the resorts. but the service is great food on 90 % of the time was perfect but it was corrected or no charge to us, the price is a bit higher for some of the service WI FI is one of them, I think they should make it free. But that is the bean counters. Only one restaurant now but there is now updates to fix that very soon. I say by Oct. when we return it will offer more options.

Room Tip: Put in a request for room of your choice when you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Garden Mazatlan for Christmas Week 2012... we booked through RCI and were checked into the "new building" which was absolutely gorgeous, on the same property as the old Sea Garden Hotel... We loved the food, drinks and service... the only downside was having to take a taxi everywhere you wanted to go... however the sunsets from our room were amazing and made up for the inconvenience of the location.

Room Tip: If you can get booked into the "new hotel" at the Sea Garden you'll love it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I were shocked at how expensive this hotel was, considering what you get in return. The hotel is out of the way of everything, adding to your trip expenses, requiring you to take a taxi virtually anywhere. The ONE restaurant is decent for an overpriced breakfast. Otherwise, be ready for tacky theme nights and buffet city. Servers were rude; it seemed inconvenient for them to refill our coffee and assumed decaf would suffice if they could get away with scheming you. The rooms look like tasteless apartments with the strangest art and color scheme. Our suite was consistently dirty with small bugs on the sinks, sand on the couches and floor, missing lightbulbs throughout, and only one air conditioner for the two-room suite. Beware that the sales pitch begins when you check in. It is obligatory to stop by the concierge who is really a timeshare saleswoman before you can even see your room. Advice: cut them to the quick, stating you are not interested and will not be interested in hearing about the timeshare options. They will have a bad attitude about this, too. The gym reeks of plastic. There is no beach because the waves are so big, you cannot swim and the water level is up to the shore. What shore there is, is covered in garbage. The pool doesn't "open" until 9AM, so you are out of luck if you want a towel (which you had to return by 7PM the night before). The concierge knows nothing about life outside of the hotel. No info on bike rentals, restaurants, entertainment. They will very obviously try to steer you towards their tours. I asked them to make a reservation at another restaurant I found on my own, and they tried to convince me to go elsewhere (I'm sure it was in their own self-interest). The dining experiences we had outside of the hotel were fabulous! Mazatlan is great, but stay elsewhere closer to the city and the malecon!

Room Tip: Make sure you book on the ocean side. Otherwise, you will be facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Patricia867:

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance as well as to maintain our facilities in the best conditions for our guests to enjoy. This will be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Mayan Palace Mazatlán Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Mazatlan

Address: Av Sabalo Cerritos | Zona Hotelera Norte, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Mazatlan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the pearl of the Pacific. This charming spot welcomes you with beautiful beaches and the warm hospitality of its attentive staff. Relax under a palapa on the beach, explore old Mazatlan or indulge your passion for deep-sea fishing. The brand new Mayan Palace Mazatlan spreads out over the ten acre beachfront location featuring spacious one and two bedroom suites with all necessary amenities and full hotel service: Acqua Restaurant, La Ola Beach Bar and Sunset snack-bar. Room service 7:00 to 22:00. Two heated outdoor pools overlooking the Pacific Ocean and one indoor pool for Winter season convenience. Fitness Center, Sun Mini-Super Market on-site, Boutique, Gift shop and many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Mazatlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.