We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort

Save Saved
You added Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Isla 1 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan 00000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Albany, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

our experience was not great at all. The place wasnt stocked with anything. they wanted us to wash the glasses before we left.. but with what? we had no soap. there were 8 of us and we had the 3 bedroom and I believe 3 1/2 bath. there was no sheets or extra pillows for the hide-a-bed. wifi only works outside where you will be eaten alive by mosquitoes. little ants took over as soon as we set our food down. no papertowels or wash clothes. oh yeah huge @$$ cockroaches too. gross. saw them at the restaurant and the room. my husband and i ordered chicken and shrimp fajitas and the guy came back with chicken strips for me and some other kind of shrimp dish for my husband! he didnt speak a lick of English. and if they make a mistake like that they cant cross it off their little notepad is what they said. so you get whatever they write down (mother in-law speaks fluent Spanish and a few choice words with them). they come in before you leave and count everything in front you silverware, towels, etc.. customer service here sucks.
before coming here we spent at week at Torres Mazatlan. and WOW what a difference. wish we could have stayed at TM the whole time.
I will say the decor in the room was nice..
a lot of the units were not done being built kind of an eye sore..
there was a shooting right out on the main road the day we left as well. No Bueno..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaMazatlan, Gerente at Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Receive warm greetings from all the team at Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort.

As General Manager I always like to hear the opinion of our customers as they are the basis of our continuous improvement in all areas of our hotel.

I carefully read your review and it seems very strange that your opinion is a lot different from your husband's at check out. We were honored with an excellent written hotel review about your one night stay in our hotel.

However, I make the following comments based on your review:.

- We never force any guest to do things they do not want. It is up to the guest if they want to leave the kitchen utensils dirty and it is properly informed at the villa.
- Our guests have at their disposal any sheet, blanket or kitchen utensil that they could need anytime, but it is necessary to communicate to reception to get it. You never communicated.
- You also never communicated to reception to report the WiFi service was not working. Upon your check out, I personally checked the WiFi service and I must say that our WiFi service completely covers the unit in which you stayed . I recommend you to check your device as it may have a configuration error.
- In our hotel, no one has never ever complained about cockroaches, but yes there are other insects like crickets or geckos that are characteristic of the region and harmless to health. But we are strengthening the fumigation service.
- The restaurant's room service should have been denied and informed to reception at that time. You did not informed us anything. However, the restaurant manager is already aware of this and we apologize.
- Due to the excellent equipment in our luxury villas which you ratify in your review and because of bad experiences that we have had in the past, it is necessary to check the inventory upon departure.
- We have no control over the events that happen outside our hotel.

We really hope to see you again and please give us the opportunity to fullfill any wish that you may have on your next vacation at Mazatlan.

Sincerely,


Sergio Barrenechea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vernal, ut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed for one week at Isla Mazatlan and had a very good experience overall. There are only 25 villas that are usable and each one is very nice. The kitchen is fairly well equipped but if you plan to use the kitchen take your own dish rag or scrubbie pad, and dish soap or dishwasher soap because none of these are provided. The unit is very clean and the staff are very helpful and quick to solve any problems that may arise. There is no internet in the villa but wi-fi is available in the office or pool area and at the restaurant. Make sure you get the password from the office before logging on. I agree with alacranmike that the pool has a lot to be desired. While we were there, we may have seen a half-dozen people even use the pool. The restaurant is fun on Wed, Fri and Sat nights but closes at 5 pm on Sun, Tues and Thurs and is closed all day Monday. There are restaurants close by that are fair if you don't want to go to town to eat. Overall, the resort is nice with just a few issues. I do recommend this location as long as you want quiet!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort was such a fantastic place to stay. The people working there were clearly doing anything they could to help us enjoy our stay. The pool was amazing with the perfectly groomed landscaping and water fall. The workers were so nice, and played great music near the pool. The Villa was very clean and well equipped, we stayed in and had a luxury diinner prepared by us, 3 times. The market near by was very economical and clean. Nearby restaraunt Henrys was a blast and served amazing food and very good drinks. We had 7 staying in the 3 bedroom Villa and it could not have been more perfect. Also the washing machine & dryer were convenient to have. No dirty clothes to pack home!
Again, these people were 100% concerned with our comfort and enjoyment!!! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I really didnt know what to expect (Mexico LOL) However we had a blast!!!!! The best guides for fishing, They have a shuttle service to the beach, The Marina is beautiful, They have their own Golf Course. The units were Huge 3 Bedrooms with 5 baths !!!! And the price was incredible !!!!! The Staff didnt speak perfect English However they really made us feel at Home. We are going back.........Soon

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed here the first two weeks of April 08. I stayed as a guest of another couple at this resort. The resort was so bad I don’t know where to start.
Positives: Units were very good. We stayed in a three-bedroom unit with five bathrooms. The unit had good showers with excellent pressure and plenty of hot water. The interior cleaning staff was friendly and competent. It would appear that these units were built as houses. Each unit has a large flat screen TV with all the basic Sky channels. About half are in Spanish only. The small restaurant near the “beach” was ok but be sure you check your bill as we were overcharged.
Negatives: The pool is small and filthy. Guests had written their names in the grease on the surrounding coping. The pool is concrete with a rubber liner with so much water or air under it you feel like you were walking on a giant balloon. The maximum depth of the entire pool is 3 ½ feet. My wife wore a brand new white t-shirt into the pool and came out with black grease on it. I liked the temperature of the pool; you probably won’t, as it was in the low 90s. To hot for you, head over to the hot tub. As long as you don’t cut your foot on the broken drain you’ll find it cooler.
The beach is a manmade sandy section of about 500 square feet over looking the marina. Don’t worry about being over crowded; I never saw a living soul on it. This is right next to the restaurant and children’s play area. The children’s play area consists of what was called a jungle gym in my youth. Located just 6 feet from a steep embankment leading down to the water. I wouldn’t be overly concerned about your children drowning; they will probably be killed on the sharp rocks long before they hit the water.
Isla Mazatlan is a small manmade island that appears to be owned by three or four separate entities, and in some sections two of these companies own every other unit. This leads to a lively social life discussing which company is worse and the owners retelling of their trips to the US and Canadian consulates, lawyers, tourist bureaus etc. Two of the companies seem to want to renegotiate their contract offering little or nothing in return. What was promised in writing no longer exists and managements solution is “SUE US” I probably don’t have to say this but run don’t walk away from any offer of buying a timeshare etc. here.
I have spent over six months over the years staying in various hotels, timeshares and rentals in Mexico and never had a serious complaint with any of them. The best advice I can offer is to do your homework. Check out the forums, as a lot of sites will not accept negative reviews of hotels they receive advertising dollars from. The main reason I am writing this is review is that it is the only review good or bad. There are many negative comments in the forums, why no reviews?
See forums at http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g150792-i257-k730744-o10-Isla_Mazatlan_real_estate_pitch-Mazatlan_Pacific_Coast.html
You might want to also check; Isla Mazatlan Grand, Villas Coral, Golf and Yacht Club, and Playa Maria Beach Resort.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaMazatlan, General Manager at Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello alacranmike,

Receive warm greetings from all Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort staff.
It has been 6 years since your last visit. During these years we have made ​​significant changes in terms of customer care, services, facilities and staff training. Today, we are recognized as a "Luxury" category hotel and distinctions such as "Gold Crown Resort" award have been given to us by the vacation exchange company RCI. We are really looking forward to have you back so you can see the great changes we have made since you come and be able to enjoy a pleasant vacation with your family.

Kind Regards,

Sergio Barrenechea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort

Address: Paseo de la Isla 1 | Marina Mazatlan, Mazatlan 00000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel located in Mazatlan, Mexico offering spectacular 3 bedroom Mediterranean style Villas for up to 8 pax and a private marina with marine services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Mazatlan Golden Hotel Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.