We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #15 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a great stay at this resort. The resort was super clean everywhere. Beautiful ground. Staff have a high level of energy and very quick to respond to our needs. The food was good with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, no need to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    634
    599
    275
    109
    89
See reviews for
587
666
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sudbury
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

we had a wonderful two week vacation. we loved it. the food is incredible...best food ever. the service was beyond...very very friendly staff. the nightly entertainment was good...they tried they do their very best. our granddaughter loved the kids club and the girls were fantastic. rooms were ready for us at 11:00 in the morning which was nice. we paid 3600 for two weeks for hubby, me and my granddaughter. thought it was a great deal for all that we got. went to town a couple of times and it is very cool. good restaurant turning right on the beach just a little walk up. all in all had a very good time. venders were great..polite no problem. for the money it is a great value.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for ocean view as every room is already ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just returned back from the Riu Emerald Bay. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place at all! We have traveled each year for the past 10 years, and this was definitely the best resort we have stayed at! Super fast check in. No need to wait in line while check in is done. Everything was ready and we were in our room in less then15 minutes after arrival. The food was awesome, and this is coming from a picky eater. You name it, they had it! All the rooms were new, clean and modern and each had an ocean view room. It was great to leave the balcony door open all night and have the sounds of the waves easing you off to sleep. The doors to the rooms are located down a small hallway. This eliminated the noise from other people going down the hallway. Safes were included for free with your room! The elevators were quick, and never had to wait any longer then a few minutes. Looking for entertainment? No cheesy dance shows here! The nightly shows were top notch! The dancers put in a lot of time into them and it showed. Even a Mamma Mia broadway show! There was always chairs at the beach and the pool. No need to wake up before the sun to reserve them. I have to applaud the kids club. They had so much for the kids to do each day, and a great little pool area in that section. Everything is close together. It was nice to not have to take a small hike to the beach. Don't believe anything bad about this place! Its well worth the value. Already planning another trip back next year!

Room Tip: Don't pay for ocean front room. All rooms have this view! Bring your own bottle of ketchup!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this resort from January 24th-31st and it was great. Very family friendly. The food was really good and the staff were awesome. I hated their beer but they made a variety of other drinks, so who really cares. The service was awesome and the energy was always great. The resort was very clean and the staff were very quick at serving us. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just returned from a one week holiday here courtesy of Sunwing/Signature vacation. The flight down was early , but went off without a hitch, We were promptly taken by bus to the hotel, and had the smoothest check in I have ever experienced. The whole process took less than 15 minutes. Being greeted with a live band, tequila shots, welcome drink and snacks really made that 15 minutes fly by. Our rooms were ready and our luggage was taken to them within a few minutes.
Our honeymoon suite was bright, clean and had the most spectacular views from both balconies. We spent the first day checking out the grounds and the hotel. This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever been to, even comparing to previous Riu's I have stayed in, this one is at the top.
The elevators had minimal wait times, a few minutes at most. Everyone was friendly, helpful and smiling ( staff and visitors alike).
PROS:
- this hotel is so clean I was more than impressed.
- the grounds are well maintained, and we NEVER had to search for sunchairs to lounge in , there was always some available no matter what time of the day.
- the swim up bar was fun and there were always lots of interesting people to chat with.
- The hotel takes CDN $$ and our dollar was treated at par with the USD
- the food is excellent and even though the three a la cartes are only one a la carte, the food is quite good at them all, The buffet has something for everyone, the roast turkey was so tender and succulent, I could have eaten it all day. The fresh juices in the morning, the made to order omelettes,, etc etc.
- a wide variety of drinks available
- fun entertainment to do ( stretching classes, aerobics, to name a few)
- whenever we ordered from the front desk ( pillows / blankets) they were delivered promptly
- the kids club looked great and we would not hesitate to bring our children next time, and utilize the service it provides
- the beach was long, beautiful and warm
- the view from the balcony allowed everyone to witness stunning sunsets every evening
- the pools were warm
- the locals were not as bad as some reviews had written. we found them to be friendly and eager to try to communicate

CONS:
- there are some wasps at the swim up bar area ( not hundreds), but they defiantly are there.
- no shampoo provided
- the alcohol at times seemed watered down ( not badly - but still)
- the mattress covers were hot and would wrinkle easily
- the wifi was difficult to get sometimes and only 90 minutes a day.

TIPS:
- take pesos for tips
- take binoculars
- use the outdoor open taxis - they are fun and cheap
- take advantage of the tours available
- take large refillable cups
- take large coffee mug for your morning coffee-tea as there are no makers in the room, you can go fill up at buffet and bring back to room

We went on the whale watching tour that was available and it was worth every minute!!!!
Mr. Lionso's Playa Bruja and it was a magical evening. The food, the music, the drinks the dancing, the live band, the conga line..... the coconut shrimp... I highly recommend this place!!!

We are already planning our return for next winter. This hotel has very few things wrong with it, and the positives are too many to mention. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view, so do not pay for upgrade. The honeymoon suite has two balconies and is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at the Riu for a week and it was good. Not a 5 star, but a solid 4 star, in my opinion. Rooms were nice, but I found it to be loud. It sounded like the people upstairs were moving furniture around constantly, because it was a loud scraping on the tile floor. I asked to be moved and they were very accommodating. In the new room, we had the same sound issues, so apparently it was not the people above us. We spent a little more time in our room because we had a 4 month old who needed to nap. At night it was dead quiet, which was great. People were very loud and got up at 6 am around us (weren't they on vacation? haha), but the baby slept good, so that was more important. There is liquor in the room. We didn't bother after the first few days because it was watered down (as was all the liquor, the bartenders even told us that). We were there to relax and not drink and party, which was a good thing. I am not much of a drinker and after a few drinks did not even have a buzz. The people who got drunk consumed large amounts of alcohol. Food was really good, as was the service. The staff there was fabulous. What few issues we had were dealt with very quickly. The beach was fantastic, as were the pools. We did not have any elevator issues (we were on the 11th floor) but it was not very busy when we went. Not sure if we ever waited for longer than a minute. A few words of advice...if you have long curly hair, bring lots of conditioner. The water was very hard. If you have a baby, they are very accommodating, but everyone will freely touch him. We didn't have a problem with that, but if you don't like your baby constantly being touched or held without asking, you may have an issue. Leave lots of tip money to have your room cleaned. We left some, but some days all that was done was the bed was made, the towels were not even replaced or folded. Take the bus to go anywhere; they come frequently and very cheap. We spent the whole day out with an infant in a stroller and never had a problem. Mr. Lionso's down the beach is definitely worth the walk. I wish we would have heeded the advice of other reviews and avoided the "a-la-cartes". We went to Old Mazatlan which was amazing, wish we avoided the Golden Zone. It is a bunch of trinket shops that were all the same. You could pretty much get any of it on the beach for cheaper, which is what we ended up doing. There were really great things to buy at Mr. Lionso's also. Most important, bring pesos, don't use American money. We were told to use American so that is what we brought, but everyone there has their own exchange rate and we ended up being burnt a few times. When we pulled out pesos it was much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoney creek, on
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

WOW - RIU MAZATLAN, MEXICO WAS AMAZING! Certainly MORE than what we expected and paid for! My husband and our two friends visited this awesome resort from Jan 21-28, 2014 and everything was spectacular! There was plenty of food choices for the buffet's and the restaurants, and the service was fantastic - always! Don't believe the reviews on this site that diss the locals staying at the resort on the weekends (we didn't even notice anyone different from us), and those people who write that this resort is less than a five star. (Definitely NOT)! The airport was only about 40 minutes away and we did 3 trips during our stay which were amazing! We did the zipline and tequila tour (with Sunwing), the DAY trip to see the sites and shops in Mazatlan, and lastly my husband did a deep sea fishing trip and caught a 130 pld/8 foot Marlin! It was truly AWESOME! We also ate off the resort twice for dinner at Mr. Lionso's just a short walk down the beach, and we ate at "Munchkins" in the 'Golden Zone'. GREAT food and prices for both! Most importantly - the weather was to die for! It was sunny and 35 degrees everyday! You can bring CAD and just exchange it at the front desk. We tipped in pesos AND small USD. We're already planning a trip back next year! See you then RIU, Mazatlan! Cheers

Room Tip: ALL rooms are oceanview - don't pay the extra price. We were on the 5th floor and it was FAB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 m2 / 16.15 sq. yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.