We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were a little skeptical about Mazatlan in general with some of the past incidents, but we felt safer than at any other trip to anywhere in Mexico. Beautiful beach, pools and hotel. Would return in a heartbeat. The only down fall is the al a cartes which are buffet style, but still very good food and the buffet was the best we've had. Walk down the beach and get a coffee from Looney Bean Coffee shop in front of the RV park. Great coffee and people. All in all a great trip.

Room Tip: Just get one high enough to avoid late music noise from Disco. All have ocean view so don't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    738
    339
    133
    112
See reviews for
716
802
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
QUALICUM BEACH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my second trip to the Riu Emerald Bay this year....once in April, 2013 for two weeks and have just returned November, 2013 for one week. Will be going back next April, 2014 for another two glorious weeks. My favorite place to holiday as I have come to know a a lot of the staff by name and every attempt is made to insure my holiday is perfect. Stayed on the 16th floor last April and contrary to some reviews have never had an overly long wait for the elevator when the hotel is full...perhaps 3 - 4 minutes (there are 3 elevators). Most days its about 1 - 2 minutes. The view is breathtaking and of course EVERY room has a view as all rooms face the ocean. The Hotel itself is spotless and cleaned constantly....the washrooms on the Lower Level where the restaurants are and accessable to beach goers have a bathroom attendant on duty and cleaned after each use...so impressive ! The rooms are just as clean and maintained daily.......the mini-bar is restocked every second day with a variety of soda, bottled water and beer. A self-use bottle bar is located above with scotch, vodka, gin, rum and rye....also kept full. The double sinked bathrooms glisten with cleanliness....and smell lovely.

My one advice to those travelers looking for total peace and quiet.........the local Mexicans get a 50% discount on the weekends and while there is lots of room to move (I just go to the beach) if the noise becomes a problem.....be aware that the children scream, the parents seem to disregard the noise and the kids basically run wild in every pool. This I should note is my biggest complaint. I would recommend that the hotel makes ONE entirely ADULT POOL with no children allowed for those adults who really don't want to listen to screams, yelling and over the top splashing and crowding while you are trying to enjoy the pools. There is a children's pool but more for toddlers as it is only a foot or so deep. One pool surrounds the swim up bar and that is noisy with music and power drinkers...........! The other pools are "a free for all" but lovely (sans noisy kids in one pool please). After the weekend is over.....ALL pools are exceptionally beautiful and quiet. The Mexicans are a lovely friend people and try their best to communicate...quite funny sometimes but we seem to manage.

All in all this is a fabulous hotel and I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone. The beach sand is spotless and kept free of garbage constantly. The staff are friendly, do anything they can to make your stay as perfect as they can with a smile ! There are no beach umbrellas on the beach but their are strategically placed palm tree's on the beach to provide maximum shade for those who require it. The pool waiters come around with a drink cart all the time so you don't have to be constantly going to the bar for a drink. Friendly, quick service with a smile !
Enjoy your stay at the RIU........this is a remarkable hotel resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carseland, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a nice resort but I wouldn't return in the off-season. We had no poolside service for the first 4 days and only 2 of the al a carte restaurants were open (I've travelled several times to all-inclusives in November before and have never had "reduced" service like this. Definitely the cleanest resort I've ever been to and we had no trouble with waiting for elevators (probably because it wasn't very busy). A nice big bathroom with two sinks, but they need more plug-ins.They serve very poor quality or diluted alcohol and I've never seen so many wasps like there was around the outdoor bars! On the weekend the resort is very busy with locals but there was still lots of room at the pools. Liked the built-in seating and lounges in the pool. If you've never been to Mazatlan before, I definitely recommend the city tour - it was very interesting.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view - we stayed on the 6th floor and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

First things first, take a cab from the airport-- skip the buses and the pushy time share sales agents. Once you arrive after the 45 minute trek, you'll find the hotel is big and beautiful, with a white sand beach that is wide, long, and speckled with beach recliners.The hotel is kept incredibly clean, and the rooms are great. The staff will do anything to make sure you're happy, including restocking the mini bars at odd times. There is only 1 restaurant option for breakfast and lunch, but at night there are 4 restaurant options. Remember to book your dinners at the front desk-- Asian, Italian, Mexican, and standard! The breakfast is phenomenal, but get there before 9:00am for an enjoyable time. There are 5 pools (including adult only and kid), which are picturesque and well kept. The ice is okay to have at this resort, but stay away from the tap water (even the staff drinks bottled water)! Keep in mind that there are wasps around the bars, and that on Saturdays & Sundays the hotel lets locals visit for 50% off-- so you'll want to go on day trips with Sunwing to avoid the commotion and mess. Sunwing offers trips that include ATVing, horseback riding, water sports, and boating (I did them all!). Make sure to book a $10.00 photoshoot, take a open air cab down to the Golden Zone, and walk down to Bruja Playa Mr. Lionsio for dinner. Also, there is great knickknack shopping down the beach past Bruja Playa Mr. Lionsio, beside the coffee shop 'Loonie Bean'. All in all, a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We returned yesterday from a week. If you like to "beach" this is one of the best spots for it, beautiful no coral good waves and lots of clean sand. The resort was lovely and the pools were good. It is obviously hurting as they allow locals to stay Friday through Monday and they overrun the hotel and the food selection is obviously slanted toward this large ethnic group. Monday night through Thursday the hotel was like a normal Riu destination, the food was better and the atmosphere was better as well. The beds, pillows and lack of control of kids in the pools are area's which will have to get better before we spend our money there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Before we went I read all the reviews, now I know what they are saying. The hotel itself is OK, it is clean and the rooms are nice but....I would never stay in another resort with 21 floors. The elevators are a pain. I like the 2, 3 or 4 storey Mexican resorts. The food is only OK, the al la carte restaurants are terrible, not worth going to. The buffet is good but we sure got tired of eating at the buffet. This resort caters to the local Mexican clients, they arrive by the bus load and take over the whole hotel. I love Mexican people but they are not great to vacation with. they are loud, they have many children (with no rules) and they leave their messes everywhere.
We couldn't even use the swim up bar because the children were in there peeing (the water looked like a cesspool) people smoke in the swim up bar and butts are floating in it. Not pleasant. at all. The staff are wonderful. We made the best of the situation, had a good time but we would never stay in this hotel again. It could have been so much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything was great here. Wonderful design of new resort - all rooms have an ocean view! The beach is great, clear sandy and smooth. The food is deeeelicious at the buffets and the a la carte dining is superb! The hotel staff is friendly and make every effort to please the guests. The place is whistle clean and maintenance is high level. If you're planning a trip to Mazatlan... head for the RIU Emeral Bay. You'll be glad you did. ENJOY!

Room Tip: No difficulty here. The hotel is designed in such a way as to have every room have an ocean view. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.