We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Warned!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Grand Sale!
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Be Warned!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Before we went I read all the reviews, now I know what they are saying. The hotel itself is OK, it is clean and the rooms are nice but....I would never stay in another resort with 21 floors. The elevators are a pain. I like the 2, 3 or 4 storey Mexican resorts. The food is only OK, the al la carte restaurants are terrible, not worth going to. The buffet is good but we sure got tired of eating at the buffet. This resort caters to the local Mexican clients, they arrive by the bus load and take over the whole hotel. I love Mexican people but they are not great to vacation with. they are loud, they have many children (with no rules) and they leave their messes everywhere.
We couldn't even use the swim up bar because the children were in there peeing (the water looked like a cesspool) people smoke in the swim up bar and butts are floating in it. Not pleasant. at all. The staff are wonderful. We made the best of the situation, had a good time but we would never stay in this hotel again. It could have been so much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    746
    344
    136
    114
See reviews for
727
812
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything was great here. Wonderful design of new resort - all rooms have an ocean view! The beach is great, clear sandy and smooth. The food is deeeelicious at the buffets and the a la carte dining is superb! The hotel staff is friendly and make every effort to please the guests. The place is whistle clean and maintenance is high level. If you're planning a trip to Mazatlan... head for the RIU Emeral Bay. You'll be glad you did. ENJOY!

Room Tip: No difficulty here. The hotel is designed in such a way as to have every room have an ocean view. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We took our construction company to the Riu last November and overall it was great! We were an assortment of families with little kids, families with big kids, couples, and singles and it seemed there was something for everyone.
Reading some of the other reviews, I wonder where they were, because I thought the food was GREAT! Probably the best all-inclusive buffets I've experience thus far. My kids LOVED the kids' shows at night and the adult shows I stuck around for were pretty good too. The pools were warm enough to keep the kidlets busy for hours. Once in a while the bars got a little backlogged, but c'est la vie. They were doing their best. The beach was fantastic for my young kids. Perfect for boogie boarding and you could walk for miles and miles.
Resort drawbacks, if I'm being picky, were:
I prefer the lowrise-type resorts, and I found the Riu to be a little monstrous. Our crew took up the entire 15th floor, which while the view was amazing, you couldn't easily run up and down the stairs. Lazy, I know. Also, from the beach, it was quite a hike to the closest bathroom, which led to the odd emergency with a two-year old and four year-old making a run for it.
It was my first time to Mazatlan and I absolutely loved it! What an amazing place. We walked around the city for hours. The resort is a little far from downtown, but it was a relatively inexpensive cab ride.
We're actually going back this November with family. Definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: Gorgeous view from the 15th floor, but I'm aiming for ground level this time with the little kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was at there at the end of January 2013, it was my second time at the resort and my boyfriend's first. It was actually his first time being at an all inclusive. Where to start, the food is similar everyday but very tasty and you always find something new as there is so much variety. We both love Mexican tacos and food so we were in luck as everyday there was a taco bar. He is allergic to shell fish so we had to watch for that but still could find plenty. The water is a bit too rough for me, I enjoyed the water when we went on an excursion to Stone Island but at the resort it is a bit rough. The restaurants down the beach are amazing and a must stop. Would I go a third time... in a heart beat.

Room Tip: They are all ocean view but ask for a higher room. Also take your own mugs/ glasses with screw on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of us stayed the the Riu Emerald Bay back in April. The pro's were: Well kept grounds, nice pool with an awesome swim up bar. The beach was also impressive. The con's would be: Food was average at best. The A la carte's were disappointing and the main buffet was always the same. We stayed in a Jr.sutie oceanview and it wasn't any major upgrade from the regular Deluxe room. Overall it was decent, but I think there are better options out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This ia a followup of my review of the Riu Mazatlan,I am amazed what the reasons are that peole write a bad review of this and other Hotel/resorts,for example there isn't enough wifi time if 90 min isn't long enough buy more or stay home,That there wasn't any bottled water,for the Riu in Mazatlan simply a lie there was plenty of it and you could ask for more without any problems,There where 2 pools and one lady complained she had to get out of the one pool to get to the swim-up bar,Really that is a negative??? get real,One guy complained because a family member who live's in Mazatlan had to pay 50 bucks for the day for all the food and drinks,Where in the world can you go and have breakfast lunch and dinner and drink all day for 50 bucks,give your head a shake buddy.
These are some of the ridiculous complains that you read in the reviews please people disregard those reviews,these are people that cannot be pleased no matter what.

Room Tip: if you want a excelent view take the higer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have many friends and family living in Mazatlán. While staying at the RIU I invite a family member to come visit me at the hotel. We were told that the family member, any visitor, needed to pay a $50.00 US day use fee and they could not stay on the premises past 5. How wrong is that. Will never stay here again.
No food service at the pool either. Buffet dinners are the norm here. They were OK but not for the price. Can not and will not ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.