We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The RIU Emerald Bay Resort is the "gem" of Mazatlan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The RIU Emerald Bay Resort is the "gem" of Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everything was great here. Wonderful design of new resort - all rooms have an ocean view! The beach is great, clear sandy and smooth. The food is deeeelicious at the buffets and the a la carte dining is superb! The hotel staff is friendly and make every effort to please the guests. The place is whistle clean and maintenance is high level. If you're planning a trip to Mazatlan... head for the RIU Emeral Bay. You'll be glad you did. ENJOY!

Room Tip: No difficulty here. The hotel is designed in such a way as to have every room have an ocean view. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    720
    327
    130
    105
See reviews for
687
778
42
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We took our construction company to the Riu last November and overall it was great! We were an assortment of families with little kids, families with big kids, couples, and singles and it seemed there was something for everyone.
Reading some of the other reviews, I wonder where they were, because I thought the food was GREAT! Probably the best all-inclusive buffets I've experience thus far. My kids LOVED the kids' shows at night and the adult shows I stuck around for were pretty good too. The pools were warm enough to keep the kidlets busy for hours. Once in a while the bars got a little backlogged, but c'est la vie. They were doing their best. The beach was fantastic for my young kids. Perfect for boogie boarding and you could walk for miles and miles.
Resort drawbacks, if I'm being picky, were:
I prefer the lowrise-type resorts, and I found the Riu to be a little monstrous. Our crew took up the entire 15th floor, which while the view was amazing, you couldn't easily run up and down the stairs. Lazy, I know. Also, from the beach, it was quite a hike to the closest bathroom, which led to the odd emergency with a two-year old and four year-old making a run for it.
It was my first time to Mazatlan and I absolutely loved it! What an amazing place. We walked around the city for hours. The resort is a little far from downtown, but it was a relatively inexpensive cab ride.
We're actually going back this November with family. Definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: Gorgeous view from the 15th floor, but I'm aiming for ground level this time with the little kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was at there at the end of January 2013, it was my second time at the resort and my boyfriend's first. It was actually his first time being at an all inclusive. Where to start, the food is similar everyday but very tasty and you always find something new as there is so much variety. We both love Mexican tacos and food so we were in luck as everyday there was a taco bar. He is allergic to shell fish so we had to watch for that but still could find plenty. The water is a bit too rough for me, I enjoyed the water when we went on an excursion to Stone Island but at the resort it is a bit rough. The restaurants down the beach are amazing and a must stop. Would I go a third time... in a heart beat.

Room Tip: They are all ocean view but ask for a higher room. Also take your own mugs/ glasses with screw on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of us stayed the the Riu Emerald Bay back in April. The pro's were: Well kept grounds, nice pool with an awesome swim up bar. The beach was also impressive. The con's would be: Food was average at best. The A la carte's were disappointing and the main buffet was always the same. We stayed in a Jr.sutie oceanview and it wasn't any major upgrade from the regular Deluxe room. Overall it was decent, but I think there are better options out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This ia a followup of my review of the Riu Mazatlan,I am amazed what the reasons are that peole write a bad review of this and other Hotel/resorts,for example there isn't enough wifi time if 90 min isn't long enough buy more or stay home,That there wasn't any bottled water,for the Riu in Mazatlan simply a lie there was plenty of it and you could ask for more without any problems,There where 2 pools and one lady complained she had to get out of the one pool to get to the swim-up bar,Really that is a negative??? get real,One guy complained because a family member who live's in Mazatlan had to pay 50 bucks for the day for all the food and drinks,Where in the world can you go and have breakfast lunch and dinner and drink all day for 50 bucks,give your head a shake buddy.
These are some of the ridiculous complains that you read in the reviews please people disregard those reviews,these are people that cannot be pleased no matter what.

Room Tip: if you want a excelent view take the higer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have many friends and family living in Mazatlán. While staying at the RIU I invite a family member to come visit me at the hotel. We were told that the family member, any visitor, needed to pay a $50.00 US day use fee and they could not stay on the premises past 5. How wrong is that. Will never stay here again.
No food service at the pool either. Buffet dinners are the norm here. They were OK but not for the price. Can not and will not ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The resort is beautiful. The service from all the staff was amazing. The buffet doesn't have much variety, and the food is alright. Apparently the a la carte restaurants are good but we were never able to get a reservation. The pools are beautiful and aren't over-crowded with children/drunkards. Swim up bar was amazing. The beach wasn't as picturesque as I had imagined. The water wasn't very clear, and it was very windy the entire time we were there so the waves were too intense to do much in the water. Walking alongside the beach was nice, but you get accosted by locals trying to sell things. The resort itself was perfect - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.