We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top3 all-time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #12 of 74 hotels in Mazatlan
Orillia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Top3 all-time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

On April 30, 2013 we checked in for 14 nights. Your bracelets are attached to your wrist on the bus before you even step off. We've been on at least 22 all-inclusive trips and this place; we decided ranks 3rd. Only 35 minutes from the airport, we arrived and both simultaneously gawked at the sparkling, clean, modern freshness of the lobby, with all of its artwork and statues and pristine floors and total lack of dust and dirt of any kind. Bank machine and currency exchange. U.S. dollars aren't welcome due to drug cartels and money laundering. For every 1000 pesos I withdrew from the bank machine, including service charges showed up as $88.00 on my ING bank statement when I got home We arrived at 1130 am and were told check in was at 4 pm, however when we went to the front desk to ask a question we were told our room was ready anyways, so up we went. Unit # 1212. Up the elevator (under surveilance) to the 12th. floor and the view stepping out of the elevator was spectacular; an entire panoramic view of the mountains and city to the right, water park straight to the front and Mazatlan bay to the left. Again, the hallway was sparkling. Into the room and our first impression was the cleanliness and modern look to the room. Spacious bathroom with double sinks, over sized shower. Large closet with safe, iron, tons of hangers, with a top shelf. The bed was a king size with proved to be quite comfortable, 2 bedside tables with drawers and wall lamps. Dresser with 6 drawers. Best of the best air conditioning. GREAT shower, with no hot waters issues. The both of us unpacked 100% and found a spot for everything (and you should see the crap she brings!) There is also a fridge STOCKED to the brim including 2 ice trays. Above that is a marble counter top equipped with ice bucket, glasses, and 4 different liquor bottles attached to the wall ready for pouring. Flat screen t.v. (approx. 32") about 40 channels, 20% English. Hope you like Friends, Big Bang Theory, Two and a Half men. Then there is the balcony.......WOW!!!!!!! What a view. Breathtaking ocean view (no such thing as non ocean view so DON'T request it cuz you'll pay extra for it.....so we've heard lol.) The sprawling Pacific in front, mountains to the left, rock formations to the right. The whole pool area right below you. The balcony was in tip top condition with tiled floor, stucco walls, white railing, towel racks to hang your wet things, table with 2 chairs, and quite spacious. So, fully unpacked, we venture down the elevator and out to the pool area. 3 pools with a ridiculous amount of lounge chairs (with the hotel at full capacity you can still get a chair by noon without a problem) The smallest pool has a swim up bar also with tables and sitting areas built right into the pool. The other 2 pools welcome children and are quite large. The beach is 30 seconds away where you can walk to and burn the crap out of your feet or engage in a lengthy conversation with one of many vendors who always have a "special price for you amigo, today only". DON'T BUY THE SILVER. I'm experienced enough not too, but I know of a few friends who did.........sad........ Told ya! If you enjoy the tarnished look and lots of attractive bumps on you neck which itch with delight, then go ahead and buy the silver! There are ropes in the sand dividing you from the vendors which they will not cross. The ocean is sandy, no need for water shoes, and the undertow is a little on the strong side. So be cautious please. There were about 3 seperate rescues that i heard about. One jellyfish attack which was sad. A girl (14 ish) looked like someone took a leather strap to her back and upper left leg. They took her to the hospital. After that, at any given time there were 30 people in the ocean and no more attacks. If you turn right at the beach, you can walk for 10 minutes to a rocky hill and you'll see lots of beautiful shells sweep up the shore with every wave, complete with craps and the occasional lobster. There, you will find a restaurant who serves lobster. We read on TRIP that it had the best lobster, but speaking to a few people, it couldn't hold a candle to "ROY'S". When you walk to the end of the driveway from the hotel, turn left, walk 10 minutes to a strip mall which has more stores......you know.....the kinds that ALL sell the same things lol. You'll find a few restaurants as well. ROY'S gave us a meal never to be forgotton. What you'll get is 2.....................yes----TWO lobsters cut in half and 4 shrimp, veg, fries, garlic butter. garlic bread 199 pesos!!! ($18 Can) There are 5 varieties of shrimp....we chose coconut shrimp. When butterflied and breaded, each was the size of the palm of your hand HUGE! Served with a wooden bowl of sweet mango sauce. When a 250 lb. man says he's full, then you know it's a lot of food. Also at Roy's, you can phone Canada or USA on the house!! Next door was a sports bar called "The Last Drop". Free wifi and a number of flat screens. Alex, the server is very attentive and friendly and practically runs the whole show. Say hi to him and tell him Sean and Colleen (Toronto Maple Leaf fans) sent you. Yes, we were at the bar for all 7 games of the Leafs/Bruins series and were present for the jaw dropping game 7 third period collapse of the Leafs. Sure he'll remember THAT! The bar was so full, he ran out of beer and we took turns going over to ROY'S to buy 6 beers and bring em back to THE LAST DROP. He also sells lobster, 2 lobsters NO shrimp included 179 pesos. Mammoth burgers which I couldn't finish, Very good chicken wings. If you order mild, they're hot. If you order hot, they're hotter! So ladies, ask for barbeque wings lmao! beers are $2 but if you get there before 5 pm they're $1.50. We would get there for happy hour and order 6 or 8 beers in an ice bucket. On the way back to the hotel, it's dark and the evening breeze is welcoming. On the way home, we feed the stray dogs along the boulevard the rest of the burger i cannot eat. Tails wagging, cuz the burger had cheese and bacon on it I suppose. If you don't feel like walking, taxis are always ready and waiting to serve you for $2-5. The next morning you may want to venture out to the "Golden Zone". At the end of the driveway, you can wait for a bus named "Cerritos" which you should confirm with the driver "Golden Zone?" 8 pesos (70 cents) or you can take a taxi 120 pesos ($11) In the golden zone you will find everything. Suvenirs, clothes, food, bars, authentic and as well as McD, B King, D.Q., etc. The Mega store, which sells groceries and dept. store items as well. You can walk down the street or ride in any vehicle with a beer no problem. Coming home, look for Cerritos again and ask the driver..."Riu"? You can buy an excursion for $25-30 from the hotel which will be a guided tour of the golden zone as well as "Old town". There are many excursions you can buy as well for well under $100 (surprisingly) We did Stone Island for $52 which included 6 seperate excursions on the island that you get to choose any 2, lunch and alcohol inc. I heard of people going on an atv trip for $75. If you run out of smokes or simply want a Kit Kat, sunscreen or some chips, you can turn right at the end of the driveway, walk 10 minutes and you'll find a brand new gas station/variety store. All half price compared to hotel prices. You'll see lots of gecko's and a few lizards on the way to the gas station, or the strip mall. Now I know you want to know about the food. BUFFET: huge huge variety. Keep in mind it gets repetitive, it's the patrons who change....NOT the food. breakfast had it all.....pancakes, maple syrup, honey, eggs all styles, bacon, donuts, many fresh healthy juices, smoked salmon, cream cheese, peanut butter jam, all of the authentic items too, enchiladas, beans, fruits, hash browns (almost as good as McD'S), bagels, breads, 2 cuppicino/ espresso machines. Lunch.....pan fried fish, pastas, wings, burgers, nachos, burritos, ice cream, pizza (yuk), spicy salsa's, Dinner.....ribs, roasted chicken, turkey, roasted pork, fish pan fried also crispy breaded (yum), calamari, pastas. All meals had massive cold tables which infinite salad items....all in all i'm sure I'm missing 1000 items. Specialty restaurants......Italian buffet 5/10. Asian buffet 6/10. Mexican ala carte 5/10. main buffet 8/10. snack bar (served between lunch and dinner) 6/10. Outside restaurants at the strip mall and golden zone 9/10. Mazatlan is safe, enjoyable, exciting, breathtaking, hot and cheap. The resort is full of friendly staff who are always dressed in clean pressed uniforms and smiles. Free wifi in the lobby which I suggest you take your smart phone to the front desk first time signing in as you'll need to be walked through the procedure. Signal is choppy but sufficient. What else????? Oh ya. From May to August alot of locals stay there as a family getaway. I love this because of the entertainment value. When you see 3 amigo's arm in arm, and the guy in the middle has each of his eyes focused on two seperate clouds and his legs drag while the friend on either side of him are smiling and assisting him to his room....if he has no friends presently on either side of him, then amusing is the fashion in which he walks and his balance is quite unlike yours or mine.These are what we call Mexicans on vacation. This entertainment is included in the price. All in all, great spot, worth the money and would return there if the world wasn't so big!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    591
    268
    105
    85
See reviews for
560
658
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Pros:

-friendly staff, great with kids
-clean!!! Restaurants, facilities, pools, gardens, rooms, bathrooms
-Rooms were quiet
-wide assortment of food available
-free Wifi in lobby
-kids pool area with slides for 1-9 year olds mostly
-quiet rooms, everyone with an ocean view (don't need to pay for an upgrade)
-balcony area handy for drying wet clothes
-pool side drink service at pools without the bar
-other than your room, everything else you need at the hotel is within close proximity on ground levels


Cons:

-not on a purified water system like some of the other Mexican resort towns- BIG negative vs. e.g.: Riu Santa Fe in Los Cabos (hello traveller's diarrhea!)
-two beds= two double pushed together, so someone is sleeping in the center joint. Makes it a bit awkward. Nice if it were two queen beds, separated. We might as well have gotten one King bed for our family of four, so no one would have woken up wedged in the crack! LOL!
-Beady-eyed black birds squawking all day long poolside & swooping at you and your food near pool areas and open air restaurant areas. They have nets to try to keep them out of the table areas, but they get in anyhow.
-hand soap provided smelled SO bad- bring a bar
-elevators. Ugh. Two sets of three, serving 22 floors. Line ups, long waits, angry lines of people, crowded & full at peak times, doors slam shut on people (don't have a safety recoil feature if you try to put your arm in to stop the door from closing). Can't take the stairs when you're on the 17th floor and have a stroller! Advice: ask for a floor you can walk up to and use the stairs instead of the elevator!!
-wifi is only for 90 mins a day per device, beginning from the time you log on, regardless of whether you spend 90 mins on it, or 5. Bit of a pain if you are used to checking your email several times a day. Now you can't.
-Resort is far from the airport and city, so $$ to travel by taxi there often.



Got a great deal on this all-inclusive trip with Sunwing, but I wouldn't go back because of the lack of purified water at the resort. I've never gotten sick in Puerta Vallarta or Los Cabos, but BOY did we get sick here, even when being careful to use bottled water for everything. We still got a tan, but would rather tan somewhere I won't spend so much time in the bathroom next time. Also a local guest told me that Sinaloa is the second most dangerous province in all of Mexico.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor that you can easily walk up to using the stairs to avoid the elevator nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews are wrong!

Travelled, two 50 year old moms and one 21 year old daughter.

I've never gone on a vacation and felt so safe, comfortable and relaxed. I've read Mazatlan is dangerous, there are drugs etc, but its the total opposite. Everyone is so friendly and its extremely safe to leave the resort. We left multiple times and went into town by the local bus. Lots of locals speak fluent English. They aren't pushy for you to purchase, you say no and they will leave you alone!

Now to categorize the trip...

LOBBY/CHECK IN:
- Easy as ever, the Sunwing rep already has you checked in, you get off the bus, they have drinks ready and wrist bands are already put on you while on the bus and then you go grab your keys which are all set out for the guests and straight to the room! No waiting, no hassle. VERY ORGANIZED.

ROOMS:
- Very clean, and every room has an ocean view, we were on the 3rd floor so never took the elevator but still had a beautiful view of the ocean. Staff were friendly and the one day we asked for extra face cloths, the front desk called 10 minutes after to make sure we received them. They are on top of things! Rooms cleaned daily, like any other resort.
- AC works well!
- we slept with the door wide open some nights, no bugs and loved to hear the ocean roaring!

MAIN BUFFET:
- Always something to eat. They have a general menu of what will be served every night posted out front. The food was amazing. My daughter is extremely gluten intolerant and she didn't have a single issue. She loved the food. I can understand if you go for two weeks, you would get sick of eating in the same place every night but the food is great. We enjoyed every meal.
- Favourite waiter Daniel was always greeting us/other guests with a smile. He remembered our names and the drinks we always ordered at dinner and lunch. He was very positive and alway making sure our needs were met!
- Another awesome waiter which we never could say his first name but his last name was Santos, he was the best in the breakfast buffet! He was quick an efficient to find us a table and have our coffees poured!
The staff in the main buffet were great!

A la carte (Asian):
- awesome food, good variety, it is a buffet setting
- staff was slow, although the food was great, the main buffet staff make dinner more enjoyable

A la carte (Italian):
- awesome food as well, and a buffet setting (probably the best a la carte there)

Never went to the Mexican one as we loved the normal buffet so much we skipped our reservation!

BARS:
- Pool bar always had good service and good drinks!
- We went to the Lobby bar every night at 5pm for our afternoon martini's made by Jorge or Felipe. Always friendly, would customize drinks to how ever you wanted them. Awesome bartenders! Jorge even made a special martini for mothers day!

SPORTS BARS: The lady working in the mornings was great, she remembered our order from the second day (we went everyday after breakfast for our specialty coffees) They have sandwiches, muffins, pizza and nachos in there 24 hours.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

GO TO TOWN!
- bus cost 8 pesos (80 cents) each way. Takes you to the Gold Zone, which is main shopping (just ask your rep) and he'll give you a map.

- We ate at Los Ponchos, right on the beach and it was beautiful! Amazing fresh shrimp and great drinks. Beautiful view. Highly recommended if your interested in eating off the resort. Not expensive either.

- SILVER, every says go to The Real McCoy, we went and purchased some nice jewellery, rings earrings. Very nice there. DONT GO TO THE BIG SOUVENIR SHOP BESIDE (right side), they are jerks.

- Souvenirs, go to Michael Gallery, they have price tags and don't make up prices on the spot, and they have beautiful dishes. The lady even gave us 30% off, and we didn't even try to barter with her.

EXCURSIONS:
- Deer Island was beautiful! 1 hour ride on the catamaran and then banana boat rides, kayaking, snorkelling and lunch! then a 30 mins catamaran ride back to the Marina. 52$, but it was worth it. Free drinks serves instantly on the boat (always water bottles available too!) Everything was very well organized!

BEACH:
- The RIU is the only big resort on the beach, you can walk for ever!
- the beach was never packed, we always found chairs
- BEACH BAR SERVICE!! awesome
- life guards on duty
- HOLY BEAUTIFUL. Nicest beach ever, huge, hot sand around noon though. Super clean. Fun waves for jumping in, First couple days, the under tow was strong but later in the week it was fun and we were enjoying the ocean! Spent more time on the beach then the pool.
- horseback riding on the beach 10$ a person, if you barter you could probably get it cheaper!

POOLS:
-Big and clean! (other then the swim up bar pool....but we stuck to the other pools)

MARKETS:
- Looney Bean coffee shop
- Must try the Coconuts from the huts across the street. Fresh! 20-30 pesos

LOCALS:
- the hotel was busy, and there was locals, but why complain about that? That is like being in Florida and saying there is too many Americans at your hotel. Makes no sense. Everyone is friendly.
If you don't want to be around Mexicans, don't go to Mexico.

OVERALL:
- HIGHLY recommended. We have been to many resorts before, but this one we will be going back within this next year. It was the perfect vacation. To sum it up. It was a clean, positive atmosphere, welcoming, safe, and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: no such things as a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First off lets begin with the good. The resort itself is beautiful, lots of beach chairs, lots of pool chairs. The place is spotless, and the staff are amazing and friendly and very hard working. Hats off to Pedro, Jorge, Tomas, and Felipe, they made my day each and every day. My bar fridge was always stocked, and that was a good thing because I relied on bottled pop and water!

Now for the bad....if you rate your establishment as a 5 star, then you should provide 5 star food and beverages. While there is plenty of food, the food is sub par. Breakfast was good, lunch and dinner, the same everyday. The a la cartes are not, they are just another buffet. The liquor is the cheapest that they could buy and it tasted that way, the wine absolutely disgusting, coffee, if you can call it that, was just colored water. The beds are so very hard and not very comfortable. I have nothing against children, but they were every where. Why could they not have an adult area, and enforce the no children rule for the adult area.

If you can get this resort on the cheap then I would suggest going there, but be prepared to go to mega or walmart and buy your favorite alcohol and keep it in your room. 10 minute walk at the end of the beach are some fabulous restaurants and I would suggest eating there or at some of the establishments in the golden zone. We had our best meal at Roys!! But if the price difference is within $100 go to a better hotel and really enjoy the all inclusive experience. Would I go back only if it was dirt cheap, because I would have to eat all my dinners elsewhere.

We stayed at Riu Vallarta a while back, and their food and drink were much better than Emerald Bay. So I hope that the Riu realize that they will lose business by cheaping out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went to the Riu Emerald Bay with my wife and two daughters 21&15. My review may have been different had we not gone for Easter. Are you aware that it is the biggest holiday in Mexico followed immediately by a school break and the following weekend is the largest motorcycle rally in Mexico? I wasn't. That was my mistake.
This was our first time spending two weeks at an all inclusive. The first week flew by. We laughed at the people leaving saying that could be us after the first week. A couple of days later we wished it was over. I don't recommend 2 weeks
Ok, the hotel.....all the rooms face the ocean. Apparently paying the premium for ocean view only gets you a higher floor. The view is fantastic. In my opinion all the higher floor does is make you wait longer for an elevator. Elevators which seem to be few and far between, not to mention tiny. If you are at all claustrophobic get a low floor and take the stairs.
The rooms? Nice. Seemed a little dated for a five star but no complaints. I was looking forward to the in room bar but the liquor was nothing short of horrible. Tecate beer is not bad but it was not good.
Whilst on the topic of drinks.....what can I say......worst ever. The best drinks were at the lobby bar after 4pm. Seriously, how much money are they saving on this no name booze. 5 star? I had to go to the gas station to get decent beer.
The food? Hit and miss. The al a carte restaurants....don't bother.
There are some great restaurants just down the beach or several more down the road.
The pools, beach, grounds? Very nice. Chairs on the beach, around the pool, under shades, there is something for everyone.
We went because we got a great deal. It was Mexico. It was nice. But for full price I wouldn't recommend it.
It was about a 15 minute by cab to town and you are somewhat isolated otherwise.
I couldn't help but feel they were getting by on a wing and a prayer. I initially thought service was lacking because of the busy time of year but after that died down so did the staff. I would estimate the staff to guest ratio to be close to half of other 5 star hotels.
Even if you get a deal you should consider the cost of going out to eat and drink (which can be very reasonable) and transportation. Try the bus into town and splurge for the cab back. It adds up.
That being said, it wasn't bad but it isn't what it's made out to be. I recently read that Riu hotels start out all flash and slowly the quality dwindles as they ride the wave of good reviews. I think we missed the peak.
Good luck

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Paying a premium only gets you a higher floor. There are no adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Surf Info: ^^^ If you not a strong swimmer/ advanced surfer do not surf in front of the RIU, the rip is strong and will pull you into the rocks on the North side of the break, you will see these just to your right if your on the beach just in front of RIU.

###THE GOOD NEWS###
I wasn't able to find much info about surfing/ board rentals close to RIU online before my trip, or at reception for that matter. Even though you can book lessons through one of the excursion desk in the lobby... But, with a little luck or good karma I found a spot- Witches Beach- just North of the RIU that breaks all year! When your ready to surf:
1. Walk out of the RIU to the beach
2. Head North (right) You will see the point, waves, an awesome local doing head stands on his
longboard!
3. On the weekends, you may find boards/ lessons for rent on the beach here. If not, just make a
right at the restaurant and a left when you see the small strip mall. The Looney Bean Coffee
Shop has plenty of boards, around 60 USD for a week...
4. When you paddle out, the channel is next to the rocks, easy paddle out.
5. The locals are cool, have fun and catch some waves.

This is the only break in Mazatlan that is good all year, guaranteed to get some waves!

+++LESSONS+++
You can talk with one of the excursion desks in the lobby, I think they use a surf shop in the Golden Zone.
When you rent a board ask the owner of the Coffee shop about lessons, I believe he has a friend giving lessons.
Or, just look for the guys on the beach on the weekends.

I hope this is helpful, if so leave a comment so I know this was helpful.

Noroc from Romania, for now
-Nick

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my first trip to Mexico and my first stay at an all-inclusive resort. At first I was very impressed with the resort. The property is clean, the staff is incredibly friendly, and there are plenty of resources for travellers. The one thing that did not fly was the food. The open buffet was fine for a couple days, but it began to seriously affect my stomach. I spent 2 of my 7 nights in bed with intense stomach cramps, diarrhea and nausea. I may have even had a fever. I've been home for 2 days now and still feel horrible.

I wouldn't shy away from this place completely, but I would keep in mind that foods like fresh fruit, salad, milk and anything cooked in water should be avoided, even at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 m2 / 16.15 sq. yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.