We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Emerald Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Riu Emerald Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just got back from the Riu Emerald Bay in Mazatlan Mexico(feb 12th to the 26th 2013)
From all the trips we have made over the last 20 years (and we go every year) this one is in the top 3,After a 40 min ride to the hotels we where checked in very fast and the luggage delivered to our room (314) If we go back we will take a room on a higher floor just for the view,(it was our own request for the 3rd floor)Never a problem with the elevators maybe a 3 min wait at the most,but what do i care i'm on vacation.
The service is absolutely top notch ,from David at the front door to Isaac and Jorge at the lobby bar and Poncho,Alberto,Jorge in the bar at the entertainment stage, Pedro and Sara and all the others at breakfast ,to the maids who cleaned the place 24/7.
Most of the serving and bar staff spoke english very well.
The food was excellent from breakfast to lunch and dinner.
There are 3 a-la-carte restaurants Mexican,Italian and the Asian,the last 2 where buffet style.
Beach is beautiful and big,The vendors stay behind a rope and bother you only when walking through this area but very easy to circumvent by walking a short distance around the rope.
We took 2 trips the city guided tour and the snorkeling tour not worth the money if you ask me,Next time i would take that money spend and hire a taxi for the day and have him drive us around the city.(for the 4 of us we spend $336 which would be over 4000 pesos)a taxi driver would be very pleased to drive us for that kind of money.
One of my pet peeve's is that there are people who don't tip,Back home you tip 10 to 15 % on a $200 meal to a person who make just a few cent below minimum wage ($30 tip )and in Mexico where the average wage is 4800 pesos a month ($400) you leave nothing shame on you.
An even bigger pet peeve is, You DUMB brainless morons who leave coins as a tip,coins are totally useless to them they cannot take them to the bank,Giving them coins is the same as leaving them nothing at all.
Please people who do leave tips, offer to exchange the coins for them they will thank you forever.
Overall one of the best vacations i have been on.


Regards bert van der hulst Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    730
    332
    130
    108
See reviews for
699
792
43
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at this resort feb 19-26 and was nervous as I have never been to a resort this small but I was quiet impressed with how quick and efficient everything at this hotel is. Check in was hassle free and I was free to enjoy may day with ample waiters aiding my every need. I usually do not love buffets but they have so much election that even a picky eater like me found something delicious everyday. The cleanliness of this hotel is also impeccable, no dust, dirt, smells or bugs anywhere. I highly recommend visiting this area of Mexico because the old city is beautiful and the tours you can take are extremely affordable(unlike areas such as cancun and maya riveria). We did the amazing horse back riding tour through the mountains and the deer island excursion both run by sunwing out of the lobby.

The only complaint I have is that the beds are slightly small and very hard so will will need the massages on the beach.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade to get a room higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Arrived on the 19 of February and departed the 26th.
Can't complain no line ups, no wait to get into room apon arrival, no shortage of hot water on those well deserved shower's, Canadian money accepted at par, no need to buy US dollars, no shovel for the white stuff, no wait time for the elevator (stayed on the 10th floor) morning workout included the stairs!!!! I could say no to alot of things but not another stay at the RUI Emerald Bay.

I would like to thank all of those hard working employees who dedicated their day and night to our needs and wants. They clean up after us all week and make neat towel stuffies on our beds. I think I forgot on the last night to leave a tip, so if you are going could you please spot me the tip!!!!Not always in cash....

Room Tip: The 10th floor is where we stayed and it was awesome....all rooms are ocean view with balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were at the Riu February 5th -12th We had another successful trip. This resort was extremely clean the staff was friendly and worked very hard to keep the resort clean. There where several pools plus a swim up bar. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was spacious. Our bar fridge was always stocked. The food at the buffets were always full and very tasty. We did the Asian,Italian and the Mexican restaurant they were all very good we enjoyed all three of them. There where lots of variety and tasty drinks at the resort. We went to Mr. Lionsos restaurant down the beach the food was excellent,we got to sample tequila as well. Very friendly staff. The evening entertainment at the riu was good. The beach is beautiful we walked it everyday. Anyone who is looking for excursions try the whale watching we saw lots of whales and dolphins as well. It was the highlight of our trip. The other one we did was the veraneando adventure zipline tour there's 12 ziplines plus you get a dinner and a tequila tour..we had a blast. We got the zipline tour thru Chris the waiter who works at Mr Lionsos restaurant which is at the end of the beach. Please make sure you tip the staff they work very hard.. All in all I highly recommend this resort I hope to go back again sometime. There was 8 in our group and we all had a blast.

Room Tip: Good view from 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were surprised with a trip to Riu Emerald Bay in Mazatlan, by our family. Wow! This all inclusive hotel is a dream paradise, its not the Carribbean, the beautiful blue Pacific Ocean. The staff at the hotel went out of their way for our celebration, champagne to our room, a session at the spa, which we felt we could have spent the day. It was fabulous!! You have selections of evening dinners which we picked two, oriental (excellent) and mexican (not our favourite) but good. All buffet meals were above what you could expect, various selections salad bar, hot meat and fish bar, bread selection were very good. There is something for everyone.. In fact too much, hard to make up your mind.
All of the pools and beach were very clean, staff working hard all day to make it that way. There were beach vendors, not many, but they did understand no and did not bother you, if you so desired. Nightly enertainment is also excellent...
Our room was on the 16th floor, and we loved it we could see forever, We recommend you take day trips to Mazatlan, only 80 paeso's by open air cab,which was fun,the people welcomed you. We did go on an organized tour "City Tour" it was good, lasted 5 hours, you saw the city market, Cthedral, Opera House, and the cliff divers, we do not recommend this is to anyone who has problems walking, as the central part has alot of walking. My husband and I lagged behind a bit, but was well worth it. Over all our holiday was fabulous. Beautiful Hotel...

Room Tip: All room face the ocean, higher room have a wonderful view, of the surrounding small islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went for quick one week get away in Jan. Beautiful beach and nice hotel. Was quiet through the week while we were there, some restuarants closed so we only did the buffet at this resort. It was great, there was always a huge selection and something for everyone. All the rooms at this resort are ocean view which is a really nice feature. Our room was always clean and a few bucks in the mini bar with a note works great.
The pools at the resort are great and a nice place to relax. Have to mention Gilberto who works around the pool areas, he works hard and would run and grab us drinks anytime we asked. Guests have access to beer taps and soft drinks machinbes around the pool which is something I've never seen before. I liked that as you didnt have to wait in line at the bar for a glass of beer. As I stated it was quiet while we were there so there were days where there was not a "server" around the pool but its a small resort and not far to walk to get your own, and as I stated Gilberto grabbed many for us.
The only complaint I had....is its somewhat cooler here than other places we've been. It could be the time of year that we went, Im not sure. It just seemed that you could clock 3:30 every day by the wind and the cooler temp that followed.
That being said, I would recommend this resort to others, the beach is beautiful, the view incredible and the staff are very friendly and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Rooms where clean, but could use some updating. The pictures on the website showed what looked like newly redecorated rooms, but our room had definitely not been updated. The food was verge, but there was a good variety. Ask for a room above the 4th floor, as the views are obstructed on the lower floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.