We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst vacation I have ever taken” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #14 of 75 hotels in Mazatlan
San Jose, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worst vacation I have ever taken”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me start by saying, the beach area is nice and the server named Romundo (looks like Edmond Dontes) was great. Other than that this hotel was horrible!

1. Bed has plastic covering the mattress that you sleep on to keep you from messing up the mattress.

The mattress wasn't even comfortable (woke up sore every morning) not sure what they are trying to protect.

2. Linens smelled, and overall I was afraid to cover myself with.

3. Only restaurant I wanted to try was their mexican one and they couldn't get us reservations for any one of the four nights we were there.

4. I got food poisoning on the last night (new years eve dinner) I had at the resort.

5. The white wine is clearly watered down as was the vodka.


I think if you're in college this place is a good spot to get plastered and pick up on girls. If you're out of that phase and are ready for the finer things in life, you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    622
    590
    273
    104
    85
See reviews for
570
657
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived on Christmas day and were very impressed with the quick check-in and our large, double balcony room. The grounds, pools and beach are pristine......just lovely.
I would rate this hotel a 4 star only. The food was rather repetitive and there was a real shortage of seafood until New Year's Eve. They put on an amazing seafood buffet.....there were other delicious looking items, but I just had the seafood.
Pedro who works in the buffet is amazing. Ask for him and you won't be disappointed. Please tip the staff.......they are so under paid.
Elizabeth at the front desk was awesome!
If you are looking for a clean, compact resort.......this is for you!

Room Tip: We had a honeymoon ocean-view suite on the 12th floor.........I highly recommend. We never had to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service was impeccable. I never stayed in a Riu hotel before, but it really lives up to its 5 star reputation.
Food was good, lots of selection for breakfast, lunch & dinner. My only comments would be that the hot food could be hotter, knives could be sharper. A la cartes aren't too special, so if you miss them, don't worry about it. The Beach BBQ party and the Chef Seafood nights were excellent. I'm usually disappointed with meat/seafood dishes in the Caribbean, but it was surprisingly tasty here.
No late night station, which is disappointing. There is a fridge with sandwiches, nachos with cold cheese sauce and a microwave in the 24 hour bar. Really sucks for late night arrivals or snacking.
Its good for couples and families, I can't say I would recommend for singles..
We were there Dec 11-18 and it wasn't too crowded. Lots of beach chairs available on beach & pool area.
Airgun shooting and boogie boarding was free, and pretty fun.
I personally didn't take the bus to the city, but talked to those who have said it was easy to do, safe and they recommended it.
Definitely take a walk out to the market 15 minutes away. Prices are pretty much just as good as the market in the city.
Also, the massage place there... can't go wrong for $20CAD/hour!! I missed out on the restaurant there, but I've heard good things about it.
The money exchange is also better at the Golden Zone, but if you don't make your way out there, its not bad negotiating Canadian/American at the market... still better than the rates at the Hotel.
I'll definitely be back to Mazatlan!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so I don't think it really mattered. We were on the 5th floor and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel does put in effort in cleanliness. The room had a great view and the bathroom was spacious...the food was good and the staff was always friendly and helpful. On the down side, the evening entertainment was down right pathetic! This was our 5th all-inclusive resort and we were very disappointed in the evening shows if they can be called that. They had karoake one night as the "show" plus two other evenings where the guests "entertained" the audience. On Christmas eve, they had 20 little kids up on stage, blindfolded, pinning the nose on the reindeer and that was the show folks! As for other activities, there was no kayaking or windsurfing at all, despite their website. There was nothing to do in the evenings, so all in all, it was poor value for what we'd paid. We will not return to a Riu hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators were very busy at times. We chosed a floor that wasn't so high up so that we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great x-mas holiday at the Riu. Very friendly staff and clean hotel. Buffet was one of the best we have been too. Mexican a la carte resturant was not very good, poor service. Stayed with the buffet the rest of the trip. Recommend the upgrade to the honeymoon suite little bigger room with double balconies. All rooms in this hotel have an ocean view which is nice. Read lots of reviews about rough ocean conditions and not being able to swim, however this is not the case. All ages of people were in the ocean while we were there. My wife an I felt very safe travelling by ourselves in Mazatlan, no issues everyone was very pleasent and helpful. Lots of Canadians around town as well. Would absolutly go back. Weather was excellent 30C + and blue sky. Travelled with Sunwing and the staff were also excellent.

Room Tip: Would recommend at leat to upgrade to the honeymoon suite. Minimal cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

For everyone who is worried about traveling here, I must say that I always felt 100% safe at the hotel and during bus travel throughout the city. Yes as people mentioned, the buffet meals do not change much day to day but they already provide such a wide selection of food each time that there is really not much else they could add. Just eat from a different buffet section each time and voila its almost like its changed. Also people seem to be reviewing very negatively on the presence of locals at the hotel. Personally I found this very entertaining and met quite a few great people to talk to and practice spanish with. Really, if you don't want to see anyone mexican at a MEXICAN resort.... I suggest you just stay home. Why even bother leaving your house if you don't want to see different people and cultures? Also it really was not that busy during the weekends when locals arrived. There was still an abundance of empty beach chairs and private spots around the pool... so not sure what people are getting hyped up about. The workers were delightful and very polite. In fact they were in general more polite than some of my fellow Canadian travellers (which I found very shocking and unfortunate). Please realise that they are there to help you not serve you, they are still people so for goodness sakes say please and thank you. Be polite, throw them a smile, and throw in a tip here and there and you will find that they go out of their way to ensure you have all that you need. Disco music was not that great the night we went but they play some awesome music around the pools.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach (which is a very smart design). So it really doesnt matter where you are, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this resort was great every day for the four weeks I had to live the good life on the beach....easy to catch a bus to centro..gym was clean as a whistle...if you enjoy Mexican food, you're in luck...after a month the staff were like old friends....am I going back?...pronto amigo..p.s....the rooms are heaven,..my memories are all positive and the price was more than fair.

Room Tip: 10th floor was great...not too windy and because the staircases are spacious it was easy walking whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 m2 / 16.15 sq. yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;