We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first RIU stay blew me away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #15 of 76 hotels in Mazatlan
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“my first RIU stay blew me away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service was impeccable. I never stayed in a Riu hotel before, but it really lives up to its 5 star reputation.
Food was good, lots of selection for breakfast, lunch & dinner. My only comments would be that the hot food could be hotter, knives could be sharper. A la cartes aren't too special, so if you miss them, don't worry about it. The Beach BBQ party and the Chef Seafood nights were excellent. I'm usually disappointed with meat/seafood dishes in the Caribbean, but it was surprisingly tasty here.
No late night station, which is disappointing. There is a fridge with sandwiches, nachos with cold cheese sauce and a microwave in the 24 hour bar. Really sucks for late night arrivals or snacking.
Its good for couples and families, I can't say I would recommend for singles..
We were there Dec 11-18 and it wasn't too crowded. Lots of beach chairs available on beach & pool area.
Airgun shooting and boogie boarding was free, and pretty fun.
I personally didn't take the bus to the city, but talked to those who have said it was easy to do, safe and they recommended it.
Definitely take a walk out to the market 15 minutes away. Prices are pretty much just as good as the market in the city.
Also, the massage place there... can't go wrong for $20CAD/hour!! I missed out on the restaurant there, but I've heard good things about it.
The money exchange is also better at the Golden Zone, but if you don't make your way out there, its not bad negotiating Canadian/American at the market... still better than the rates at the Hotel.
I'll definitely be back to Mazatlan!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so I don't think it really mattered. We were on the 5th floor and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    598
    274
    107
    89
See reviews for
585
665
32
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel does put in effort in cleanliness. The room had a great view and the bathroom was spacious...the food was good and the staff was always friendly and helpful. On the down side, the evening entertainment was down right pathetic! This was our 5th all-inclusive resort and we were very disappointed in the evening shows if they can be called that. They had karoake one night as the "show" plus two other evenings where the guests "entertained" the audience. On Christmas eve, they had 20 little kids up on stage, blindfolded, pinning the nose on the reindeer and that was the show folks! As for other activities, there was no kayaking or windsurfing at all, despite their website. There was nothing to do in the evenings, so all in all, it was poor value for what we'd paid. We will not return to a Riu hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators were very busy at times. We chosed a floor that wasn't so high up so that we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great x-mas holiday at the Riu. Very friendly staff and clean hotel. Buffet was one of the best we have been too. Mexican a la carte resturant was not very good, poor service. Stayed with the buffet the rest of the trip. Recommend the upgrade to the honeymoon suite little bigger room with double balconies. All rooms in this hotel have an ocean view which is nice. Read lots of reviews about rough ocean conditions and not being able to swim, however this is not the case. All ages of people were in the ocean while we were there. My wife an I felt very safe travelling by ourselves in Mazatlan, no issues everyone was very pleasent and helpful. Lots of Canadians around town as well. Would absolutly go back. Weather was excellent 30C + and blue sky. Travelled with Sunwing and the staff were also excellent.

Room Tip: Would recommend at leat to upgrade to the honeymoon suite. Minimal cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

For everyone who is worried about traveling here, I must say that I always felt 100% safe at the hotel and during bus travel throughout the city. Yes as people mentioned, the buffet meals do not change much day to day but they already provide such a wide selection of food each time that there is really not much else they could add. Just eat from a different buffet section each time and voila its almost like its changed. Also people seem to be reviewing very negatively on the presence of locals at the hotel. Personally I found this very entertaining and met quite a few great people to talk to and practice spanish with. Really, if you don't want to see anyone mexican at a MEXICAN resort.... I suggest you just stay home. Why even bother leaving your house if you don't want to see different people and cultures? Also it really was not that busy during the weekends when locals arrived. There was still an abundance of empty beach chairs and private spots around the pool... so not sure what people are getting hyped up about. The workers were delightful and very polite. In fact they were in general more polite than some of my fellow Canadian travellers (which I found very shocking and unfortunate). Please realise that they are there to help you not serve you, they are still people so for goodness sakes say please and thank you. Be polite, throw them a smile, and throw in a tip here and there and you will find that they go out of their way to ensure you have all that you need. Disco music was not that great the night we went but they play some awesome music around the pools.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach (which is a very smart design). So it really doesnt matter where you are, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this resort was great every day for the four weeks I had to live the good life on the beach....easy to catch a bus to centro..gym was clean as a whistle...if you enjoy Mexican food, you're in luck...after a month the staff were like old friends....am I going back?...pronto amigo..p.s....the rooms are heaven,..my memories are all positive and the price was more than fair.

Room Tip: 10th floor was great...not too windy and because the staircases are spacious it was easy walking whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned from a great time at Riu Emerald Bay. Extremely clean facilities, friendly staff who respond immediately to any problems, close to the beach (yes beach vendors can be tiresome but just say "no thank you" and go on with your business), and very nice rooms. Would also definitely recommend the whale watching excursion. Don't listen to the nit picky reviewers, had a awesome trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Vacationed at the Riu Emerald Bay from Nov 30 to Dec 14, 2012. Fabulous 2 weeks.

Check-In: Fast and efficient. The front desk staff greeted us on the bus with our wrist bands, then we proceeded to the lobby bar to receive our room keys and towel cards.
We were very impressed that our room was ready at noon, as check-in is usually 3pm.

Room: Our room was on the 10th floor, quiet and easy access to the elevator. NO waiting for the elevators. All rooms are ocean view.
Maid service was fantastic. Lots of towel art and chocolate goodies. Never any problems with face cloths and towels.
Bar fridge was always stocked with water, pop and beer.

Resort & Grounds: Staff is constantly cleaning. The resort and the grounds are spotless. The resort is totally wheelchair accessible to the pool area.

Food: The food at this resort was outstanding. Lots of variety. Salmon, shrimp, turkey, roast beef, roast pork and the bbq ribs were the best ever.
Ate twice at the Bamboo restaurant, which is a buffet. Really liked the food.
Ate at the Tabasco restaurant and did not enjoy the food. Service was slow.
One night they had a Beach BBQ which was unbelievable. Lots of bbq ribs, steaks, chicken and salads.

Drinks & Bars: Lobby bar and Theatre bar staff made yummy margaritas. The Diavola red and white wines are horrible. The beach and pool service was wonderful.

Beach: The beach area stretches for miles. Always felt safe walking both north and south along the beach.
Sunsets: The sunsets were incredible, almost every night a different light show.

Entertainment: The Mexican show on the beach was the best. Enjoyed the Michael Jackson and Caribbean shows.

Local Bus: Took the local bus into the Golden Zone twice. Fun, safe and easy to catch.

Spa & Gym: The staff at the spa are registered massage therapists. I asked for a gentle and easy massage. Fantastic massage.
The gym is equipped with 3 treadmills, 2 elliptical trainers, 2 bikes and an assortment of weight machines.
Jacuzzi and sauna rooms were nice.

Fantastic 2 weeks in Mazatlan and can’t wait to return.
Would highly recommend Mazatlan and the Riu Emerald Bay to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 m2 / 16.15 sq. yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;