We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs, Filthy pool, Not a 5 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
c
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bed bugs, Filthy pool, Not a 5 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just spent 14 days in riu mazatlan nov 23 dec 7 .At best a 2 star, I have been reading reviews from guests, were you people at the same resort or you must be the ones putting used tampoons in the pool bar on an average there where 10 to 20 cups floating in pool ash trays dumped in pool, staff told use they checked pool water every 2 hours never seen any one checking not once in 14 days. people were throwing full cans of beer of the balconys into the pool exploding on impact if this would have hit any one instant death????.Went to the sports bar one day the bartender was trying to get his freinds drunk, it worked, one guy started getting sick all over the bar he stumbled out off the bar throwing up all the way out and on the door and handle to our surprise...the bartender took a container holding clean glasses went to the front of the bar were his friend got sick he took a sqweege wiped the bar top into the container holding clean glasses???????? did not wipe the bar top or clean top just went back to work serving them drinks with the dirty glasses, pushed our drinks aside couldent leave because the door was full of puke finally we just went to the door and pushed it open with our feet walking threw puke. beside the sport bar was the only shop in resort selling clothes sun tan oil ect ect we went there several times and the lady behind the counter was always on her cell phone couldent buy any thing,it became a joke for use to see her on the phone every day all day long???. Went to the main resturant las isla buffet style and the waiter asked if we wanted juice i asked for orange another suprise there was a cart that they clean the tables with on the cart was dirty dishes and he went there and took an orange juice that was of another table and brought it to me????.Dont forget about the bed bugs { im not} im still itchy, legs were coverd went to sun wing rep juan the one with the glasses, to complain and to see if i could see a doctor all he wanted to do is argue, telling me that there are no bed bugs in resort since he has been there and there would be a charge for doctor. told him to look on trip adviser and that there are many bed bug complaints then he said yes there are many bed bug issues in resort and he only started on first of month.they did clean our mattress and vacum and spray for bed bugs.Front desk staff Hector was very rud why they keep staff like this?????. There were many above average staff moses and pedro in resturant they kept us safe and comfortable security staff good david was very good front door always concerned about use. room liquer dispensers broken toilets would not flush on peak hours. elevators slow some time they wouldent even stop on floor for many minutes just go by.low grade liquor in rooms and bar. On weekend the resort is full of mexicans very noisey good people but when they do laundry in pool its gross. We herd many complaint in resort from guest infections from pool water.They are trying to fill resort to capacity lowering prices and that brings in the low lifes party till all hours fights techno music as loud as possible all day and night long lower rooms would vibrate all night so loud. The last week we would leave first thing in morning and return evening just to get away from this hole.The money you save here you will need in penacilen when you return home, we would never go back. some staff is above average very freindly but that dosnt bring the raiting to 5 star at best 2 star This review is fact not fiction

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    601
    276
    113
    89
See reviews for
592
669
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just rolled in from a trip to this resorts. Cant describe in enough detail how nice the staff was, and how beautiful the view was from our room!

Pros:
- Inexpensive
- Friendly staff
- Buffet has excellent food
- Beautiful views from nice clean modern rooms, all are ocean view
- In room safe
- Nice clean beach
- Clean pools, nice grounds surrounding pools


Cons
- ATM machine ate my card, bank never came to service the machine. Lesson learned, dont use their ATM, get peso's elsewhere
- Ala cart dining is not worth the trouble
- They dont sell cigarettes, security guards sell them for double the price.
- Vendors at the beach, property does not extend all the way to the ocean, has a roped off line between you and the beach. Vendors stand there all day bugging anyone who comes near.
- Far from golden zone and old town. Old town is 45min+ drive, worth it, but far.
- Beer stocked in room is not tasty.

All in all really nice place. No regrets. I booked this trip direct through American Airlines, nice price! If you go, make sure to go up the beach to Mr Lionso's for some super good seafood and stronger drinks. They also book Zip line tours from there, well worth the price, fun fun fun!

Resort was very slow on weekdays, busy on weekends. Lack of elevators didnt affect us much on the 17th floor on weekends, never a problem on weekdays, but we stayed out most of the time.

If you dont like Mexican's or Canadian's you should probably go somewhere else as that is 99% of the clientele at this resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views so no problems. heard the north side is noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We've just returned from a lovely week at the RIU Emerald Bay. It was a packaged holiday and check-in of the many arriving guests was very fast and efficient. The rooms are all ocean view, a nice size, tastefully decorated, include a safe, a mini bar with beer and soft drinks, and a liquor dispenser with rum, vodka, gin and tequila. The food in the buffet was very good and we really enjoyed both the Bamboo and Tabasco restaurants. You could get premium liquor brands which was nice but the wine was not our taste, it was exceptionally sweet. The pools were warmer than many other places we've been to and there were plenty of lounge chairs, never a problem to get a chair in the afternoon. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel gets busy on the weekends and the elevators are slow but we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes so we didn't find it much of a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I had a great vacation at the Riu Emerald Bay, Mazatlan in November 2012. Super fast check in and the rooms are very nice. (double sinks in the bathrooms) The front desk phoned as soon as we were in the room to ask if we needed anything. The food was great at the buffets. Don't bother with the specialty restaurants except "Bamboo". This resort is family friendly, however as a couple we were very happy with it too. The highlight was a deep sea fishing trip my husband went on with 2 other guys from the resort. They caught 9 sail fish.(8 feet long) It is very unusual to catch so many and they were thrilled. This trip was arranged by the Sunwing representative in the lobby of the hotel. We highly recommend booking through them when you get there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My cousin and i did a guys trip down to Rui Emerald Bay in November and it was awesome!!! we arrived to the resort with our whole plane going to the same resort and when we got there they had all our stuff ready and there was very little wait!!! the elevator is about the only downfall of the trip other than a incident that happened off the resort to us. Memo the bartender was my brother from another mother, make sure to visit him in the lobby bar and tip him good! the swim up bar was the hangout of the day for us and the bartenders there were great! while we were there it was a holiday in mexico so there was a lot of locals at the resort which at times was frustrating but it was very neat to hang out with them when you weren't trying to get food. We had a incident in town one night and we didnt know you cant drink out of a cab but you can in a cab so please remember that or you could end up going with the police or what we did was pay them off hahaha...learnt our lesson that's for sure. we tipped every day for our room and it looked awesome!!! if your looking for a AWESOME massage dont get it at the resort and instead leave the resort head to the left about 5 mins down the road and theres a strip mall with a amazing coffee shop, massage parlor and amazing seafood restaurant around the corner! Overall our trip was awesome. We made some great friends and have a lot of fun along the way.
TOTALLY RECOMMEND THE RUI EMERALD BAY!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I as well as sister and friend all went to the Riu Emerald Bay November 2012. The weather was nice. The grounds and views were very nice. The sand on the beach was nice. The food was plentiful and drinks overflowing. The service was nice and really did go out of their way several times to make you feel special and priviledged.

I had read reviews about some complaints such as too many locals, slow and limited elevators and vendors on the beach. All those issues were in fact very true. They did not bother me so much though. The one issue I had was the City Tour. They take you around to high priced stores where vendors pressure you to buy their products. Then you are taken to the cliff divers and are almost forced to pay the divers. One couple on the tour refused to pay the divers and they harassed us and followed us back to the bus and were yelling at the tourists saying that they do not work for free. It was the worst part of my trip by far.

Overall the hotel was nice. We only paid $900 for a week, all inclusive, air and hotel and taxes. If I was to pay 5 star prices I would have actually been disappointed but because I did not expect too much, I was happy overall with my vacation. I would not go back however as I was not overlly impressed.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean. Higher rooms take longer on the slow elevators. They seem to place locals on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Four of us travelled 2-16 Nov to the Rui. The price was right and as the saying goes you get what you pay for.
Check in was great no delays.

Room was very nice, clean and an awesome view of the ocean. All rooms have ocean view. We were on the 7th floor you can hear the noise from the pools or weddings, but it was not that bad.

Cannot say enough about the staff, from the front desk and everyone in between down to the towel man they were all very helpful, friendly and courtesy. If you go to this Riu, ask for Pedro at the main breakfast buffet, he is awesome and Memo at the lobby bar is great.

The buffets, although repetative, the food at the buffets was ok, could always find something to eat.

The al a cartes where very disappointing, they to are also buffet style, the Italian, the only thing Italian was the ceasar salad. The Mexican we didn't try but again it was buffet style, the Asian again was buttet, the food was ok we went three times just to get a break from the regular buffet. We were told that the reason the al a cartes are buffet style is because the Mexican's prefer buffets.

That said, we we overwhelmed by the number of Mexican's that showed up every Thursday to Sunday, the noise level went from 3 to 10 in no time. Thats not saying that the Canadians were quiet well at least not the couple who where in the room above us, they would scream and fight almost every night when they got back from the bars/disco.....I hope she gave him back his ring because he sure sounded like a real jerk. I woke up one night and heard doors slamming and screaming, thought I was in one of those prison reality shows.

Yes the elevators are a little slow, but not as slow as what we expected from reading other reviews.

The pools were all clean with the exception of the swim up pool which was disgusting, I would not put my dog in it it was so bad.

The beach was awesome sand and waves as far as you can see.

The nightly entertainment was ok, typical of most if not all AI.

Yes the bee's are bad, not sure why they don't hang up those beehive thingys that distract bees, it might help.

Will we go back, I don't think so, will we try another Riu, maybe. If your looking for a quiet relaxing place this is not the place. I would agree this is not a 5 star, at best maybe 4

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor, great view. We did go up to the 22nd floor the view was awesome, but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 m2 / 16.15 sq. yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.