We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Emerald Bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Emerald Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Package Sale!
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Riu Emerald Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Not very impressed by this resort. In fact after visiting this Riu resort, I have second thoughts about going to another Riu Resort. Not at all impressed by the quality of booze offered at the Riu Resorts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    624
    295
    118
    98
See reviews for
620
697
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Here we go again with a number of reviewers complaining. Two ideas to travel here with - a Mexican 5-star is not a Magnificent Mile 5-star (but look at the bargain price you paid!), and this hotel offers space to local residents. Got it - now enjoy amigo, because you'll have all the food and drink you want, cheesy but fun evening shows, and great weather. And you should have paid very little because it's a huge resort, it's away from the beaten track and many people are still wary of traveling to Mexico.

My daughter and I visited October 18-25, 2011. The room was huge, the view was spectacular, and staff (especially the doorman) helped us navigate local buses into town to explore Mazatlan.

The locals stayed even longer than they normally do at the Riu when we were there because it was a school break. But as my daughter says, it was really nice that they could take advantage of everything. In some ways, I feel a bit sheepish that the only locals in many resorts are the ones pouring your drinks and making your rooms. So welcome to Mexico and meet some Mexicans.

Bonus tip: You owe yourself a walk up the beach to Mr. Lionso's Restaurant for a meal of a lifetime (see my review.) Near this restaurant is Lulu Spa and Nails - we had unbelievable 50 min. massages for $20 each. Air-conditioned, as well.

We took a Zip-lining Tour run by Mr. Lionso's company (Veraneando Adventure) which was cheaper than all others (and only $50 on Sunday with a great lunch included.)

Enjoy the Riu Emerald Bay - I may see you there when I return with my wife.

Room Tip: As others have noted, all rooms seem to be ocean-view. We enjoyed our 18th floor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is the 2nd time we stayed at the Riu. It was nice to see that the resturants were a la carte this time instead of buffett now they just have to learn how to cook a steak. The meat was alway over done and very chewy. The only meal worth eating at the resort is breakfast as they have a station where they cook it in front of you.

The pools were nice execpt the swim up bar, I noticed that people are staying in it all day drinking and not getting out if you get my drift. By 4 in the afternoon that water is pretty murky. They don't really have a lot of entertainment for you until the locals arrive on Thursday evening/ Friday morning. This hotel really caters to the mexican cliental they have on the weekends.

They are rude, pushy and not very clean. Good thing we had one of the suites on the 22nd floor.
I will not be returning to this Riu anytime soon but I won't rule out the chain.

Room Tip: pay the extra money and get a suite. They are located from 18-22
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

There was a huge difference when we went to this hotel in april to october. The food we got in April was 5 diamond style. Tons of seafood, desserts, food was 5 diamond... waiter service AWFUL. When we returned in October... not the same great food. Regular horrible resort food along with the poor service. Very disappointed. Bartenders in sports bar were great both visits. Reception was great. Nice rooms all with views and big beds/bathrooms. Alright ocean to surf, but it's open water, so, a bit dangerous.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

First off this is definitely not a 5 star resort. We stayed there Oct-11-18th 2011. Where to start, the food is terrible. Buffets that were supposed to be hot were cold and vise versa. Meat was always undercooked and fruit and salads warm. Besides the food our week went ok until the locals arrived on Friday. They are rude and pushy. We made complaints to the hotel and security because there were kids smoking and throwing their butts in the pool. The hotel staff were afraid to confront them. And don't get sick at the riu, you will be not get any help from them. One of us had an emergency with a heart condition and needed an ambulance immediately. The night staff were called several times to call an ambulance and they thought it was a joke. They didn't know how to call 911! After coming to the lobby they called their on staff Doctor to come and see us. He never showed up, but called a supposed ambulance company that came in an SUV. They had no idea what to do, they didn't have any medical equipment. They drove us to the hospital and demanded 500 USD immediately. The cardiologist later told us they were thieves and this has happened before at the RIU. The medical treatment by the ER physician and cardiologist was cheaper than the ride to the hospital. Luckily this ended up not being a life or death situation. Furthermore the Riu denies any wrong doing. Surprise!... If you decide to stay there, there is a great restaurant down the beach with great food, service and drinks! Also try ponchos and Joe's oyster bar, lots of fun! Too bad you have to spend your money eating out, when you plan on an all inclusive trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Riu from October 18-25, 2011. We had an awesome time. We read many reviews before going on the trip and almost cancelled due to a lot of negativity. I am certainly glad we didn't! We had never stayed in a tall hotel while doing an all inclusive and were a little apprehensive. All the stories about the elevators- not quite accurate for the most part. They were indeed small and the air conditioning worked sometimes and not others??? We didn't see any wait times until the weekend when the hotel reached 97% capacity. But even then it was still less then 5 minutes. However you could expect 10-11 people in an elevator which is designed smaller than most and became very warm. 5 minutes when you are trying to get to a dinner reservation could easily feel like 20 minutes!

The next thing we were worried about was all the comments on the mexican families attending the resort. There was lots of them even through the week and 80% were Mexican on the weekend. Most of these people were working families that came to the Riu for a vacation much like the rest of us. These weren't people that worked for a few dollars a day. I never felt that my belongings were in any danger and often left our camera's and cell phone unattended for hours. The mexicans kept to themselves and were always polite and said hello. Their spanish often got them drinks before us at the bars though. The pools filled up on the weekend so my wife and I decided to go into town and do some shopping and touring around on the saturday and an excursion on the sunday. By the time we got back on sunday everything had returned to normal.

The staff was always polite and went out of their way to make sure you were happy. The pools were all very nice. The beach was awesome, much better than I was expecting. The Riu has a large piece of the ocean front and chairs were easy to find at any time of day. The ocean water was so warm. We walked out into the ocean quite a ways to enjoy the waves coming in. My wife and I quite enjoyed it, noting that our teenage kids would also have enjoyed doing this. Flags were up warning of the undertow danger. Some days were worse than others. We did notice it seemed worse closer to the shore. We ventured out till we were waist deep and found it hard to stay out as the waves kept pushing you in towards the beach. Not a really good spot in the ocean for preteens unless you were there holding them.

The food was also very good. I don't know where these other people normally go on vacation but it must not be all inclusive. Lets face it, if you want to go to a five star hotel and pay for each and every meal, it will be a much better quality. We have done quite a few all inclusives now and this was one of the better ones. We only ate at the Buffet the first night for a snack ( We arrived Late ) but heard nothing but good things about it. We ate at all the A la Cartes. The steakhouse was our favorite and we went there twice. Mexican was also very good and was a close second. Asian we thought was ok but I wouldn't go there again if we revisit the hotel. Others will probably rank this better but asian isn't our thing. Breakfast was probably the best of any resort we have been too, mainly for me because it had good bacon, ok sausage and lots of different kinds of eggs. Coffee and tea are also very good. Didn't eat a lot of lunch but sometimes they would do a big cookout on the beach like a big wok with shrimp, veggies and noodles that I tried and was very good. There is a restaurant about a five minute walk north of the hotel that should be visited. Excellent seafood and Corona Beers! (the hotel has XX) 5 is happy hour!!

The nightly entertainment was hit and miss. The dancing in Mama Mia was just awesome. Skip the comedy routine, its as bad as it gets! The disco is fairly small but not to bad overall. Sports bar was a good place to go and cool down, have a few drinks and some nachos. The lobby bar which we didn't see right away probably made the best drinks. Pool bar was always hopping but to crowded on saturday. We met lots of Canadian couples during our stay- never a shortage of friends to drink with and have good conversation!

The rooms were very nice as well. We were on the seventeenth floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. We had a king size bed in the room. Nice large Tub shower. Lots of storage and a safe in the room- which we accidentally left open one day with all our cash. Nothing went missing! I still find it hard to believe the prices this resort is going for. There just isn't a better deal out there. Don't hesitate, grab this deal before its gone. I would't hesitate going back to this Hotel

Room Tip: Elevators actually go right to the top and then pick people up on the way down. Actually faster to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is not a five star resort. We were there Oct. 18-25, 2011.

A thousand locals were there for four days because of a long weekend ... the service then became terrible. We talked to Jorge at the desk but that did not help .... Locals were always served before the tourists.... Some of the locals packed many people into a room (apparently the price was based on that.) We had a family of 7 across from us and the kids were screaming by 7am. It was impossible to get an elevator. The locals were rude to the tourists. They made us feel like we were intruding on their resort.

When we asked for Security to the adult pool (because tons of kids were in it) that took 45 minutes. (Also the pools were filthy when SO many locals were there. As waw the Women's the restrooms in that area.)

Some lights were not working in our room ... I phoned and phoned ... finally had to go down to ask at the front desk.

The room cleaning was sporadic. One day we had no towels and the mini bar was not filled. Our bed was always made but sometimes the room was not vaccumed and the ash trays were not emptied. We went down to talk to Jorge and he promised to correct the problem but that did not help. I had to stay on him often, "We need water in our mini bar" because the maid did not put enough bottles in, just tons of beer and some pop.

When we had a problem, the Sunwing rep Juan was very hard to find except around 10am when excursions were leaving. He was not helpful when we complained about the staff. He complained that we tried to handle problems on our own, direct with the staff, but we often could not find him so we had no choice. He claimed to be always there but he rarely was.

The Spa was really good, amazing. And Jesus and Javier in the restaurants were great. The buffet food was fine but boring; same stuff every day. The Steak House was ok but the ribs barely had any meat on them; the chicken was fine. The Bamboo was OK too but a buffet. The Mexican restaurant Tabasco was the best; the red snapper was amazing!!

Bottom Line: It might be ok if they did not have special rates for locals every weekend (Thursday to Sunday at least) ... during those days it's packed, service becomes poor, everything gets dirtier sooner, etc.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor for the best view and the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.