We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marlin Tacos are Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gus y Gus Restaurant

Gus y Gus Restaurant
Camaron Sabalo, Mazatlan, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 269 Restaurants in Mazatlan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“The Marlin Tacos are Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I decided to stop into Gus y Gus on a Tuesday evening after returning to the Golden Zone from the aquarium and the beach. We were quickly seated and decided on the Marlin Tacos ($69MX) for myself and the Chicken Tostadas ($69MX) for my wife. We munched on tortilla chips and salsa while we waited for our meals, which wasn't very long. The portions were a nice size and while my wife would have preferred a little more flavour in her chicken tostadas, the marlin tacos I had were excellent. The marlin was very similar in taste to smoked salmon up here in Canada and there was plenty of it on my plate to enjoy so I shared with my wife. I washed it down with a locally brewed Pacifico which is always enjoyable on a warm evening. Our total bill was around $16 with the tip so it was definitely great value for the money. The restaurant features live bands later in the evening which adds a little festiveness to your dining experience. Definitely go with the marlin tacos if you enjoy a great seafood taco like I do!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    75
    33
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Happening Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The two of us chose Gus & Gus for our Valentine's Day Dinner, it proved to be a good choice. We got there early and chose a street front open air table which was good but not without some minor annoyances. Our service was very good, everyone was working hard and quite friendly. We both enjoyed the shrimp fajitas, excellente. The dance music really picked up at 10pm, very talented band played everything from ZZ Top, Eric Clapton, The Doors, Led Zepplin, Leonard Skinner etc. only criticism, and this seems to apply to all musicians playing sets in Mexico, the breaks were forever. Had a great time and will take our company there next week.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun! Great Bartenders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Good house band. Tasty food. Try the Molcajete, pretty spicy, but really good. Huge shrimp. Strong drinks. Jorge and Jesus are the best bartenders in Mazatlan. The waiters do a nice job with Mexican coffees.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have been there many times over the years, Food is always good, great service,
Price a little high, a little noisy with all the traffic going by.
Great same old band and same songs lol Put these guys on the
beach and it would be full 24/7
A little annoying with the timeshare people and young kids as peddlers at 10pm
They should have a time limit on these young kids so the adults can enjoy some
brews and live music
Will always go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Timeshare lady is not the hostess!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

First off, the "hostess" who comes around to check on you is a timeshare salesperson for Pueblo Bonito which really sucks because you want to enjoy a good meal outside in this cool atmosphere. She came to our table 3 times begging us to come tour and told us to "help her earn a commission." BUZZKILL!!!!

Otherwise, the waiters are super good. Food is good. Good value. I would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus y Gus Restaurant also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Gus y Gus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus y Gus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.