We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'First time"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja

Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja
Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n | Zona Cerritos, Mazatlan, Mexico
+52 669 988 0425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 248 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'First time"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was a thursday night we heard about this place on T.A. we also never been out to Cerritos.We took a cab from our resort it was crowded but we got right in.It was happy hour I got the michelada with tomato juice and Modelo Negro beer very tasty.This guy named Skippy came around with free shots of flavored tequila I'm buying a bottle next time.My wife had shrimp soup loaded with shrimp,I had fish tacos.Food was excellant atmosphere was great there were mariachi guys taking request for 100$ pesos we requested "EL REY","GUADALAJARA".The food was the most inexspensive we had our whole trip(for a dinner).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    98
    27
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The tequila shrimp and red snapper are to die for. Cooked to perfection. If you want something light, try the tortilla soup.
They make fresh bread and cookies every day in their brick oven. Yum. Drinks are really good, too. Ask for a sample of their tequilas. I'm quite fond of the almond flavor. Bring a camera for the sunset. Bathrooms are very clean. Tipping the attendant is not mandatory but a very nice gesture. What's a few pesos?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Our family has enjoyed many evenings at Playa Bruja-- Mr.Liono's restaurant. We are glad that it is a popular location. We had a great evening with attentive service and excellent food at the beginning of our vacation. Then we ended our week with a very disappointing meal. It was Holy Week, so the beach area was very crowded. We were seated right away, but we waited so long for service. One member of our party had rather cool shrimp, and my daughter had to wait until we were almost finished to get her chicken fajitas. (My fish filet Veracruzana style was not great-- much better at Pancho's.) The drink order was not correct, either. If you go, expect to enjoy the beach location--food and service are inconsistent.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ate Here Three Times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Mr. Lionso's is great. The food is excellent, drinks are cheap, and service is good. I'd recommend the lobster, coconut shrimp, or the huge platter of food served on a pig en fuego. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“mexican dancers, excellent view and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We didn't have a reservation but they found us a table right away. Two for one drinks and the food was very good - had lobster and shrimp. Mexican dancers for entertainment and the view is wonderful too. A walk up the beach from the Riu or a quick 50 peso cab ride.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Lionso Playa Bruja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.