We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to breathe / Bad atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Costa Marinera

La Costa Marinera
La Florida, Mazatlan, Mexico
(669) 914-1928
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 269 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard to breathe / Bad atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Each time we eat here, the atmosphere is bad ... just at this restaurant. First time, there was a 4-wheeler sitting running on the beach blowing exhaust directly into the restaurant. It was because a couple was having their special dinner on the beach (catered by La Costa Marinera) and the vehicle was packing up their extra stuff. We ended up taking most of our food to go because the exhaust made us nauseated. It was Shrimp for 2 -- great sauces, but also very oily. At least all that oil made it easy to fry up the next day for lunch in our little kitchenette. The following year when we came back, a table in the middle of the outside seating area was chainsmoking. There are no-smoking signs all over but the waiters wouldn't talk to the table about it because they were "friends of the owner" and were "about to leave" (right, that's why they kept on ordering more shots on ice). We won't be back. There are plenty of other wonderful seafood restaurants in Mazatlan where we can actually breathe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    36
    31
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lendary Place Actually Serving Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A friend who is from Mazatlan took me to this restaurant. He wanted me to experience something real and something from the past.

Setting - It is on the beach. It is not fancy. You can go and be casual and expect to see a lot of locals.

Food - It was outstanding. We had various ceviche, we had all kinds of shrimp. But what they are known for and what blew my mind was the camarones de agua chile! This is good in a very limited number of cities in Mexico and as I understand it Mazatlan is one of the those places.

Water Quality - I had ice, water, etc no issues.

Overall - It was not crowded as it is not new and hip. If you want great food and classic/authentic [not run down or boring] ambiance this is a good place to try out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dining Treasure in Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

La Casta Marinera Restaurant is a MUST dining experience for us every time we are in Mazatlan!!
Their Shrimp Pâté is excellent! Their couples Shrimp platter is the best & freshest we have ever had.
The staff is excellent, & Charos entertain as you dine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite restuarant in Mazatlan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We've enjoyed this restaurant on every visit since 1998. The breaded shrimp is wonderful, fresh, and tasty. There is live music at times, the dining area overlooks the beach and vendors occasionally sell their wares to folks at the tables closest to the beach but they don't seem to be much of a bother.
There is parking available with some shaded spots for smaller cars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had just flown into Mazatlan, checked in and decided to try this restaurant. Service was excellent and the food was pretty good. I had grilled shrimp and my husband had fried shrimp. Portions were a good size. Probably won't go back just because there are so many great places to eat in Mazatlan. She biggest down side was that one dr the ladies came over to our table and would not give up on the fact that we did not want to go to a timeshare presentation. So that would be a second reason that we probably will not go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Costa Marinera also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to La Costa Marinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Costa Marinera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.