We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always think of going back to Mazatlan just to stay here again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olas Atlas 16 | Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I always think of going back to Mazatlan just to stay here again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is an amazing place. I would say it is one of the absolute best places I have ever stayed in my life. It was an old, old building that was renovated by the owners and they did an incredible job. The setting - near the old part of Mazatlan up a hill and right across from the ocean, is amazing. It is quiet, peaceful, beautiful, authentic Mazatlan.

The hotel is incredible. Small, quaint, charming, tasteful - you can see for yourself from the pictures. The swimming pool isn't really super functional as it is so small but it is beautiful. We practiced yoga on the patio area facing the ocean...

There is a great restaurant. Good food. There was even a saxaphone player playing at the hotel the evening when we arrived. Good selection of books in the hotel library. Nice common areas to sit and chill and hang out.

We stayed in the cheapest room, the Alma room, which although it was nice and spacious, it was quite dark. I don't know if I would want to stay in that room again for an extended period?

The hotel is close to restaurants and very close to the main plaza in the old town. In my opinion, this is a far, far better location than the other end of town (the zona dorada - which is the touristy end). I have stayed at three other hotels in Mazatlan before over the years and this is by far the most outstanding. Last time I didn't stay here and I wish I had. The only downside is though the beach here is nice and very swimmable, the beach at the zona dorada end of town is a bit nicer.

All in all, if in Mazatlan...this is really a wonderful place....this would be an awesome location for an event/honeymoon/romantic getaway/to recuperate from life/to write a novel/to have an alternate trip to Mazatlan where you don't stay in an all inclusive and stuff yourself silly at a buffet every night...

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
To untiligettobali,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate your honesty and have made some changes to the lighting in the Alma Room since you have last visited. It is a room that unfortunately does not face the ocean so we try to be creative with ways to bring more natural light into the room. We hope that you come back soon and check out our updated library book selections as many news books have made their way to our bookcases.

Come back soon!
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
60
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We arrived to this little hotel, not really knowing what to expect. We read the reviews, all of them very positive, but you always wonder, is it true? Do reviewers get a kickback, what's up? Well, no kickbacks, just a fabulous place with wonderful staff and owners. Chris and Conchita are the warmest hosts you will ever find. Mari and Miguel are great as was everyone there.
English is spoken well by the staff, you shouldn't have any concerns regarding communications. The food, wine and beer are all excellent and presented very well. We caught fish while there the chef prepared it so well, we wished we'd kept all the fish and ate it every day, it was fabulous. Everything is fresh! The shrimp, to die for! I had a steak, it was prepared just the way I like.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, ours, the Lucy room was huge. I usually can't sleep the first night in a hotel, not a problem at all here. There is a bit of an echo, but that's the only negative regarding the rooms. The mattress is not the typical rock you get in most Mexican hotels.
Some may find the pool on the terrace small, it probably is. The weather was cool during our stay so we didn't use it. It was nice to sit on the terrace and watch the world go by, especially the pelican fishing down below.
The historic district is in walking distance, a block, and the Malecon is across a lightly traveled street. We walked everywhere, to the cathedral, mercado, opera house, and several squares as well as to the area around the lighthouse. Nice walks and when you need a break, cerveza is easy to find and cheap ($2.50 a six pack at the grocery just around the corner!).
We had an awesome time and hope to come back soon. Oh, they are going to get mountain bikes, manana! Those would be nice to use on the malecon.
We went through Mari to get a boat charter, no problem and very reasonable. The crew was awesome and we met Miguel, the first mate in town a day or so later, he stopped to say hello. The staff also arranged the cab for the trip back to the airport. The price is $29 (M$310) and is fixed.
We had no problems with the current unrest in Mexico, we saw lots of grafitti and the city needs to do something about it, but we felt totally safe and were out every night.
We are not much for big hotels but zona dorada is a short taxi ride away if that's what you like. If you want peace and quiet, romance and the opportunity to reconnect with your partner and have the opportunity to meet some awesome people, including other guests, you really should give this a try.
On the other hand, if you like crowds, feeling like cattle going off to slaughter, feel like standing in line to feed at the buffet trough, this isn't your place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest muyconsada,

You are hilarious! Thank you for the great review and funny comments about the long buffet lines and "cattle going off to slaughter" remarks. We appreciate when people point out the special simplicities we have to offer our guests in their reviews and you definitely hit the mark. We hope that we will get to see you again soon and would love to treat you to a drink (or two!), the next time you come by. Your subject line alone resonates for us so thank you for the kind words and advice to other travelers.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

i'll say it once more - this place is wonderful. this is truly one of the most elegant and serene boutique hotels i've ever stayed at. it's located in the quiet and almost residential area of mazatlan - away from the noise and craze of the golden zone. it's *beautifully* designed and decorated by the owners themselves - and the attention to detail is outstanding. the space is so well utilized and comfortable, you almost don't want to venture outside at all. the entire hotel is very relaxing and the staff caters to all your needs. the rooms are very spacious (i believe there are only 8 rooms total), all styled with a very sophisticated, yet simple, look. the resto inside the hotel serves delicious food, and the owners are around in the evening to chat and share a glass of wine with. they are incredibly friendly and helpful people. i visited with my sister and we were both just amazed at how beautiful and well run this hotel was. it was wonderful to spend the days sight-seeing, and then step back into the lobby of casa lucila and have a delicious cup of coffee or glass of wine - and relax on the third floor patio overlooking the beach. i think the best thing about casa lucila is that that despite how luxurious this place is, it's not pretentious at all. nothing was overboard or extreme, as you typically find in the five stars. the owners hit it perfectly all around.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear rjverma,

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review. Chris and Conchita enjoy getting to know each and every guest and when guests give them fantastic shout-outs, we are all humbled. We agree that we do not want to be pretentious...Ever. Please come back and visit us again soon. We hope to see you and your sister again.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

This was the 3rd hotel we stayed at in Mazatlan for our honeymoon. We did the big resort, the no-frills Stone Island, and ended in town with this beautiful hotel. It was actually October 2009 but there is no option for that under "Date of Stay." It was just perfect. Everything was luxurious, private and tasteful. Views from balconies amazing. Massage was relaxing. Staff was extremely helpful and the owner was on premise and very friendly. Perfect place to see the city from. Wish it was my home here in New York.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear vlanyc,
Thank you for the kind words! We loved having you stay with us back in 2009 and we hope you can make the trek back down to Mazatlan from NYC. We are so happy you took the time to give us a shout out and we'd like to give you a shout out back your way.
Stay with us again and we'll pretend it's your honeymoon all over again.
Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This boutique hotel provides for a fabulous time while you are in Mazatlan. Every detail is fantastic in this quality finished mansion; rooms with high ceilings, massive walk-in shower, spectacular views, comfortable surroundings where the hosts make you feel very welcome, great food at a reasonable price, coffee & water, fridge, safe, tv with both Spanish and English channels and free wi-fi. The small roof-top infinity pool is a bit cold but the view from the deck and pool face the ocean.

The location is great - across the road from the start of the malecon which winds beside the ocean for 10 miles. Lots of families and fitness enthusiasts enjoy roller blading, skateboarding and just walking. The community is very friendly. Only 1 block to great
restaurants, a bank, stores, everything is handy. The old part of Mazatlan is worth
experiencing.

The hardest decision you will have to make is what room to pick. We stayed in Chayita. We loved the balcony and sense of privacy. I think the floor with the pool (top floor) would be less private although there are only 2 rooms: however the view is even more fantastic. Either way you won't lose picking any room. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Hosta_La_Vista,

Wow! Thanks for the great feedback! We especially loved the fact that you gave a shout out to all the rooms, even though you stayed in the Chayito Room. We too, agree that any room is a great room. All have big (huge!) walk-in showers so no matter which room anyone stays in, there's plenty of room to move around! Not exactly a luxury someone gets when they are in New York City or San Francisco!

We hope you do come back to visit us again soon!
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Perfect combination of the personalized service and hospitality of a bed and breakfast, with all the amenities of a full hotel. Staff was wonderful, common areas, pool, and our room were gorgeous and quiet. Walking distance to great restaurants and water taxi to Stone Island. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Savoy1926,

Thank you for leaving us such a Perfect review. We appreciate the time and energy that it took to write us a sweet review and for that, we thank you. Please come back to visit us again soon, we look forward to seeing you!

Kindest regards,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Casa Lucila is one of the most amazing places I've stayed. I love the hotel and it's owner, Conchita. The hotel itself is amazing: so beautiful, and chic, and modern. The hotel restaurant and staff are lovely. However, Mazatlan itself isn't that great. I went in August when the heat was unbearable and the beaches were not clean. I may go back someday just to see Conchita and stay at this fabulous place. When in Mazatlan, you should not consider another location. (I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families though, as the pool is small and it's more for a romantic, quiet trip).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear KellieAnn6,

Wow. All we can say is thank you! The fact that even though you felt Mazatlan's heat was a bit unbearable but you will still consider coming to visit just us makes this a very special review. We really appreciate the shout out to Conchita and the rest of the hotel staff. We do hope to see you sometime soon and hopefully during the winter months so it is not too hot and stuffy in Mazatlan!

Kindest regards,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel

Address: Olas Atlas 16 | Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only eight rooms, Casa Lucila Hotel Boutique provides guests with sweeping pacific ocean views, located just a short walk to the area's art galleries, museums, restaurants + bars, and boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.