We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olas Atlas 16 | Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Casa Lucila was a great choice to stay in Mazatlan...quite a nice experience!
We came here for our honeymoon 15th February for 5 nights. My husband and I stayed the principal room "Conchita". Very serene, well located by the pacific ocean in a calm Street, great service and friendly staff.
Rooms are in their best of conditions with a huge bathroom
Simply, a perfect place to enjoy the best sunsets ever seen...we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dearest Elinor,
Thank you for the shout out to Mazatlan's beautiful sunsets! We are so proud to be able to offer our guests a magnificent view from the rooftop by our infinity pool. We hope you come back again soon and enjoy a second honeymoon!
Many thanks,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    6
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
64
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Casa Lucila in late January 2013 for 10 days. If decor is important to you, then I would not suggest this place. It is extreme modern.....no pictures on the walls in the rooms, just large rooms with a greyish feel....nothing to suggest Mexico and it's vibrant colorful decor. The wind off the ocean was so cold and strong that we had to keep the window/ sliding door closed all the time and couldn't sit on the deck at all. Nobody else used their decks. So we were enclosed in a dark high-cieling room with closed windows. Also the railing on the deck is not see-through, so you couldn't see the view at all from your room unless you were standing up. There was no small table with 2 chairs to eat lunch or breakfast, so we had to sit on the beds. The desk area was freezing and doors were left open to allow people to get to the elevator so there was a constant freezing wind and we had to rush up to our rooms to get warm. However, if great showers are important to you, along with a first-rate non-Mexican restaurant, then you would like this place. We prefer rustic elegance.

Room Tip: For the price, it was not worth it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest Emma,

I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us back in January 2013, and of course we try to learn from everyone's review and to improve where we can. We agree we are very modern and try to keep things minimal. When we restored this property back in 2005, we wanted to keep it in its original European facade which unfortunately does not have a very "Mexican" feel and lacks the vibrant colorful decor. We try to be different from most of the hotels here in Mazatlan and appreciate the honesty you provided us with your remarks.

I agree that we may not fit everyone's style but hope that if you come back to Mazatlan that hopefully it will be during a warmer month as January can be quite chilly. Should you ever decide to come back to visit Mazatlan, we hope you will stop by for a drink or two with us. Thank you for the honest review.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

need a place to stay and we came to lucilia in mazatlan. really nice rebuilt 5 years ago, nice feel to this hotel, room is really nice and big, bed is comfy, bathroom big , nice shower. the staff are really nice ( refreshing to see ), great location in the old mazatlan area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dearest pacinicdn,
Thank you for the friendly review! We are so happy you made it all the way down to Mazatlan from Montreal. We are happy to hear from you and hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouvers
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location in Old Mazatlan.
Sunsets are the best in town
Great staff. Amazing rooms.
Close to everything in the historic district. (5 minute walk)
The restaurant in the hotel is excellent (waters edge)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dearest Caia,
I love the prompt review! It was sweet and to the point. We appreciate the shout out to our sunsets here in Mazatlan. We are very proud to have the opportunity to share the view with our guests each and every day - whether the sun is coming up or touching down. We hope to see you back here as we've recently updated our restaurant menu.
Many thanks,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

my fiancée and i stayed at casa Lucila for 3 nights in August we arrived very early and unexpected in the morning and they got our room ready in half an hour, it so happens that it is very low seasons and we were the only ones in the hotel. We had exceptional service and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the owners were lovely and even took my finance to the Dr and translated for us after she had a bout of a bit of bad food! (not from the hotel) rooms were very clean and the pool overlooking the ocean is very relaxing! would go back to Mazatlan and stay there in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dearest Nathan,
Thank you for the great review! October is definitely low season for us so when we are able to make accommodations we absolutely do. I hope that you both decide to come back to visit us in Mazatlan at any point from Australia! Hopefully another visit to the doctor is not in the cards but if need be, we'd take you guys again in a heartbeat to help you out.
Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures!
Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September, on arrival my room was over 90, the temp dropped to 87 3 hours later, I stopped at the desk, they said yes it is a hot day. By morning, the temp had dropped to 82. Not ideal sleeping temp. Other than this the hotel is beautiful, food excellent, staff very friendly. Would stay again, but not in the summer months.

Room Tip: Ocean front is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest Sungirl,

Thank you for the honesty in your review! We wished we could've provided you with a better stay and we too agree that September can get VERY hot! For us, it's the humidity that really puts a damper in our day. Hopefully we can see you back here for a visit during the Winter or Spring months as the weather is absolutely perfect during that time. Should you decide to stay in the summer with us, we'll make sure to leave the A/C on for you the whole day.

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We loved every second of our stay there. First off, you could not ask for better hosts. They are not only hospitable, but will take the time to talk to you and recommend restaurants and things to see and do. Second, the property and rooms are gorgeous. Third, the restaurant has amazing food. Fourth, the rooftop pool area is very relaxing. Fifth, did I mention how amazing the hosts are?

I won't go too into descriptions of the rooms because I think the pictures on their site speak for themselves. But what the pictures don't convey is the excellent service, the quiet and comfort, and the overall wonderful experience that comes from staying in this hotel. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay, and the rates were amazingly reasonable compared to the bigger hotels in Gold Coast. We had booked one night in the middle of our stay over there and could not wait to get back to Casa Lucila!

I will say that in this area of Old Town, the beaches are rocky. If you are looking to lay on sand beaches during the day, you won't find them here. But, you can always head up to the Gold Coast for the day (though it is VERY touristy), or better yet, take a pulmonia to the docks for a boat ride to La Isla de Piedra (Stone Island). There are many nice bars and restaurants that allow you day use of chaise lounges. Prepare to make friends with the stray dogs, which you will want to bring back home. The benefits of staying in Old Town far outweighed the travel time to a sand beach. Besides...the boat ride alone is great!

Despite what you hear of drug cartel in Mexico, we never once felt unsafe in Mazatlan. People on the street would stop to ask where we were from, make recommendations for things to do, and were more than happy to be ambassadors for Mazatlan. There is a reason so many Americans come back here year after year - there is an authenticity you can't find in the more touristy areas of Mexico. We highly recommend Casa Lucila and the Old Town area to anyone looking for a great winter retreat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaLucila, Manager at Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dearest TravelGurl,

What fabulous pictures you posted! Thank you for sharing a little bit of your stay with us. We appreciate the honesty of the feeling of safety that you felt here in Mazatlan. The news are very unfortunate as we know it scares people away from coming to visit us. We hope that we can give you another exciting stay the next time you come to visit. Winter is coming up again so hopefully we'll see you back here again soon!

Best,
Sophia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
8.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
5.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#2 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#7 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
Crowne Plaza Mazatlan
#29 of 76 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#31 of 76 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel

Address: Olas Atlas 16 | Colonia Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only eight rooms, Casa Lucila Hotel Boutique provides guests with sweeping pacific ocean views, located just a short walk to the area's art galleries, museums, restaurants + bars, and boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.