We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our vacation house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn
Save
You added Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn to your Saves list
127 Paseo Claussen | Col. Los Pinos, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
portland or
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our vacation house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This was our second 2 week vacation at this inn and we’re already looking forward to our third.. It is “our vacation house” now, offering everything we want: sun; lovely, homey accommodations with all amenities Its excellent location (we haven’t had to rent a car) is just a short walk to the wonderful historic section with its many restaurants and shops. Our hosts have attracted amiable fellow patrons with whom you become friends in quick order as Candace and Jim Penn have created a whole new concept of B&B hospitality. Candace, although youthful, seems to consider guests her children and she extends herself to meet every need.
I fear saying more as we may have to make our reservations many years in advance to assure getting our dates. Their list of amenities does not exaggerate: a new and beautiful home with modern kitchens (you can cook meals there), terraces, salon, dining room, all furnished beautifully. Your only regret will be the day you depart.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winkler, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband & I are so glad we chose to stay at this Bed & Breakfast instead of at the Hotel Strip. The place is situated so conveniently to the beach, Old Town, and walking the Malecon. We stayed in Bedroom #6 on the upper level and enjoyed the ocean view and sunsets from our bed.
Jim and Candace are so pleasant, making us feel very welcome and comfortable.
They were so helpful with info as to where to eat, what to see and how to get around.
The rooms are situated well in the house to create a comfortable amount of privacy.
We enjoyed the variety that was provided daily at the breakfast brunch bar. Thanks
for the wonderful Belgian Waffles and fresh fruit. Candace's spur of the moment cheese fondue party for a few of us guests and her and Jim one evening when we had an unexpected downpour of rain was great. We just sat around the fondue eating and
sharing stories in the dry kitchen while it poured outside.
The house is still quite new and the rooms are decorated very nicely. Our shower was
really nice and big, which we loved. We would love to go back and have
recommended the place to others already.
Thanks for making our stay sooo nice.
D & B from Manitoba Canada

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Ocean Front Inn the 1st three weeks of March,2010.
We had never been to Mazatlan before as we had been to Playa del Carmen the past two years and had been thrilled with Mexico but expected Mazatlan to be much different, and it was.
We came across the OFI website quite by chance and that turned out to be the luckiest thing that could have happened to us.
From the moment we met Candace at her front door we were confident we had made the right decision as she put us at complete ease not only with her Inn and the friendly atmosphere, but her vast knowledge of the city and particularily the surrounding historic area. Her wealth of knowledge of places to go, things to see, restaurants to eat at and the list goes on and on.
I have a heart condition and one evening required immediate medical attention. Candace was an absolute angel of mercy in the night. She knew exactly where to go, who to see and took me there herself. She stayed by my wifes side throughout until she was satisfied that my needs were being attended to. Eventhough the hospital had a working knowledge of English Candace's ease to communicate in Spanish was of great assistance. In short she is the hostess with the mostess and she treats her guests like family. We were saddened to leave. Beside every good woman stands a good man...Jimbo the fisherman. We would be remiss if we didn't mention Veronica the housekeeper with her cheerful 'okey dokey". Ya gotta go there!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

This was our 2nd stay with Candace and Jim at their B&B. We had planned this for months to coincide with the Mazatlan Mardi Gras Carnival. Their B&B is on the main street across from the ocean, and the huge parades go right under their balcony. Perfect location! Their B&B is nice and quiet 51 weeks of the year, but this week is full of high energy and lots of local music and festivities. We loved it!

We stayed in room 6 on the 2nd level with a great view of the ocean. (we think this is the best room.) Their main patio on the 2nd level now has a really nice pool that Jim recently completed. It's small but will provide welcome relief as the summer nears.

Notes:
Because of the stairs to all levels, you should be aware of any limitation you may have.
Their site photos and descriptions are very accurate and complete.

Candace and Jim are very welcoming and thorough in providing local info and helping arrange connections. Candace lays out a great breakfast, fit for a king & queen.
This is a wonderful, romantic B&B (perfect for honeymooners & anniversaries) It is in a central Mazatlan location, close to the Old Town area.
We will return often, and highly recommend the Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn to all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This is the place to relax or jump on a bus or walk to Old Town Mazatlan. Candace and JIm are very personable and make you feel very welcomed.We stayed in room #5 and loved it. They have a humming bird feeder out side ,lots of fun to watch them. Candace make's the best waffles in town and there is always fresh fruit and pastries, lots of good things for breakfast.

We can't wait to retrun . If you are traveling with a large family or want to come with 3 or 4 couples you can rent the lower floor. It has a state of the ark kitchen.

Thank you Jim and Candace for makeing our stay so wonderful.
Marsha and Richard

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The two owners were WONDERFUL. They told us about all the places to go and to avoid, help us find deals, and good restaurants. I honestly have never seen anyone go so out of their way to help us. It was tough going from this hotel to one of the mega hotels up north (which we had scheduled before we got there, to travel around). If we were to do it again we would stay the entire time at the Ocean Front Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed at Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn for a week, and had a very nice stay. Candace and Jim are great hosts, very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and area. They arranged for massage as well as a whale watching trip, and recommended lots of good restaurants. We asked for their quietest room since we were there during Carnival, and noise was not an issue. The house is big and beautifully decorated, with a great location right by the water with a fantastic view of the sunsets from a large patio (with a pool!). The room was small but clean, with a kitchenette which we never used, given all the restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn

Address: 127 Paseo Claussen | Col. Los Pinos, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
unique ocean front property with 6 rooms, 6 baths. Newly udated & remodeled with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean, Mazatlan's islands and coastline. Close to Olas Altas & Historic District. Steps away from walking or biking along the ocean for miles on the famous malecon. Easy beach access. Multiple terraces for sunbathing, relaxing or enjoying incredible sunsets. Fully air conditioned, computer & wifi available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.