We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and SAFE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn
Save
You added Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn to your Saves list
127 Paseo Claussen | Col. Los Pinos, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
millsboro
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and SAFE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Another great stay with Candace and Jim!! We had great weather..a little chilly at night....AND we felt completely safe.....this year we took advantage of some inexpensive dental work thanks to Candace's expert knowledge of the dentists in the area. We plan to return next winter!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Our stay at this B & B was our first taste of Mexico. Our last vacation had been camping in Hawaii, a return trip for me and the first for my hubsand. I was initially resistant to exploring Mexico, preferring usually to camp and be outdoors. However, long story short, we're planning our return trip to Mazatlan. Jim and Candace were an integral part of this decision.Not only did they provided us a safe, clean, and beautiful place to stay, they continually found ways to help us make the most of our time.
Our room was very clean, the view was wonderful, and the location was ideal. We spent a lot of hours walking from the B&B to places like the Gold zone, the lighthouse, the historic district. We felt extremely safe walking to all areas and during our time spent there. The close proximity to the historic district was a real treat. We spent most nights down in the Plaza listening to live music and enjoying a variety of wonderful restaurants.
We looked forward to breakfast.The food and coffee were great and the conversations with Candace and Jim a real highlight.
Finally, I particularly enjoyed that I was not sharing my space, even if the B&B would have been full, with a crowd of people.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This was our second stay at this bed and breakfast. Two consecutive New Years in Mazatlan with The Ocean Front Inn. The Inn is well located close to Old Town and a short cab ride to the Gold Zone. The property is ocean front. We have choen room 6 both visits, located on the second level fronting the ocean. We like that room as it's adjacent to the living room, dining room and kitchen. Daily maid service keeps this place spotless. There is also a balcony to enjoy the sun and sunsets. This visit we enjoyed a heated pool, too. The hospitality of the owners adds much to our stay. Jim and Candice Penn are very welcoming and versed in what is happening around town. Enjoyable breakfasts were served on the patio with ocean views. Mazatlan is full of happy, friendly people. We felt safe throughtout our stay. The cruise ships are not stopping here. Local business has adjusted prices to attract business. Taxi's and Pulmonia's are readily available. Our second stay was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the ocean front are available if a quiet sleep is required. If an ocean view is req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Skip the "zona dorada" and stay with Candace and Jim Penn in their lovely and comfortable B & B located within walking distance of the historic area. We traveled to Mazatlan years ago and stayed in the zona dorada which was "ok", but this stay was superb and we plan on returning. Candace and Jim share their vast knowledge of Mazatlan, and are delightful hosts just as everyone says. Our room was dreamy with a fridge included, and a patio overlooking the ocean.
We even had access to the kitchen to cook when we didn't want to eat out. We felt safe walking around, even after dark, although we never came back too late.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This B and B is just the best. Hosts are generous wirh their time and information concerning Mazatlan .The breakfasts are better than a resort and much more relaxing. There are lots of little extras A REAL REFRIG IN THE ROOM etc. The Inn is just a wonderful place away from home ,from the spacious terraces to the outstanding sunsets. We keep extending our time here each year. Dagmar and Bill

Room Tip: We pick room #5 because of location and it has 2 beds!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just got back from our 2 week "belated" honeymoon. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay - Jim and Candace made us feel right at home. We loved the location - we walked everywhere and never once feared for our safety. Words can't express what a great time we had so I won't even try but...we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room # 6 is our favorite - we had a magnificent ocean view to watch the sunrise and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have just had a wonderful 4 nights at the Ocean Front Inn. Candace and JIm are fabulous hosts and were helpful with restaurants, places to visit and things to do. We had just recently arrived from NZ for a month long stay in Mexico and we cold not have picked a better place. In fact we stayed an extra night because we enjoyed it so much. Honestly I cannot say enough good things about the Ocean Front Inn.
The B&B is located on the malecon and straight across the road from the beach. It is very central and we were able to walk most places. Taxis are very cheap and drive by on a regular basis so getting anywhere is not a problem. We walked downtown during the day and through the market which is an experience. We felt safe the whole time.
In the evenings we walked along the malecon and there was always something to see - from the vendors to the street performers and the boys diving off the rock. Although from time to time you are approached by people to buy things, it is never intimidating or rude and again we felt very safe even after dark.
Mazatlan was very warm so it is better to get out and about during early in the morning or later at night and enjoy the pool at the b&b in the meantime. Candace and Jim have soda and beer available on an honesty basis (you pay $1 per can) which is very handy. Candace even went to the trouble of finding out when our beloved All Blacks were playing, what channel it was on and letting us watch it on their wide screen telly :)
The rooms are a great size and number 6 has a great view. There are also bikes available to use and we rode up and down the malecon earlier in the morning when alot of people are out exercising.
All in all a fantastic place to stay and Mazatlan is a lovely city to visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 looking out over the ocean is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn

Address: 127 Paseo Claussen | Col. Los Pinos, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
unique ocean front property with 6 rooms, 6 baths. Newly udated & remodeled with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean, Mazatlan's islands and coastline. Close to Olas Altas & Historic District. Steps away from walking or biking along the ocean for miles on the famous malecon. Easy beach access. Multiple terraces for sunbathing, relaxing or enjoying incredible sunsets. Fully air conditioned, computer & wifi available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazatlan Ocean Front Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.