We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of peace and tranquility..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelito Manzanillo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotelito Manzanillo Inn to your Saves list
Hotelito Manzanillo Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Blvd. Miguel de la Madrid 3181 | Col. Playa Azul, Manzanillo 28218, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Manzanillo B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“The epitome of peace and tranquility..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a small villa that has been converted into an 8 roomed hotel. If you are expecting fulll ameneties and activities as you would get from a big, all inclusive hotel then this is the wrong place for you. If your idea of a good holiday is spending the day by the pool reading a good book and watching the waves crash onto the beach and boats chugging about the harbour then this is the ideal spot!

After looking at all the hotels around Manzanillo this quirky little hotel caught my eye. It is on a spot of beach that is unsuitable for swiming and super quiete spent most of the day by the petite but stunning infinity pool just loving the silence and the need to do very little! The rooms themselves could do with a bit of refurbishment which is why I haven't rated the hotel with top marks but they are incredibly comfortable and after dinner it was great to wind down in the king-size bed and fall asleep to a movie at the end of the day.

The first room I was given (4) was quite poky as it had no windows but I was quickly moved to room 1 which opened right out onto the pool and was light and airy (although the AC had a tendency to drip). Also, it takes a while for the hot water to come through. The staff were incredibly accommodating and I really like the fact that they left you alone but as soon as you didn't something they would drop everything to help you straight away. One of my pet peeves is obsequious staff when you just want to be left alone to go through the process of unwinding.

I have to say that Maria Gutierrez, the housekeeper and her daughter were incredibly charming. They even allowed me to use the shower and change in one of the rooms to prepare for my return to Mexico City even though I had checked out 6 hours earlier. You would never be given this service in a larger hotel. The area around Playa Azul is really quiet too. I walked down to wards the Centro Commercial everyday where there is a little strip of restaurants. This is where I ate and the food was incredible. There are plenty of regular buses into town and I can recommend getting a taxi to the viewpoint to enjoy the view of both of the bays.

This is a great little hotel for spending a few days if your only mission is to completely relax and unwind. If you are looking for something more lively and tourist focused, I suggest staying elsewhere. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if possible - it is very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

After not having much luck finding a good place to stay in the area, we literally stumbled upon this gem of a place. We were instantly greeted and help with everything we could ask for by Karen at the front desk. We cannot say enough good things about Karen, she spoke great english and would drop what she was doing and go out of her way to help us everyday by suggesting things to do and see in Manzanillo, great nearby restaurants, calling around to arrange excursions, taxis, and even helped us find the best rates on OTHER hotels to where we were traveling to next. We sat and chatted quite a bit with Karen, and she has a very upbeat and outgoing personality and so helpful that along with the quality and value of the hotel, we decided to extend our stay here to a full week!

The rest of the hotel staff also were very friendly and helpful, making sure there was coffee and snacks out every morning, bringing us towels and anything else we needed, including using their staff fridge to keep our beverages cold! There are 8 cozy suites on 2 floors all facing the pool and ocean on the quiet side of the hotel. The room we had was amazing... nice big king size bed, great working Air conditioning, very clean, with a great panoramic view of everything from Manzanillo centro on the west to the hotel zone and large rock point on the east, this included some of the most amazing sunsets i've ever seen. It was very quiet and peaceful. We went to bed and woke up to the sound of waves crashing and not much else.

The pool area was also very clean and relaxing. A great place to lounge out and catch some sun & read a book. There was also a shaded area over a large table to bring back some lunch or for when the sun got too intense.

The location here was perfect for someone who has little or not mode of transportation... We caught the local bus which picked us up and dropped us off right outside the entrance if we didn't feel like walking, otherwise, we were a 10 minute walk to all the great restaurants, supermarket and amenities of Manzanillo.

Just a perfect place!!! Pool and Beach right outside your room, with the main road right at the entrance, within minutes of all the amenities you would need during your stay, all with the amazement of zero noise and feeling very safe and comfortable! Thanks to all the staff ... and especially to Karen for all her hard work and passion for making guests happy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Found this little gem after reading another similar named property, they have a website as well. The hotel was right on Playa Azul not a very exiciting location however really nice for an overnight stay. The reception area was cosy and the staff were very helpful. There is a coffee shop on site and a seafood restuarant next door which the staff recommended and rightly so, I had the king crab and it was huge and very reasonably priced. The manager drove us to the bus station in the morning as we were travelling on to Puerto Vallarta from Zihuantenjo.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

This is a nice little hotel. Clean & friendly staff. The beach is quite. NO swimming in the ocean there. The surf is too rough. Which we did not like. It is a walking distance to many good restaurants. Accessible mostly thru street side vs. beach side. If you like all inclusive resort vacations this is not the hotel for you. If you like clean, quite, great ocean views & inexpensive this is a great place for you.

My only complaint is that it is too quite of a beach scene. However it is only a 10min cab ride (50 pesos) to Mira Mar beach. Which has many restaurants, beach chairs w/umbrellas (for rent 100 pesos per day), water sports, horseback riding etc...You can also take the bus for 6 pesos per person. However it takes a little longer to get there & be careful to get on the bus that stays on the main blvd & doesn't go into the neighborhoods.

  • Liked — The friendly staff & affordablity
  • Disliked — beach scene too quite
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotelito Manzanillo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Manzanillo Inn

Address: Blvd. Miguel de la Madrid 3181 | Col. Playa Azul, Manzanillo 28218, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelito Manzanillo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzanillo Inn is a small grand hotel with 8 rooms uniquely decorated, with magnificent views of the ocean. Separate bar, continental breakfast included, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotelito Manzanillo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelito Manzanillo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.