We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hidden surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Lazaro Cardenas 1301-A, Manzanillo 28219, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Manzanillo
Guadalajara
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hidden surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you are looking for a nice and quiet place to stay for a great value, Hotel Luna del Mar is a great hidden surprise!

We've been several times in Manzanillo, since we live a few hours away driving. We've stayed at Barcelo (too expensive) and Maeva (good infrastructure, but rooms are too outdated and usually very far from the pools). Now we decided to give it a try to a Best Western since our previous experiences in Colima, Zacatecas and even, Rome were very good.

First good feeling: I made a reservation online with a great price, but the day we were supposed to arrive there was a hurricane approaching to the Pacific and might hit Manzanillo. I called the Best Western reservation center and being very proactive and helpful, they called the hotel and moved my reservation 2 weeks later without modifying the price, even though the policy said that date changes or cancellations were not allowed. Extra points!

The Hotel room was nice and clean with 2 full size beds (we are a family with 2 kids, 9 and 14). Nice little flat TV hanging from the ceiling and decent air conditioning (not noisy at all). The restroom was a little bit small (thin and long), but it was OK.

The room price included breakfast buffet for 2 (we were changed for the kids even though the reservation did not clarified it was only for 2). The food was average.

The location of the rooms was great... just a few meters away from the pool. The hotel is not bit at all, so it is difficult to find a room far from the pool. The pool is large and nice, although deep for little kids (we don't worry about it any more). However there is little pool for kids on the other side of the hotel and a fountain pool, the some people used to play with their kids.

The beach is literally at your hand with beautiful nightfall. You can just sit and enjoy the dusk and the sound of the waves. Simply beautiful and peaceful. The getting into the sea was ok, but it was to steep, within a few meter it was easily 2 meter deep and more. The only down side of the hotel could be that the access to the beach was at the other extreme of hotel from the main pool (which is really just a few meter away, 50m maybe).

For lunch and dinner we decided to go out. We found a gem just a couple of blocks away from the hotel on the same avenue. It is a Pizza place called Trentino Casa della Pizza. What a great pizza they have! I'll go back to Manzanillo just to eat there again.

If you want to party... you are a little bit far away from the fun. But If you want to enjoy the hotel and the pool in a peaceful place. This Best Western is right for you!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel was very nice, good pools, and a excellent buffet, the only problem was that the room was very small, the bathroom was also very small, but it was clean and nice, we are definitely coming back at a later date.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with double beds, they tend to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

No hot water, but plenty of roaches! I've traveled around Mexico during the past few years, and this is the first place I've stayed where I've seen roaches. The beds. Oh, the beds. My bed consisted of a rock hard mattress placed on top of a concrete slab. Thankfully I only had to spend two nights. The restaurant on site wasn't much better. I would never, ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

This little hotel was an unexpected, pleasant find in Manzanillo. I was looking up information on this hotel to perhaps return in 2008 and noticed that there were no reviews or pictures. So here it is, sorry it's a bit late....My friend and I had originally planned a long weekend at the Posada but we could only handle the blocked shower drain, ripped window screen in the shower and noone to help us, for one night. So the next day we walked into Brisas del Mar, were warmly welcomed and given a renovated room with big bathroom, and fabulous shower. All for $80. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool, complete with footbridge, faced the ocean. The open air restaurant also faced the sea and the staff made us smoothies and omelets to order, even though they weren't on the menu. The lunch was so good we decided to stay for dinner, despite having a recommendation to eat at Toscana. We were not disappointed, as both the meal and the view of the setting sun were well worth it. The beach was clean and stretched for miles. It was great for walking on in both directions but the steep slope would make it very dangerous for young children. The hotel is expanding and adding an additional level, but there was no construction noise. I would definately ask for a renovated room and check on the status of the construction. But overall I would recommend this hotel as it was clean, charming, decorated in a funky, modern style, had great staff and the location makes it easy to take buses or cabs wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar

Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Manzanillo
Address: Av Lazaro Cardenas 1301-A, Manzanillo 28219, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is the ideal place to make your vacations a magical experience. Come enjoy the warm water of the beautiful pacific ocean and be amazed by the conforting sunsets. Fully equipped with the best instalations and family friendly atmosphere. Our unique architecture sets us aside from the rest and makes it a perfect place for couples to enjoy time together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Luna del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.