We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good year for our vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Cove Inn to your Saves list
Dolphin Cove Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Vista Hermosa s/n | Aun Costado Del Hotel Las Hadas, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Manzanillo
Regina SK CANADA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another good year for our vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 3 week stay at the Dolphin Cove Inn. This is our 7th time that we have returned to this hotel and asked if we would go back --- I would not hesitate to say YES YES YES. The reason that we like this facility is that it is a boutique hotel -- it is not a 5 stair hotel; probably by Canadian standards it would be a 2.5; so if you are looking for a luxurious room this would not be the facility for you as it is a bit dated but it does have character that we like and it is clean!

What this hotel does have that rates as a 5 star is its staff ---they CARE, they are efficient, they know how to provide good customer service. An example of those people would be -- two servers in the Paradise Restaurant (Chris & Hugo) - they provided us with exceptional service daily. There is the gardener who toils endlessly and provides the best landscaping in Manzanillo. The landscaping at this hotel far exceeds the two resorts on either side of itt. There is the general manager, Cynthia, who quietly and efficiently sees that our needs are being met and ensures we are happy. This is what makes us want to return to the Dolphin Cove.

When I reflected about what improvements could be made or what I needed to make my stay better, I would have to say one more bath towel each day (we only got 3) and more consisent and better internet. Now I am being "petty".

Our heartfelt thanks to the Dolphin Cove Inn -- once again, we have returned home to Canada feeling rested and like we had a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCoveInnMEX, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We understand the time it takes to write a review and we appreciate and care about your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you continue to return to Dolphin Cove. We strive to take good care of our guests and love when you come back! We are constantly battling with our internet and will continue to try and improve that for our guests. We will also look into getting more towels - that is great feedback.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    53
    11
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was the most amazing holiday ever. Our room was to die for. The view was incedible. The staff looked after everything we needed. I would recommend this beautiful resort to anyone.
Thank you Dolphin Cove for helping make this the very best vacation ever.
We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: they are all wonderful. We chose the studio because there was only the 2 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCoveInnMEX, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Dolphin Cove Inn! We really appreciate it and we love to get your feedback. We try hard to make please our guests and make sure you have everything you need during your stay. We were so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and decided to come back and stay with us again. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been to Manzanillo 3 times in the last 3 years, once each winter. We stayed at Dolphin Cove on the first trip, with family on the second trip (but walked to the Dolphin Cove for dinner and drinks one night,) and stayed there again on our third trip.
Obviously we kind of like it there. The setting is amazing with beautifully landscaped paths that meander throughout the grounds. The view is one of the best in the city of Manzanillo bay, you can see the downtown Sailfish monument all the way across the bay on a clear day. The Moorish architecture of the neighbouring Las Hadas hotel and marina is beautifully lit at night. There are always sailboats anchored just off shore and huge cargo ships moving in and out of the port in the distance. You'll notice at night that the street between Dolphin Cove and Las Hadas is lined with locals from all over the place listening to music outside of parked cars along the sidewalk, sharing cervesas and enjoying the evening view of the Manzanillo skyline.
If the locals come here for the view then it must be hard to beat right?
The rooms are just right. Reasonably priced, spacious, air conditioned, with a quaint Mexican décor, a large comfortable bed, and a well provisioned kitchenette that was handy for late night snacks and cool drinks and suchlike.
The rooms are CLEAN, and these housekeepers are amazing. I cant say enough about that, congratulations to the Dolphin Cove Inn for having such amazing staff. We had fresh towel swans and fresh cut flowers in different arrangements every day. We brought a J-cloth with to do dishes and left it by the sink one morning, when we came back from breakfast the J-cloth was folded into a artful fan arrangement. I mean, they ORIGAMIED our dish cloth. Little touches like that are what make me write long gushy reviews like this.
There were 2 cold water bottles in the fridge when we arrived (life savers) and a huge water cooler jug of water with a hand pump to fill them up again if needed, but they replaced the small bottles in the fridge daily anyway.
Our air conditioning wasn't working when we checked in, we waited until the next morning and let the concierge know about it before breakfast. When we returned to our room after breakfast it was cleaned and cool with the AC pounding out frosty goodness.
The concierge was otherwise extremely helpful in assisting us with any requests such as arranging a sunset cruise, scuba dive, dinner reservations. And there is a guy in the lobby who can call you a radio taxi anytime.
The restaurant is actually really pretty good for a hotel, some simple American food and some simple yet fairly authentic and tasty Mexican food too. We like the ceviche a lot, order the ceviche Colima for a huge portion of fish that, with the chips and salsa that they bring when you sit down, is more than enough to fill up two people.
Go for the Mexican breakfasts. MMMMmmm...chiliquiles. *Drools*
The waiters, I don't know where to start.
Oh wait, yes I do...
These guys make one mean margarita,
Actually they make one mean margarita, and then another one, and then another one.
Try the Dolphin special, a blended pina colada with a blackberry swirl. MMmmm...Swirl.
These guys are so friendly and so much fun. After a week you feel like you are hanging around with good friends every time you sit down. Every time we've gone the waiters who are still there have remembered us right away, which is really nice when you think about it.
The location of the hotel on the peninsula is a little remote but there are buses during the day and its a nice, but longish walk to the main road in the cool evening. Just the right distance from Miguel de Madrid to drink a beer, then stop at Mariscos Jr. on the corner for late night tacos, and drink another beer on the way back.
About all the steps throughout the hotel that everyone is talking about:
Yes there are a lot of steps but if you dont want to hoof it around just call or ask and a golf cart will shuttle you from your room to the beach or pool at anytime.
Personally I considered coming home from vacation with nicely toned calves a real bonus.
About the music from the Barcelo hotel next door:
Yup, it's kinda loud and it starts around 11pm. But lets face it, Mexico is kinda loud. This is a big city and there are no noise bylaws and if you ask me the sensual bombardment of car horns blaring, rooster crowing, children laughing, and loudspeakers soliciting your attention on every corner is part of the experience. If you can't sleep you are probably trying to go to bed too early, have another tequila and watch the moon rise over the bay.
We would love to come back here with a bunch of friends, its the perfect base to explore Manzanillo and the surrounding area. Highly recommended.
To the staff of Dolphin Cove -Thanks all the great times, hasta luego!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCoveInnMEX, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We understand the time and effort it takes to write a review and we really appreciate your feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have had a wonderful week’s stay at Karen Brown's Dolphin Cove Inn in Manzanillo, Mexico. Each room has a balcony and faces the beautiful bay – very comfortable beach living. There is a man-made narrow beach with comfortable lounges, tables, umbrellas for shade. There is also a pool by the restaurant (that serves Very Good food).

We rented a car at the airport and took day trips all but one day – Manzanillo, Colima, etc. The driving was easy, very polite road traffic. A driving tip is to follow the signs to 'Zona Hotelera' to find the Dolphin Cove Inn. It is on the bay side of mountains housing other hotels, resorts, homes. The road up is cobble stone, extremely bumpy.

There is a small market at the Inn and another in an indoor mall on the main street xxxMadrid. Hearty walkers can get there by foot through the Hadas golf course.

One recommendation that was not palatable was the Shrimp Tempura at the recommended Toscana Restaurant. It was not tempura but more fried like fish n chips.

There are not maps available but the folks in the office will provide details on how to get anywhere. After a day locally, one knows the way around.

We ran into no one who did not speak English. We also overheard many conversations by English speakers saying this was their 10th or so year down here.

We have traveled Karen Brown's itineraries in Spain and the west coast of the US. She has good directions, taste, interesting things to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCoveInnMEX, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. All of us at Dolphin Cove Inn really appreciate your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Goal: For my boyfriend and I to spend a few days together in Manzanillo relaxing and prepping for our month of camping/surfing in the south...
Achieved!
This is our 7th time staying at Dolphin Cove.
We like it because we enjoy a quiet spot that allows us to enjoy each other's company and have easy access to the stores and facilities of Manzanillo so that we can stock up for our camping trip.
Rooms: always well appointed. We often get upgraded when we check in. Depending what you are looking for in a room, just ask for it. Want to be close to the pool and resto? Want to have a quiet isolated room? Everytime we ask (sometime at check in, sometimes by email in advance), we get it. We adore the walk in showers (not always the hottest water) and the balconies as well as the fridge and kitchen area. Wireless works best on balcony or in rooms closest to resto in our experience.

Beach: Manzanillo is not known for its beaches, that being said, there is one here... in the bay. Very quiet and uncrowded.

Pool area: lovely, clean, just the right temp

Restaurant: the blackberry margaritas are a neccessary treat. The breakfast is included in the room price and we are usually one of the first ones there (8:30 am). Lovely fruit and eggs. The restaurant has a full menu and we will occasionally order snacks (nachos, pizza, fries) from there, but we tend to buy groceries and have them in our room (ex: cheese and crackers etc)

Staff: the staff that we have encountered (front desk, resto etc) has been kind and helpful.

If you are looking for an easy-going, relaxed, not fancy but nice place, I recommend it... there is lots more that I didnt talk about ex: kids pool, amazing landscaping etc.

I hope you enjoy Dolphin Cove as much as we did... we will be going back, it's our go-to spot in Manzanillo!

Room Tip: Depends on what you are looking for, just ask and they will set you up :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinCoveInnMEX, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Dolphin Cove Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future. Please come back for another Blackberry Margarita!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been visiting Dolphin Cove for many years and I never tire of its beauty. Our balcony had breathtaking views of the bay where we spotted a humpback whale and dolphins. The staff was eager and extremely helpful, making sure our stay was memorable. They set up a sail fishing excursion for us (great time!) and their own restaurant prepared the fish that we caught. Don't forget to try their margaritas; I think they are the best in Mexico. This is a great property. It's immaculate, well-maintained, and everywhere you look there are beautiful flowers... stunning! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHColorado, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello!
Thanks for coming back to Dolphin Cove and spending your vacation time with us. We hope we exceeded your expectations! ! We love our returning guests and we are so happy to have you back again. We appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great trip to Dolphin Cove Inn. The staff welcomed us and we had a nice room with porch and a small kitchen. It was very clean and the grounds of the hotel were amazing. There were little winding pathways all around the property and everywhere you walked you could see the ocean... beautiful landscape, as well! One day we went sailing and saw some dolphins. Another day we rented jet skis from the marina next door which was a blast. The ocean temperature was over 80 degrees! We spent most of the time in the ocean. The hotel has a small beach which is nice. One night we ate at Toscana (about a 10 min drive) and watched the sunset. We can't wait to go back! Just an overall best trip - relaxing, fun and very enjoyable activities ... a perfect mix of both!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHColorado, Owner at Dolphin Cove Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Dolphin Cove Inn! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try hard to make our guests happy and feel like part of the Dolphin Cove family. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Cove Inn

Address: Av. Vista Hermosa s/n | Aun Costado Del Hotel Las Hadas, Manzanillo 28860, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Manzanillo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manzanillo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manzanillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Cove Inn offers affordable and ideal Manzanillo hotel vacation lodging accommodations and is the perfect Manzanillo Mexico vacation destination for your Mexican Riviera vacation. Manzanillo is ideally located in the Mexican state of Colima just between Puerto Vallarta and Acapulco on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Manzanillo vacations have become very popular in recent years as this Mexico Riviera vacation spot is now one of the most important tourist resorts in all of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Cove Hotel Manzanillo
Dolphin Cove Manzanillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.